10 Reasons Why You'd FAIL a Plumbing Inspection! | GOT2LEARN

Share
Embed
  • Published on Feb 4, 2020
  • Here are 10 reasons why you'd fail a plumbing inspection and how to correct it.
    Become a member here and get cool perks! ruclip.com/channel/UCtxL...
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Here are some affiliate links to some popular tools I use on this channel:
    AutoCut Pipe Cutter 1/2": amzn.to/2XlyqAn
    AutoCut Pipe Cutter 3/4: amzn.to/2GZFrkf
    Superior Tool 1/2" Cleaning Attachment: amzn.to/2kwBMBK
    Pencil Torch: amzn.to/2U3OTaa
    Handheld Torch: amzn.to/2VhGujo
    Fitting Wire Brush 1/2": amzn.to/2BOlNVc
    Fitting Wire Brush 3/4": amzn.to/2U33enp
    Propane gas(Blue bottle): amzn.to/2BOhnh7
    Propene gas(Yellow bottle): amzn.to/2BPcdBl
    Lead-free tinning flux: amzn.to/2U3abEW
    Lead-free flux(water soluble): amzn.to/2XjaYn9
    Flux brushes: amzn.to/2T8ROBc
    Lead-free solder: amzn.to/2yPvjso
    Flame protector: amzn.to/2Vh8q7o
    Flint striker: amzn.to/2XiuX5y
    Abrasive pads: amzn.to/2NnA9QP
    Pencil reamer: amzn.to/2tBuhKW
    All-in-one deburring tool (blue): amzn.to/2U3J1xu
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Get 70% OFF NordVPN! only $3.49/mo
    plus you get an additional 1 month FREE of charge at:
    www.NordVPN.org/Got2Learn
    Use coupon code: got2learn

    To become a Got2Learn Subscriber: bit.ly/2IuENO5
    DISCLAIMER: Got2Learn is NOT responsible for any damage done to a property of which the plumbing wasn't done by a professional, I do not recommend doing your own plumbing if you are unsure about what you are doing, always hire a LICENSED contractor when doing any type of plumbing so you can be covered by insurances if something does happen, these videos are for entertainment purposes only!

Comments • 2 823

  • Got2Learn
    Got2Learn  Year ago +49

    Here are some affiliate links to some popular tools I use on this channel:

    AutoCut Pipe Cutter 1/2": amzn.to/2XlyqAn

    AutoCut Pipe Cutter 3/4: amzn.to/2GZFrkf

    AutoCut 1/2" Ratchet Handle: amzn.to/2U61h9N

    AutoCut 3/4" Ratchet Handle: amzn.to/2U60FRx

    Superior Tool 1/2" Cleaning Attachment: amzn.to/2kwBMBK

    Pencil Torch: amzn.to/2U3OTaa

    Handheld Torch: amzn.to/2VhGujo

    Fitting Wire Brush 1/2": amzn.to/2BOlNVc

    Fitting Wire Brush 3/4": amzn.to/2U33enp

    Propane gas(Blue bottle): amzn.to/2BOhnh7

    Propene gas(Yellow bottle): amzn.to/2BPcdBl

    Lead-free tinning flux: amzn.to/2U3abEW

    Lead-free flux(water soluble): amzn.to/2XjaYn9

    Flux brushes: amzn.to/2T8ROBc

    Lead-free solder: amzn.to/2EoqSFb

    Flame protector: amzn.to/2Vh8q7o

    Flint striker: amzn.to/2XiuX5y

    Abrasive pads: amzn.to/2NnA9QP

    Pencil reamer: amzn.to/2tBuhKW

    All-in-one deburring tool (blue): amzn.to/2U3J1xu

    • beyondEV
      beyondEV 7 months ago +3

      this sounds like city code and inspectors are rebonsible to ensure not just serious hazard prevention but also that things work correctly. over here in switzerland, city code and city inspectors basically only deal with serious hazard prevention (fire, protection of the ground water table, etc.) while the industry is essentially self regulated by industry norms. if something doesn't work properly the owner can demand that it is fixed for 2 (plainly visible defect)-10(hidden defect, shady work) if it doesn't fit the industry norm. and whoever did the work also need to pay for any damage resulting from mistakes. enforcement primarly goes along the line of "fix your mistakes you get more contracted work, don't fix them and you never get another contract again".

    • Got2Learn
      Got2Learn  9 months ago

      🤗🤗🤗

    • :p
      :p 9 months ago +3

      GREAT EDUCATIONAL VIDEO!
      I love how you ou explain why something is wrong ie the negative consequences

    • SeaJay Oceans
      SeaJay Oceans 9 months ago

      The protection plates are a good idea, but why change all the pipe locations and sizes ? What difference, at this point, does it make ?

    • Shinji391
      Shinji391 10 months ago

      Horizontal or horizontal? Which one is it? One will make you pass or fail inspection depending on the orientation of your sanitary T. Did you mean "on ground level"? Don't use the same word twice if you mean something else when you make educational videos. Especially for building.

  • electronicsNmore
    electronicsNmore Year ago +465

    What's code today, can be a violation tomorrow. It's always changing. Not being to code, doesn't necessarily mean the job is bad, or that it won't work properly for many decades.

    • Glenn Scully
      Glenn Scully 2 days ago

      @Christine D. 2 x 4 is actually 3 1/2" depth and a 2" drain pipe is 2 3/8" OD and of course you need the hole to be bigger 2 9/16". That leaves less than 1/2" material on each side, if you drill perfectly in the middle and square. Yes it'll fit but it's tight retrofit work.

    • Doug S
      Doug S 8 days ago

      @Christine D. I've been plumbing since the late 60's , as far as I know I've always had to use a 2" trap on the washing machine. Now I've worked on houses that were in precode areas and they have had 1.5" lines and 1.5 vents ..if anything at all. Keep in mind code is always the bare minimum recommended, not always the best .

    • R a m
      R a m 24 days ago

      As people and households expand...... they use more water, create more waste, use more paper in drains, throw more food down disposals, etc........ just follow code, it's there for a reason ! Yes it may have worked for you and your wife and ONE child, but the family you sell your house to in 5 years might have 5 children and a grandma as well living there. Creating much more need for a proper plumbing system that is up to code.
      Do it right and don't be a douchebag !

    • Debmalya Ghosh
      Debmalya Ghosh Month ago

      @It ain’t rocket science Sounds like she might be one that writes codes, LOL

    • Tim Tierackic
      Tim Tierackic Month ago

      @lostintime86 this is what is said by insecure people who aren't professionals yet should be one for the work they attempt to do & they skill level they pretend to possess

  • Incogfitness
    Incogfitness 4 months ago +12

    5:12
    It's also VERY important to get did of these pipes bc water can sit in them, stagnate, and poison your water. People have gotten listeria when they drank the water from a fixture that used this pipe setup.

    6:37
    Is also important to note you can simply add wood to the bottom of all joists in a room to accommodate pipes that run below the joists. Then install drywall normally.

    • Chief Wiyas
      Chief Wiyas 10 days ago +1

      My Master Plumber in Ottawa for 35 years can attest to taking a future stub out completely out of the system because it can also hold a pocket of solder paste and then you can have the chance to drink acidic water :/

    • skb ben
      skb ben 23 days ago

      I call bullshit on your 512. And 637 was already noted in the video. “You can build a box under the joist”

  • Michael Wolff
    Michael Wolff Year ago +5

    Other than replacing taps I would never do any plumbing myself but I love learning this so I understand what others have done. I had a new bathroom installed a few years ago with - necessarily - exposed outdoor pipes (I'm in Australia so no issues with freezing). I now know why all the things (e.g. the cleanout) have been installed as I am sure the rules are similar here to in Canada or the US

  • TwinShards
    TwinShards 10 months ago +30

    My 1 century old building has many thing not "up to code" because there were not any code for many thing.
    -No Shock absorber. (I did talk about my mom to not snap close foset because old rusted iron pipe could burst from their thin grinded wall)
    -Many short 90° turns, also many pipe were done flat 0° so being so old the house ever so slightly sinked in the ground and now some pipe have negative ~-1 to -2°
    -Many if not most 45° Y-Pipe on pillar sewer pipe are like at 3:13 So a mix of old pipes filled with junk plus that angle make most sink/bath and wat not "gurp"

  • Harry Tinker
    Harry Tinker Year ago +784

    Thank you for explaining the "why" behind each of these code requirements. Its easier to remember these things when there is a practical reason for their existence in the code.

    • Miller Pease
      Miller Pease Month ago

      5:00
      Why can't you connect a fixture to an existing vent? You say its against code. But why.

    • Richard Cranium
      Richard Cranium 3 months ago

      @Steve Lopez hell the code changes with the mood of the inspector and if you donated to the mayors opponents campaign or not, and the head of the building department has been asked to make it difficult for those donors.

    • Thomas A. Anderson
      Thomas A. Anderson 3 months ago

      Agreed. Even if the code changes, we will at least have the previous codification to reference and find the replacement code, as it is noted inside the codes (e.g. (if looking for §123.45 see new code §543.21)
      Further, if code varies so much from place to place, how is this video helpful at all? Yes the numeric values may vary from place to place, but like Trump, most municipalities rely on the higher governmental body's code if it is identical to the municipality's code (e.g. "In addition to the municipal codes listed in this ordinance, you must also comply with the Wisconsin State Building Code §2121.212(a) thru (zz) unless noted otherwise.") Meaning that a municipality may want to control the code regarding setbacks for buildings or a requirement for a anti-backflow valve on the sewer line to the street, but agrees that the State's version of the remainder of the Code is appropriate/adequate/etc. enough to use rather than incurring the costs and efforts of creating virtually identical versions within the Municipalities/Counties/etc. Code and then the upkeep costs on top of that (e.g. someone has to monitor changes in the industry, updates to technology, etc. and then adjust the Municipalities Code as needed to align with such changes and their impacts on the safety and wellbeing of the citizens.)
      Any venture in "The Code" is best done with as MUCH information as possible, not as LITTLE as you think may be needed.
      More codes are violated for not knowing enough rather than knowing too much.
      regardless, very informative video.

    • j
      j 6 months ago +1

      @mysterymanforu because new technology and greater understanding of what works better is constantly happening,

    • MrBarosxp
      MrBarosxp 11 months ago

      exactly..

  • NeutralGenericUser
    NeutralGenericUser 9 months ago +4

    So well presented and explained. I love your use of diagrams. Also, I learned about that shock absorber thing from your other video :D Thanks for making these excellent videos!

  • P0tat07
    P0tat07 Year ago +45

    I’d like to see more videos on code regulations. Especially videos like this “more reasons why you’d fail inspection” I think it’s a fascinating topic, and there’s a lot of things that can go overlooked by a homeowner/DIYer

    • Don Anderson Jr.
      Don Anderson Jr. 3 months ago +1

      Code is a very tough topic on the internet. Many cities, counties, provinces and states all have varying codes. Especially handicap accessibility codes and fire protection codes. Different construction methods also change code applications.

  • Flying Beaver
    Flying Beaver Year ago +20

    Thanks for putting up this good video with explanations. Those doing their own plumbing should bear in mind that these are "minimum" requirements, and that your local code may require some different or more 'robust' features, .e.g. washing machine drain no less than 1300mm (about 4 ft 6 inch) above floor level _not_ above the point where it ties in to the drain. Likewise, local weather conditions (i.e. winter) may specify where running water, waste lines and vent stacks must go, in order to avoid damage from cold air ingress or being close to a cold outside wall. (These also govern rules for things like sizing of natural gas hot water heater and gas furnace exhaust vents.
    When roughing in, bear in mind that Code is a _miminum_ standard. In many cases, going one size up, while slightly more expensive in the short term, can prevent future problems that are much more expensive to repair once everything is closed in. As with electrical, it's much better to "do a bit more" at the rough-in stage than try to retrofit later on. If you are hiring sub-trades to do some or all of this work, do not assume they will do it to code, or to the plans, or correctly at all. There are many excellent tradespeople, but every profession has its share of "take the money and run" bums.
    It's also worth remembering that some "big box" stores sell products - plastic accordion flex pipe sections, for instance - that do not pass code anywhere, usually for very good reasons. Just because they sell it doesn't mean it meets or exceeds local code requirements.

  • kevin b
    kevin b Year ago +9

    Excellent video. I am a plumbing and gas inspector in Alberta and you're bang on, these are the top 10. A lot of my job is answering questions for people who pull homeowner permits (which I'm happy to do), but this video explains what they need to know so well that I'm going to start sharing your link. Well done.

    • pmailkeey
      pmailkeey Year ago +1

      @Nuntius The no back flow is a thing here, England and the no over-flows straight into a drain (although that might not be so significant now most of us are on water meters - so we pay for wastage). Other than that, anything goes. There are regs for gas and electricity, but home owners are not bound by those either - they stop non-registered people charging others for work - for gas work at least.
      My dishwasher drain hose sprang a leak last night - so even quality of water parts used by manufacturers is not that regulated !

    • pmailkeey
      pmailkeey Year ago +1

      We have none of this in the UK. No requirement to have pipework inspected. We also don't generally have vent pipes either. Only pipework requirements I'm aware of is that any tank overflow pipes cannot be connected direct to drainage - the overflow has to be visible - so you know it's overflowing - water saving requirement. The other requirement is where there are two sewerage systems - 'foul water' and 'fresh water'. You can't connect toilets to fresh water drains -as that bypasses the sewage treatment works. Many places have just one system and it all goes through sewage treatment works.

    • Got2Learn
      Got2Learn  Year ago +1

      I am very thankful of your comment Kevin, I really appreciate your kind words :)

  • Carson Dinwoodie
    Carson Dinwoodie 11 months ago +2

    Very comprehensive. And most importantly, accurate. Keep up the great work. Also there are many other ways to fail like S Traps. And too long of branch drains. I hope that inspires you to make more content as i will be shareing this video and more like it.

    • Got2Learn
      Got2Learn  11 months ago

      Thank you soooo much Carson, will do!!

  • Don Smith
    Don Smith 5 months ago +2

    Thank you for the awesome videos. I recently had to remove quite a bit of a 3 in waste stack to allow foundation guys to repair a structual wall. The tip about the horizontal sanitary tee saved me from a mistake since that is how they originally did it on my 3 in waste line where it merges with the 4 inch soil pipe. And yes I used to have to clear that blockage about once a year. Fortunately there was one clean out.

  • Kevin Benecke
    Kevin Benecke Year ago +29

    All of this is very helpful. But everyone also needs to keep in mind the code varies from one municipality to the next. So check with your local code enforcer if you have any questions.

    • Matthew
      Matthew 7 months ago +2

      Yes, there are variations, but the foundation to pretty much all of the is the Uniform Plumbing Code or International Plumbing Code. In my experience much of the variance is in materials, like whether plastic pipe is allowed. I think much of what he mentioned is pretty universal. That said, talk to the local permitting agency for details. Or even call the inspector.

    • Mike Kroepfl
      Mike Kroepfl Year ago +2

      Kevin Benecke 100% true

  • Dostyn Kama
    Dostyn Kama 9 months ago +2

    Dude, this video was awesome and so informative. I just started plumbing this week and I felt so lost and this is the first video that gave me an understanding of how certain things work. Instant like and subscribe. Please continue to put out more vids

    • Got2Learn
      Got2Learn  9 months ago

      Thank you so much 🤗🤗🤗

  • alex subostien
    alex subostien Year ago +2

    Excellently narrated, great graphics and straight to the matter, how a video should be. Your explanation on the "why" it fails was top notch!

  • Old Time Farm Boy
    Old Time Farm Boy 5 months ago +3

    You should also put metal plates where wiring is run through studs as well to prevent anyone from putting a nail or screw through the insulation.

    Use trusses and you will not need to worry about putting in holes to run wiring and plumbing.

  • Shawn Graham
    Shawn Graham 5 months ago +6

    The city of Knoxville TN inspectors have always been tough on handicap dimensions and all the things you mentioned
    They were also particular about commercial kitchens especially when it comes to proper venting of floor sinks and floor drains

  • John Knowles a Cyclist-Photographer

    I am a commercial plumbing inspector for the City of Los Angeles - I LOVE watching your videos. I see these violations ALL the time even though I only inspect commercial which here, also includes new apartments, condos and townhouses where 3 or more units are attached. We can always tell when we the a contractor who "builds high end homes" tries to do a commercial job. It is correction after correction.... We do out best to educate. The "B" does not always mean general!

  • Guy Shaddock
    Guy Shaddock 11 months ago +2

    Great job of describing ways to do, or to not do, something correctly. You've explained well things like,.... your description of why a "Y" is used and not a "T". This puts rationale behind the way drainage gets installed..... so that it will work. Good, valuable information for those who may not be properly trained journeyman plumbers, but want to do things right!

    • Got2Learn
      Got2Learn  11 months ago

      Thank you very much, have a great day Guy!

  • Adam Seubert
    Adam Seubert Year ago +7

    For #6, some codes require a clean out above a double sanitary tee, otherwise when snaking, the snake can jump to the other side of the tee and never be able to go down the stack toward the clog.

  • GhostFace NoFace
    GhostFace NoFace Year ago +3

    Absolutely great info. I do my own work and always like to do everything up to code. Thank you 👍🏼

  • Matt Rogerwaters
    Matt Rogerwaters Year ago +2

    Yeah, for #10 we use to want to keep the home owner happy so that everything was located where they wanted it, so we’d run below the joist close to the wall and have them build a bulkhead to hide it. That way they get it where they want, it passes inspection, and a lot of people would make the bulkhead decorative so it wouldn’t just stand out as an ugly box on the ceiling.

  • Kenneth Rivalsi
    Kenneth Rivalsi 10 months ago +1

    Great video! Clear concise organized presentation while providing explanations of the logic behind each one.. Thank you.

  • mikeatyouttube
    mikeatyouttube Year ago +1

    Sometimes it's pretty hard to avoid some of these code failures. One that seems arbitrary is the 15" on either side of the toilet outlet. This make sense if the toilet is fully boxed in in a small room but so often there might be a vanity or even a small shower unit on the sides of the toilet. The location where you need the room is where your knees are when you sit on the toilet and this location is nowhere near the outlet. Often you can have a 20" deep vanity quite close to the toilet and it doesn't cause a problem during use. For sure you don't want to be sitting closer than 15" to a wall but if the space where your knees (and shoulders) are during normal use have this minimum 30" space it shouldn't really matter if the gap either side of the toilet outlet is, say 12". Obviously the gap has to be big enough for the actual toilet to fit in.

    • Brian Krahmer
      Brian Krahmer Year ago +2

      the version of the code I recently checked for this was referring to the edge of the bowl to wall clearances, not the flange to the wall. obviously toilet designs vary, so it's better to buy the actual toilets before roughing to be able to verify this beforehand. measure twice, cut once!

    • nmarmz
      nmarmz Year ago

      yeah that 15'' on both side made me laugh a bit ! just do the 12 -12 -12 and youll be fine unless you install some kind of big high end toilet !

  • Frederick Dunn
    Frederick Dunn Year ago +23

    All great stuff, I'm no longer an inspector, but appreciate this as a refresher for work I do myself :) AT 03:50 you'd hear gurgling as the sink drained, an excellent indicator of a venting/drain problem :) great work, thumbs UP!

    • Dave Atkins
      Dave Atkins 3 months ago +1

      I’m a plumber in massachusetts and we have to take a refresher class 8hours a year. Fairly new rule.

    • Got2Learn
      Got2Learn  Year ago +1

      @Frederick Dunn it's important to me and I always make it priority #1, thanks for noticing Fred!

    • Frederick Dunn
      Frederick Dunn Year ago +2

      @Got2Learn How on earth did you have time to respond to a comment? Amazing!

    • Got2Learn
      Got2Learn  Year ago +1

      You are most welcome, please share if you can, it helps the channel tremendously ✌✌

  • DC 22
    DC 22 Year ago +1

    Good video. Very impressive & informative.
    A wye with 45 can be replaced by a combo sweep. Also in some areas water closet (toilet) clearance is 16 inches no longer 15.

    • DC 22
      DC 22 Year ago +1

      @Got2Learn in states some vendors have Y as wye on order forms....(and mess ups are spelled couplings....lol!)
      Keep up the good work!!!

    • Got2Learn
      Got2Learn  Year ago +1

      Thanks DC 22 ;), yes....a Y and 45 can be replaced with a combo sweep, that's more common in the states, here we use Y's and 45's, dunno wye lol ;)

  • ROB-IN-PHILLY
    ROB-IN-PHILLY Year ago +5

    Great job and as someone that does their own plumbing in remodeling jobs, I learned the code the hard way, well before youtube was invented and well before AOL...:) But, I only needed once to learn...Thanks so much for putting this up, it's nice to take time out of your life to help others, if everyone did that, the world problems would get sorted out much faster...Namaste!

  • Pete D
    Pete D Year ago +5

    #10 is fun to deal with on big homes with open floor plans. There is always a second-floor bath over the 1st-floor living room that is 40 x 40.

  • Leslie Star
    Leslie Star 9 months ago +3

    You SURE DO make thorough video's, with easy to understand explanations!

  • Carl R. Mauri
    Carl R. Mauri Year ago +1

    THIS IS A TOTALLY balanced video that EVERY new user should watch! Like all your others, this one is not just good but EXCELLENT. Swift pace, covers all necessary info and visuals such as cutaways are GREAT. ONE TECHNICAL COMMENT: IN OUR AREA OF THE COUNTRY (NORTHEAST), POLYBUTYLENE WAS USED BEFORE IT WAS FOUND TO HAVE LEAKS. THERE IS A SPECIAL TRANSITION IF YOU ARE GOING FROM THAT TO CPVC OR COPPER OR PEX. www.sharkbite.com/products/polybutylene-transition-coupling THANKS AGAIN!

    • Got2Learn
      Got2Learn  Year ago

      Awesome man, thank you so much Carl!!!

  • Jonah Scott
    Jonah Scott Year ago +1

    Thanks for the video! I teach basic plumbing to Grade 12 students and this is a great resource! I would love to be able to make similar presentations like this for my students, can you please tell me what software you used to create your video. Cheers.

  • Art Creatively Done
    Art Creatively Done 9 months ago +1

    New Subscriber here, great video that helps me understand what problems there could be with plumbing inspections (the inspectors don't explain) I am an artist that needs to learn more "DIY" stuff. Thanks for the video knowledge you share. Art Creatively Done!

  • Micah R. Maloney
    Micah R. Maloney Year ago

    Honestly, I'm looking toward designing my own homestead in 1-3 years, so coming across this video on my recommended list was awesome! Immediate subscribe! While I'm intending to thoroughly read through the codes and make sure I am up to them in the design phase before even starting buying land and building, it is good to know the reasons why for things that would cause a failed inspection. I did a lot of work helping my godfather (who passed this winter from cancer) with remodeling an apartment building he was a caretaker of when I was younger, and I did plumbing, electrical, and basic carpentry work then, as well as taking an architecture class later. I know what I don't presently know now I can learn, especially with so much information online including the different codes, but it is wonderful to come across videos like that which actually explain the reasoning and show examples. Thank you!

    • Got2Learn
      Got2Learn  Year ago +1

      Knowledge is everything.

    • Micah R. Maloney
      Micah R. Maloney Year ago

      @Got2Learn thank you. My godfather had fought his cancer into remission three times before it finally took him. He and my father (who is still alive and he and my mother want to join me on the homestead since we're already in an apartment together) both taught me a lot about practical skills, and gave me the room to try things here and there. I was still in junior high when I fixed a toaster they let me take apart and use a voltmeter on, and replace a piece on a PS1 original with a piece from a thrift store cd player. My godparents and parents may at times have irritated me, as all parents occasionally irritate their children, but they were good teachers of useful skills.

    • Got2Learn
      Got2Learn  Year ago +1

      You are most welcome, and sorry to hear your godfather has passed, plumb on my friend 🤘

  • Lua Santos
    Lua Santos 4 months ago +1

    Aprendendo inglês e instalações hidráulica ao mesmo tempo ^^
    Muito bom o vídeo, no Brasil não tem fiscalização quanto a aplicação da norma (que é traduzida de algum lugar) temos que buscar conhecimento fora para mudar essa cultura.

  • Ethan Muniz
    Ethan Muniz Year ago +7

    Man I really admire how informative and quality this video is. I've been studying plumbing codes when I can and was familiar with some of these. I learned some new as well,definitely a video that will save many people's butts . Keep it up man,you and roger wakefield are my favorite youtube channels when it comes to plumbing.

    • Got2Learn
      Got2Learn  Year ago +1

      Thanks a lot man!

    • Ethan Muniz
      Ethan Muniz Year ago +2

      @Got2Learn For sure boss! Also great job on the animation ,did a good doing it yourself.

    • Got2Learn
      Got2Learn  Year ago +1

      Thank you so much Ethan, I appreciate all of your comments and I am glad you learned something, mission accomplished for me, share if you can, it really helps!!

  • Melvin Oliva
    Melvin Oliva Year ago +2

    Good ones, but nail plates are not required unless the pipes are 1" 1/2 or less of the edge of the wall. Also You can't catch 2 different fixture from a drain stack unless both trap arms are at the same level using a back to back fitting(double fixture fitting). Regarding to tie-into an existing vent, its something you can do as long as you count all the fixtures units and ensure is capable to vent whatever fixture you will be adding. Clean-outs are required to have when is the end of the line, change of direction exceeding 135°, branches off the main larger than 5' , foot vents and long runs every 100'.

  • forty two
    forty two Year ago +1

    Actually, #6 is a S-trap. Because an 1/8th bend offset is not considered out of the vertical. So, the grey water is going through an S-trap before reaching the vent.

  • Javier Vazquez
    Javier Vazquez Year ago +2

    Small correction. Short sweep is permitted for usage in all drain applications. You are confusing sweeps with quarter bends. Long sweep is the extra long one you see but no one ever gets.

    Source: I'm a new construction plumber.

    • Ryan McLeod
      Ryan McLeod Year ago

      National Building Code Section 7. Canada

    • Javier Vazquez
      Javier Vazquez Year ago

      @Ryan McLeod Which code? Quarter bend is ok for horizontal to vertical in the UPC 2018.

      Edit: I misread your comment. You're good 👍.

    • Ryan McLeod
      Ryan McLeod Year ago +1

      On toilets and only horizontal to vertical. If a stack is going down vertical it needs to be long sweep or 2 - 45s. Code

  • MrKerry98
    MrKerry98 Year ago +1

    Great video...very concise...to the point...and explained along with good visuals. Thanks.

  • James Ruppert
    James Ruppert 7 months ago +1

    Forgot to add the max length of waste arms for the sink. You are only allowed MAX for 1¼" pipe 5' of run and 8' on 2” pipe. Which by theory (if ran at ¼" per foot) prevents it from dropping more than it's inner diameter.

  • Coder1024
    Coder1024 Year ago +1

    0:44 For the water supplies it's not needed. It's on the plumber to set the pipes far enough in and it's on the drywaller to use the right depth of screw. The plates are a nice to have.

    • Doppler
      Doppler Year ago +1

      code states if the edge of your hole is within 1-1/2" of the wall you need them and for top and bottom plate the nail plate must extend 2 2inchs below or above the top and bottom wood

  • Rusty Gold
    Rusty Gold Year ago +2

    Nothing to do with building code but my tips for Communication phone internet cabling : Piping for communications cable should use only 1 x 180 large 20mm bend for each change of direction . Also only use Orange drawline ( product names could be different in other countries ) for roping the 20mm pipe before hauling . Do not use wax string or some other string . Drawline has a higher pulling draw weight . When it comes to hauling with less bends there wont be any drag through short multiple bends creating breakage points . When it comes to needing to rod the section there is less fittings that stop the rod moving through . The most common used nylon rods have only so much S shape twisting . The less connecting pipes the better near the house too . They restrict rodding slipping through each join . If possible lay the cable you require in the pipe as you place insitu as well as with a Drawline

  • Scott Haydin
    Scott Haydin Year ago +1

    I live in an old home built in the early 50's, my washer plumbing is indeed 1.5" pipe. I had issues with it sometimes overflowing too. But since I bought a new "HE" washing machine a few years ago that uses far less water, it's actually been working perfectly fine now. The drain hose on the new washer is only about 7/8" or so, and the 1.5" drain pipe is more than capable of handling the flow from that small discharge hose.

  • Sled Head
    Sled Head Year ago +6

    As a state certified and listened inspector, I’ve see municipality inspectors pass stuff that should have failed. I’ve also seen them fail stuff that was done correctly. So ALWAYS ask to see their license.

  • Mack
    Mack 6 months ago +1

    I love your videos especially how you explain the problem but then go on to explain the implications. Most valuable as usual!

  • Mark Steele
    Mark Steele Year ago +1

    Excellent video. I think the 12" measurement for a toilet flange is from the stud, not the drywall though. (12" rough)

    • Got2Learn
      Got2Learn  Year ago

      Here in Canada, it's 12" from the finished wall and 12 1/2" from the stud.

  • Frank Vitale
    Frank Vitale 11 months ago +3

    Good description on the plumbing code. The #6 violation, is still a violation. The double TY fitting must be a double Y fitting, this will prevent the snake from passing from one side to the other, if the drain is plugged down stream of where the 2 lines meet.

    • Daniel Sullivan
      Daniel Sullivan 7 months ago

      Correct it has to be a double fixture fitting

    • Mike Herbst
      Mike Herbst 11 months ago

      Frank, i've had that happen before & it led to finding that the stack was packed from that point down. Very unhappy client!

  • Telthecelt
    Telthecelt Year ago +1

    Thanks! Useful even here in UK. I know realise why I had to move an outside slab and a piece of vertical pvc in order to put a 'snake' (I've learned a new term) along a drainage pipe from my washing machine to clear a blockage. a long sweep should have been installed at least. It would have saved me a couple of hours of work. Sadly if it happens in another 30 years I'll have to do the same thing. Oh wait, the chance of me still being alive in 30 years is close to zero! Phew! :)

    • pmailkeey
      pmailkeey Year ago

      WHAT are you putting in your pipes ? It should just be water which doesn't cause blockages!

  • Sam 'The Drum Slayer'

    Great video brother. You sound like a very knowledgeable plumber. However, every state has different plumbing codes. For example, here in Florida your W.C. can't be less than 16" or greater than 18" from the wall. All of our washer drains are spec to drain into a 3" main stack. You got me with the 1/4 bend 90°s also. I've never heard anyone call them Short sweeps. Keep it up man, your videos are very educational for beginners and I've recommended them to my helpers. 🤙👍

    • Got2Learn
      Got2Learn  Year ago +2

      Thank you so much for your comment Sam, I really appreciate it!

  • Sylvan Tieger
    Sylvan Tieger Year ago +1

    Very impressive Video I an a Master plumber (NYC) and held 2 other master plumbing licenses . Great explaining WHY they are code violations . About time someone made such an informative video

  • WillN2Go1
    WillN2Go1 10 months ago +2

    Great video. And I thought I knew all this.... One huge problem we face. HomeFnDepot. Their ABS, PVC and other fittings inventory is incredibly incompetent, disorganized and incomplete. (I suggested to them more than 20 years ago that they put catch all trays so customers who find a wrong part in a bin or who decide they don't want a piece can put it in one easy spot instead of just back into any old bin. I'm sure I'm not the only one to suggest this, and in the better (but now ) rare hardware stores they do this.) I had an emergency 2" ABS repair to make at my house. What I did works, but isn't to code and looks stupid -why? Because two Home depot didn't have standard 2" sweeps one of the most common parts.
    One day I made the extra long drive to Virgil's hardware, I had a whole list of bolts and stuff. In five minutes I had all of it. The second clerk to come by and ask if I needed help I remarked, "I found everything, in five minutes and I'm not pissed off. This sure ain't the Home Depot."

    • losferwords100
      losferwords100 10 months ago

      That's why real professionals go to a plumbing supply house and not a big box store. The quality of their materials is garbage and they don't have what you need half the time and the trip ends up being a complete waste.

      As bad as Home Depot and Lowe's can be, they've got nothing on ACE Hardware. By far the worst hardware chain store in the country. I went in there one time because it was literally within walking distance of a job thinking there'd be no way they don't have a couple of 2" elbows. Well color me surprised because sure enough, they did not have any 2" elbows. The most common fitting and they didn't have it. Pathetic.

  • Kyle Duesenberg
    Kyle Duesenberg Year ago +1

    I'm a mechanical engineer in the AEC industry, always trying to learn more about plumbing. This is a great video. Good job! One issue though, I don't understand what was the problem with tying a new fixture to an existing vent? What if nothing else connects to that vent above?

    • Got2Learn
      Got2Learn  Year ago

      Thanks @Neverenough Time for all your good information :)

    • NeverEnough Time
      NeverEnough Time Year ago +1

      One potential problem is vent size... If the existing vent isn't sized such that it can handle the new fixture(s), then no dice. Also, make sure it's not a "vent", for say, radon gas removal.

      Also, re: learning about plumbing/ plumbing codes, if you're not aware, the U.S. has two different regionally-dependent plumbing codes (UPC and IPC/ IRC) that differ in a number of ways. That's why, to avoid confusion/ misdirection, any media talking about codes should reference the applicable code and version (ex. "Based upon the 2015 IPC, ...").

    • Got2Learn
      Got2Learn  Year ago

      That's just what the code says, if you feel it can take it, go for it.

  • Steven Sun
    Steven Sun 5 months ago +2

    thank you for making this very educational and to the point video!

  • Doug Steward
    Doug Steward 5 months ago +1

    If you can't vent above the flood level rim of the fixtures you have to use drainage fittings. Every state, and or county has its own take on the code, when in doubt check the national plumbing code.

  • M Gharib
    M Gharib Year ago +1

    This is a great video....thanks. I have a situation where is plumbing wall (where the 1.5" vent pipe resides) is about 7 feet away from the center of the toilet flange. The original plumbing added a san tee midway in the long 3" pipe, and then added a knee to form a horizontal leg ( 4 " above the drain pipe ) right above the floor inside the previous tub enclosure. I know 7' to the vent pipe is not to code. Can a sanitary tee be introduced to run another horizontal vent pipe, this time below the floor? Basically vent pipe would be sandwiched between the floor above and 3" drain below?

  • Jest'in Case
    Jest'in Case 10 months ago +1

    Just found your channel. Love it. Thanks for this resource for us struggling do-it-yourselfers.

  • It ain’t rocket science

    I’m an electrician by trade but also a finish carpenter and I can fix anything.

    I do plumbing too
    Any crackhead can glue pipe together and “ make it work “
    But it’s knowledge spitting, like this guy, that turns us closer to craftsman and professionals.

    I follow the general rule of only using a hard 90 on vents.
    It was nice to learn that they can also be used on toilets too.

    Learning about other trades helps us all out and makes us better craftsman.

    Thanks for sharing your knowledge!
    You do great service to others

    • Got2Learn
      Got2Learn  Year ago +1

      Most welcome, please share if you can, cheers!!

  • old guy wisdom
    old guy wisdom 8 months ago +1

    As a bathroom remodeling contractor for 40 years I'm aware of all of these. Most (even some journeyman plumbers) are not. My job as a general contractor is to know everyone 's work. Not just carpentry. Good video!

  • Willie The boggle
    Willie The boggle Year ago +2

    Don’t forget about engineered floor joist. There are always identification on the joist that will allow you to reference the manufactures specs on cutting holes. I’m a home inspector and see improper plumbing installations frequently.

    • Vinnie Gugger
      Vinnie Gugger Year ago

      This is more true for remodel work. In new construction they will head it out and double them up.

    • Got2Learn
      Got2Learn  Year ago

      Awesome, thanks for adding that in Willie, really appreciate it!

  • Cliff Brookshire
    Cliff Brookshire Year ago +1

    Clear to the point concise information, wish more videos were like this!

  • Leigh Jordan
    Leigh Jordan 6 months ago +3

    I’ll say it again. Your illustrations are excellent. Your tutorials are spot on. I know all of this stuff but I enjoy watching.

    • Got2Learn
      Got2Learn  6 months ago

      So nice to hear, thanks a million Leigh 🤗🤗🤗

  • Murray Metcalf
    Murray Metcalf 11 months ago +2

    All good info, well explained, with top-notch illustrations/animations. Thanks!

    • Got2Learn
      Got2Learn  11 months ago

      You are most welcome, please share if you can, it helps the channel tremendously ✌✌

  • Julie Menezes
    Julie Menezes Year ago +1

    Great video and demonstration. Quick question: What can cause a water flow rate reduction in a tap apart from a dirty aerator, please?

    • Julie Menezes
      Julie Menezes Year ago +1

      @Got2Learn Hmm, that doesn't help me I'm afraid. Thanks for responding 😊

    • Got2Learn
      Got2Learn  Year ago +1

      Well water systems, newly installed piping, old piping that's deteriorating...

  • Speaker Builder
    Speaker Builder Year ago +1

    The code for my area says that a protection plate is needed only if a pipe or electrical wire is less 1.75 inches from the edge of the stud, so be sure to place you holes in the center of the studs and use the protection plate for piping large enough that less than the minimum clearance is present.

    • Jack Leonard
      Jack Leonard Year ago

      Speaker Builder Remember that today's lumber sizing is not what it used to be so some of these numbers will not work anymore.

  • Michael Grijak
    Michael Grijak Year ago +9

    Even when venting and installing horizontal and vertical drain lines we use Y's whenever possible instead of T's to make it easier for a snake. Just avoid using T's altogether. Otherwise this is spot on.

  • Jose V
    Jose V 8 months ago +2

    Do house plans/schematics usually include piping as well? And if they do, they would hopefully specify which code/code year(s) they meet.

    • Got2Learn
      Got2Learn  8 months ago +2

      Yes, normally everything is up to dates in building plans ;)

  • Ken Bridgeman
    Ken Bridgeman 11 months ago +4

    This was so well done. Graphics were awesome. You are concise and precise.

  • paul l bennett
    paul l bennett Year ago +16

    Interesting video. so different to Uk. Building inspectors do a walk through at joist and first fix stage and on completion . They are really only looking at structural and insulation , they dont really look at plumbing, unless the plumber has weakened the structure in any way. Our water regs are revised every 20 years or so ,but waste and drainage has never really changed, same as when i started over 35 years ago.Most small alterations are never inspected, it all leads to a massive problem with substandard and unregistered work.Gas ,oil And mains fed hot water heaters are a different story though, registration is mandatory .with probably some of the most strict laws on the planet.

    • TimesThree
      TimesThree Year ago

      Arkansas here. We mostly dont worry about it. I've seen some janky houses out in the hills.

    • Brian Glade
      Brian Glade Year ago

      Chicago here, if u fill wall cavity with great stuff, he'll pass you

  • Frost Hairs
    Frost Hairs 11 months ago +4

    In number 10...if you choose to run the pipe below the joists, you should have changed the 90 to a long sweep.

  • Victor Vinegar
    Victor Vinegar Year ago +1

    Great video! In New York City you're actually allowed to use a 1/4 bend going from vertical to horizontal so long as they're only serving one fixture. Not sure about everywhere else though

    • Josh Penland
      Josh Penland Year ago +1

      Ah nice you know the correct fitting name.

    • Got2Learn
      Got2Learn  Year ago +1

      Good to know, thanks Victor!

  • FrameRite Airdrie
    FrameRite Airdrie Year ago +14

    Another thing about the main stack, is some places require an expansion fitting to be installed to absorb any movement in the pipe.

    • woodstock
      woodstock Year ago

      aren't you typically using flexible couplings on the main stack these days anyway? Ok I realized that I am thinking of cast iron pipe since I do mostly healthcare construction and realize that a lot of piping is now pvc so in which case the expansion fitting would be a good idea.

  • Ruel Smith
    Ruel Smith Year ago +1

    Certain codes allow vents lower than 6" above the flood level rim in limited special use cases. One that comes to mind is loop vents for island sinks.

    Also, there are 3 different sweeps of 90s - regular, short sweep, and long sweep. You're correct that a short sweep is a no-no, but most codes allow regular sweep 90s in most applications. Here in Cincinnati, its approved for all vertical to horizontal connections.

    • Ruel Smith
      Ruel Smith Year ago

      @Lynn Hamilton seriously? Do you have reading comprehension problems? I did say cleanouts are required on HORIZONTAL changes of direction of 90 degrees. That is typically done with a tee wye, otherwise known as a combo, with a cleanout at the inlet of the straight section. Actually, code requires it on anything above 45 degrees. I said nothing about cleanouts on a vertical anything. I only said that a normal, read not a long sweep, is not only acceptable, but normal practice when going from a horizontal to vertical pipe. As a matter of fact, often, using a long sweep 90 in that instance would be out of the wall. Don't even think about trying to argue code with me. Not only have I been installing plumbing for a long time in the Cincinnati and Northern Kentucky area, I keep a PDF copy of BOTH code books on my phone just in case I'm not sure of some obscure or ambiguous code requirement. Do I need to quote the freaking code book for you? I'd screenshot it for you if pictures were allowed.

    • Lynn Hamilton
      Lynn Hamilton Year ago

      Im a plumber been doing plumbing for over 30 years. I don't know y im wasting my time on here. And u r clean out on vertical us called a test Tee

    • Ruel Smith
      Ruel Smith Year ago +1

      @Lynn Hamilton you can't change direction 90 degrees without a clean out on horizontal runs, which you would use a tee wye and not a 90. We were permitted per the inspector to turn 90 degrees without a clean out on a hospital I helped build, provided we used two 45s with a short piece between them larger than two adjoining cup depths. And, you obviously didn't read or understand when I said "vertical to horizontal connections."

    • Ruel Smith
      Ruel Smith Year ago

      @Lynn Hamilton I'm next to KY and they do allow them in KY code. All code is not the same.

    • Got2Learn
      Got2Learn  Year ago

      Long sweeps only.

  • cleandiaper
    cleandiaper Year ago

    I'm not a plumber and this video was clear and concise. Thank you.

  • Virginia н
    Virginia н Month ago

    The old washing machine used to have a gooseneck loosely hanging in the overflow pipe. The new washing machine has a converter cap allowing the machine to have a pressure fit 45⁰ fitting at the top of the pipe. Worked fine for the longest time. Washed a fuzzy blanket. This created a suction on the line that tried to partially drain the washer while it was agitating. Some drain cleaner got it back to speed. My question, should the pipe supposed to be vented at the top to prevent vacuums? Or will there be a danger of overflowing if the machine pumps the water out too fast?

  • Ace Mechanical
    Ace Mechanical 6 months ago +1

    Another common violation: the horizontal portion of a drain from the base of a stack cannot have a branch connection closer than 10 pipe sizes from the base of the stack.

  • Mark Chickenbutt
    Mark Chickenbutt Year ago +14

    At least by IPC code mostly right.
    Short sweep 90’s are allowed for horizontal to vertical transition and for directly come out of wall to a fixture.
    Double wye or wye fittings are not permitted to a fixture branch as shown unless it is vented. (Of course if the branch is vented his previous example of an incorrect why in 45 combination would also be permissible) A cross or double tee is permitted but most plumbers who have ran a drain machine will tell you 2 separate tee’s.
    You absolutely can tie into another vent. His standpipe example is tricky because for washing machines you need to have soapsuds relief (it’s just a special venting style). Total vent size is 1/2 of the drain pipe served with a minimum of 1 1/2 inches so one and a half inches canserve a 3 inch main. Venting on most houses can be combined and come out roof in one single pipe.

    • Nathan Edmundson
      Nathan Edmundson Year ago

      Vents are sized not by the drain size although it could be a good rule of thumb but sized by the number of fixture units for the fixtures in the system. For instance a full bathroom is 5 fixture units so an 1 1/2" pipe is adequate but if you tie a kitchen sink to that vent it would add 2 fixture units to that and if there are any horizontal runs above that tie in you would have to increase your pipe size. once you get over 10 fixture units horizontal runs must be increased to 2 1/2" and so forth.

    • ssathessa
      ssathessa Year ago

      Hey@Mark Chickenbutt!

      Hard to visualize this process, would be amazing to get some visuals on this.

    • trance_dance 30
      trance_dance 30 Year ago +2

      @Mark Chickenbutt thank you so much for the reply. I'm finally to that part and the advice is MUCH appreciated

    • Mark Chickenbutt
      Mark Chickenbutt Year ago +4

      trance_dance 30
      Does vary in code but most use IPC. So you need a vent pipe to be 1/2 the drain pipe served with a 1-1/2 inch minimum. If the house main drain is 3” then it’s 1-1/2” If it’s a 4” main then it’s 2” vent needed. And when you exit thru the roof in frost areas you need to increase pipe size to 3” vent just before you exit so your vent doesn’t frost over.
      All of your other individual vents can tie into this main vent.
      Vents will slope allowing moisture to go down the drain. Also because vents are flowing air, tee fittings will upside down on a vent only line.

    • trance_dance 30
      trance_dance 30 Year ago

      I'm currently doing some DIY work on my place. We are about to start plumbing. You mention that vents can usually be connected to exit the house as one pipe. What would be the requirements for that? All my fixtures are within an 15x18 ft area (estimate) but I kept them close to each other to save on plumbing supplies.

  • Will Hunt
    Will Hunt Year ago +1

    Great video. Excellent example of how complex properly done plumbing really is. I

  • Nicholas Kerzman
    Nicholas Kerzman 7 months ago

    Thank you for the very helpful and useful video for a DIY'er as well. Good things to consider.

    • Got2Learn
      Got2Learn  7 months ago

      Pleasure is all mine, ypu are most welcome!!

  • Mike Baber
    Mike Baber Year ago +1

    Very good vid, Thanks. Any comments on trap-primers and the use of auto-air vents? Regulations on those two items are constantly changing from state to state...county to county.

    • Got2Learn
      Got2Learn  Year ago

      I can't speak for every state but yes, trap primers are good options if you are looking to never fill your traps, or if you go on vacation, they are an good option, and as for auto-vents, they aren't recommended but sometimes if it's the only option you have, you have no choice.

  • G. Gaj
    G. Gaj Year ago +1

    Very informative, thank you for taking the time to make this video!

  • Pete Cartwright
    Pete Cartwright 10 months ago +2

    Now, that was informative. If you're doing things yourself, this was mighty helpful and important. '
    Nothing could be more frustrating than getting a fail because you didn't use a "long sweep" ell and just because you didn't realize the dif.
    I thought this was a great video

    • Pete Cartwright
      Pete Cartwright 10 months ago +1

      @Got2Learn I didn't look to see if there is one, but how a manifold works and how to install would be another good one.

    • Got2Learn
      Got2Learn  10 months ago

      🙏🙏🙏

  • Arman Gomez
    Arman Gomez Year ago +2

    Thank you for taking the time to teach us.
    I want to go and take the test.

  • Leigh Jordan
    Leigh Jordan Year ago +9

    These rules have been in the uniform plumbing code for many many years....now I live in canada, Ontario to be exact, the DWV code always had me saying, "why would they do this?" OBC chapter 7 has finally updated to these in particular.I have seen things up here in Sudbury that would make a grown man cry.

  • Steve R
    Steve R Year ago +3

    Thanks for the upload. I almost made a mistake that would have failed inspection (long 90 vs short 90). I appreciate the tips. If you could do a video about sewer pipe slopes that would be great.

    • matt tyler
      matt tyler Year ago +1

      Boosted DC2 we can do 1/8” on 3” and greater

    • Boosted DC2
      Boosted DC2 Year ago +1

      @JEFF LI I'm in Canada. Codes may differ but regardless, 1/8" per foot on 4" + is enough to move solids.

    • JEFF LI
      JEFF LI Year ago +1

      @Boosted DC2 umm I thought 1/8" needs administrative approval?? old UPC........

    • Boosted DC2
      Boosted DC2 Year ago +2

      1/4" per foot grade on 3" and less
      1/8" per foot grade on 4" and greater.
      Use a level that has grade marking.
      Simple.

    • Got2Learn
      Got2Learn  Year ago +1

      Thanks Steve, really appreciate it buddy, I am glad you fidn't make that mistake ;) and yes, i'll be making a video on that too in the future! ;))

  • Ernie Mauricio
    Ernie Mauricio 9 months ago +1

    If you're having a contractor do the work, make sure you visit the site as often as permitted. Some contractors like to cut corners and you won't know them until inspection time (or worse... 20 years down the line). Trust me. being an annoying hovering client is not a bad trade off for the cost and headaches you'll avoid.

    • Daite Dve
      Daite Dve 9 months ago +1

      Make agreement that you pay AFTER inspection passed.

    • Got2Learn
      Got2Learn  9 months ago

      100% agree with this.

  • aNuthaRedneck
    aNuthaRedneck Year ago +1

    EXCELLENT VIDEO. I've made a lot of money because of DIYers or crappy plumbers making these mistakes... I've probably made every one of them myself before learning proper methods and why ...

  • V P
    V P Year ago +1

    #6, the code reads, the vent opening shall not be bellow the trap weir. The vent opening is the top of the tee. The weir is the inside bottom of the pipe where the water flows immediately after the trap.
    In this scenario the combination “T” is an improper fitting, but the Go2learn guy doesn’t tell you that. Only a sanitary are to be used in this situation. This code says it
    all. To fix this problem is to cut in a sanitary t fitting on the trap arm and tie it in to the vertical vent above it.

    • rehu gasrty
      rehu gasrty Year ago

      You are correct on the double wye being an un approved fitting but the T- wye is an approved fitting in Ma. Since the vent is above the trap weir. As far as the argument that you can’t snake it because it may pass through the other side you are correct but we solve that by adding a 2” dandy just below the t-wye. The only place where a T- wye can’t be used is when it’s placed in a horizontal position. However
      Your input and definition of proper venting is correct.

    • V P
      V P Year ago +1

      rehu gasrty
      I really don’t understand what a double t wye is. Maybe you mean a double wye, if so it too is an illegal fitting for the reasons I explained above. The vent opening on a double wye is way below the trap or the trap weir. Double wyes, double sanitary tees, double combinations fittings are illegal. A double sanitary tee’s vent is code legal but illegal because a snake is able to travel across when unclogging.
      If you mean a double wye with 2 - 45 elbows which makes the 2 wyes vertical and 2
      Sanitary tees on top of the 45 after which the top of the
      sanitary tees is connected to vent than that would be legal.
      The only fitting that is legal in this situation where it splits in opposite direction is a figure 4 fitting. This fitting suffices both the vent and snake cross over when unclogging code compliance. Wow that was a mouthful. 🌺

    • rehu gasrty
      rehu gasrty Year ago

      Actually a double T is illegal, that would be a cross T but a double T-wye is an aceptable fitting as long as your verticle drain is larger than your drain arm for sink. Example would be a 2”x 1.5 double T- wye

  • davey k
    davey k 19 days ago +1

    I enjoy this videos. A lot of thought and prep goes into them. Well delivered.

  • Rob Pet
    Rob Pet Year ago +50

    I don't know about others but I am keeping this as a reference to be checked any time I do any plumbing . Great video man !

    • Got2Learn
      Got2Learn  Year ago +1

      Hehe, that's so cool! Thanks Robert, and share if you can :)))

  • frank L
    frank L Year ago +2

    Great video .. Can anyone tell me how would these codes apply to a 2 story house that was built in the 1969 ? The reason I ask , On a recent master bathroom renovation I found multiple code infringements ( at least to today's standards )- For example , I had the floor pulled up to the joists ( removed tile , cement bed and then wood sub-floor - only to discover that there was a joist that was butchered to within 1- to 1 1/2 inches from the edges to accommodate a 3 inch cast iron Wye fitting going to the toilet --- basically a window 4.5 "x 9.5 " in in the joist .. . attached to the wye fitting was a shot piece of pipe connecting to a 1 1/2 wye leading to a shower - ( also cast iron ) ( violation back then ? ) .The other end went to a bathtub and then to a wet vent to which a sink was connected ( all 1 1/2 cast iron.) ... What is really odd -- the pipe leading from the original wye to the bathtub/sink/ vent looked good for the next 5 joists as they had 2 inch ( or so ) holes in the joists .. .. but after that , the next 3 joists had 3.5 x 3.5 inch notches cut out from the top !!! ( violation back then ? ) ..

    To me , It looked as though they moved the wall 3 joists from its original position to make the room bigger and notched the joists to accommodate the drain. EVERYTHING looked as though it were original work done by the builder (aged ) .
    When the house was built , it was a " model home " for the new subdivision -- It appears to have had multiple changes made during the build process -- and makes me wonder if the town even inspected back then , or if changes were made " after the fact ... I have been in the house for 30 years- and have had no problems ..

    • dracoslayer16
      dracoslayer16 7 months ago

      Old work that isn't on the permitted set of plans is excluded from inspections. However, if an inspector finds anything while they they are there they would deem a safety hazard or a significant problem, they can tag to have said problems fixed. For example, (in southern California) if you are getting a new water heater permit and the inspector finds that your building is not equipped with smoke detectors, CO alarms, or backflow devices, they can (and usually will) force you to add those problems to your building permit before allowing final inspection.

      Most of the time, when damaged framing is found, crews will simply fix whatever is damaged and move on without bringing it up to the inspector, assuming the customer gives the OK for any added costs.

    • Chris Yu
      Chris Yu Year ago

      Old work is grandfathered under the old codes. Replace it and you have to bring it up to current codes. Yes, LOTS of work is done without permits/inspections. I've done a plenty myself. But it may catch up with me when I sell the house.

  • Pety Brown
    Pety Brown 6 months ago +1

    Just to let you know,
    Drywall is installed horizontally not vertically.
    Your videos are very well done and informative.

  • Jim Rin
    Jim Rin 8 months ago +5

    Great video. Good job explaining. Though, I'm unclear when adding a new fixture why it is not acceptable to tie into an existing vent???

    • Got2Learn
      Got2Learn  8 months ago +3

      Thanks, the reason for that is sizing.

  • Ricky Powers
    Ricky Powers 3 months ago +3

    When I was a residential new construction plumber no inspector was the same. We had to remember what area we were in whether it was a city or county inspector. They were all different. Some things were the same. It resorts back to the code book. It says left to the discretion of the code inspector.

  • iLikeC00kieDough
    iLikeC00kieDough Year ago +7

    I didn’t learn anything new from this video, but it was so well done!! The visuals and explanations were so helpful and informative!

    • Mikel Didac
      Mikel Didac Year ago +2

      Nice

    • Got2Learn
      Got2Learn  Year ago +1

      Thank you so much, maybe someone you know can get something outta it, have a great evening :)

  • Buckin Bronco
    Buckin Bronco 6 months ago +1

    #11 of failing a plumbing inspection: using pressure fittings instead of drainage fittings.
    alot of homeowners around here some reason think thats a good idea

  • Bob Z
    Bob Z 8 months ago +4

    You don't need the Y + 45 for your toilet drain. You cold also use a long sweep tee. It does the same job. Also, if you're doing something sketchy, do it in the crawlspace. I've never seen an inspector crawl under a house.

    • Gary DeWitt
      Gary DeWitt 8 months ago +1

      Ha ha, yes, unless it's a private inspector...

  • SAM
    SAM Year ago +1

    Toilet seat must be 18 inch in center not 15 inch so the total is 36 inch from finish wall to finish wall.For venting you can do 4 inch over P trap under the sink ,it doesn’t have to be 42” from the floor.

  • Paul Anderson
    Paul Anderson Year ago +1

    Great information for us do-it-yourselfers. Thank You.

    • Got2Learn
      Got2Learn  Year ago

      Thank you so much Paul, please share if you can :)

  • The Tishbite
    The Tishbite Year ago +1

    Excellent video! Should be viewed by all first year construction engineers.

  • Fred Sanford
    Fred Sanford 9 months ago +2

    Thank you for this video, I learned a LOT, well 10 things i didn't know :) ...Im currently connecting a new foundation to an existing for a room addition. Therefore, I need to expose drain/sewer line so I can connect to it (for a new kitchen sink) before I pour the foundation and then run that extension to where the new sink will go. Luckily the wall what will get extended already has a clean out vent so I can assume the drain run straight down where I need to dig it out.. Hopefully it not toooo deep...I might hit china (for those old enough to remember that reference)

    • Got2Learn
      Got2Learn  9 months ago

      @Fred Sanford yeah, there's only one Cali 😅

    • Fred Sanford
      Fred Sanford 9 months ago +1

      @Got2Learn California Codes are probably the toughest to go by and they change constantly ...and sometimes when they change, it's really going back to old code..🙄

    • Got2Learn
      Got2Learn  9 months ago

      👍👍👍🤣🤣🤣