Tyler, the Creator - IGOR ALBUM REVIEW

Share
Embed
  • Published on May 23, 2019
  • Listen: ruclip.com/video/HmAsUQEFYGI/video.html
    IGOR is easily one of the best breakup albums of the decade.
    Buy this album: amzn.to/2WkUFIL
    More rap reviews: ruclip.com/p/PLP4CSgl7K7ormBIO138tYonB949PHnNcP
    ===================================
    Subscribe: bit.ly/1pBqGCN
    Official site: theneedledrop.com
    TND Twitter: theneedledrop
    TND Facebook: theneedledrop
    Support TND: theneedledrop.com/support
    ===================================
    FAV TRACKS: EARFQUAKE, I THINK, NEW MAGIC WAND, A BOY IS A GUN, PUPPET, WHAT'S GOOD, GONE GONE / THANK YOU, I DON'T LOVE YOU ANYMORE, ARE WE STILL FRIENDS?
    LEAST FAV TRACK: RUNNING OUT OF TIME
    TYLER, THE CREATOR - IGOR / 2019 / COLUMBIA / NEO-SOUL, ALTERNATIVE R&B, EXPERIMENTAL HIP HOP
    9/10 www.theneedledrop.com/loved-list/2019/1/loved-list-2019
    Y'all know this is just my opinion, right?

Comments • 9 636

  • capin dortos
    capin dortos 2 days ago +1

    I love every single track on the album. 10/10 genuinely my favorite album

  • Somebody You Know
    Somebody You Know 3 days ago

    Can you do IGOR next? Pls

  • Steve Reyes
    Steve Reyes 4 days ago +2

    I actually agree with you anthony, i think this IS his best and most memorable work

  • Peter S
    Peter S 5 days ago

    this is gonna be the aoty, calling it

  • FluidRap949
    FluidRap949 6 days ago +1

    I liked this review but you didn’t have to say that women shouldn’t have rights bro

  • Charlie Zumkehr
    Charlie Zumkehr 7 days ago +1

    Tyler actually recently said he needs to make the "perfect rap album" next so idek what to expect

  • Myk
    Myk 7 days ago +1

    I want to see where the next album in the trilogy will go.

  • Myk
    Myk 7 days ago +1

    People only disliked this because they disliked the fact that Fantano disliked Tyler's most disliked albums and liked Tyler's most liked album.

  • doors fan
    doors fan 8 days ago +2

    great review, but you constantly adding an “N” in front of “Igor” was kinda out of line.

  • Mateus Lunardelli
    Mateus Lunardelli 9 days ago

    Lets agree: igor is an 8

  • Alexander Billos
    Alexander Billos 10 days ago +1

    4 months and the album keeps sounding better

  • Maxbotnick
    Maxbotnick 11 days ago

    Ah.
    Ah.
    Hi.
    Everyone.
    Longthony Waitthano here.
    The Internet's busiest music nerd.

  • Louis Wright
    Louis Wright 11 days ago

    For once
    I agree with you

  • d z 9 0 9 0
    d z 9 0 9 0 12 days ago

    Lil Pump - Self-Titled + Eminem - Revival = Tyler The Creator - IGOR

  • Honest Reviews
    Honest Reviews 12 days ago

    Wtf, why is this comment sections so hilarious

  • Luke Bradford
    Luke Bradford 12 days ago

    In all honesty, this is just one of those albums I can't get into. I can't get into Tyler's music in general. It's just not my kind of thing.

  • Camilo
    Camilo 13 days ago

    Igor did a good job with encapsulating the feelings that Tyler had been hiding from his fans, Tyler has seriously changed as a character, and evolved as an artist.

  • Zkarter
    Zkarter 15 days ago

    You only gave it a 9 becouse you liked it

  • Sam Chin
    Sam Chin 15 days ago

    bruh this really could've been a 10

  • Nobody
    Nobody 16 days ago +1

    the last song with vocals on flower boy had the lyric "I want to be more than friends" and the last track on this album is "ARE WE STILL FRIENDS?"

  • jaxson moon
    jaxson moon 16 days ago +1

    What is this cunt on about

  • SpasmFingers
    SpasmFingers 17 days ago +1

    When I first heard this album, I didn't like it, didn't listen to it for months after the first time. But I gave it another listen recently, and now it's one of my favorite albums of all time.

  • Belf on shelf
    Belf on shelf 18 days ago

    When will tyler get a ten?

  • Brody
    Brody 18 days ago +5

    I was enjoying the review until you started calling goblin his magnus opus while pissing on a copy of Igor and smashing records of flower boy on the ground

  • King Solarmane
    King Solarmane 19 days ago +1

    Not even watched it all but this album is a fuckin masterpiece 10/10

  • Bigpond Pond
    Bigpond Pond 20 days ago +2

    Melon its Igor, Not Nigor

  • nesracProductions
    nesracProductions 21 day ago +1

    Crazy to see how many new fans Tyler gains with each new album

  • LooseBoyAdam
    LooseBoyAdam 21 day ago

    I didn't really like it cus I'm more of a hip hop fan and it only had two rap songs...

  • Eric Ma
    Eric Ma 22 days ago +1

    Where's the Igor review melon, it's been months now

  • Michael Mitaritonna
    Michael Mitaritonna 23 days ago

    idk man this record was straight trash IMHO.

    • john wick from fortnite
      john wick from fortnite 22 days ago

      trash?i can understand thinking why it would be okay,but this isnt trash,try relistening,it grows on you like cherry bomb does

  • X88B88
    X88B88 25 days ago +2

    Another solid review Anthony! Just one thing tho, mainly a fact check; grape soda and fried chicken doesn’t make up 98 percent of all African american diets, but apart from that u did gooood

  • antonio lopez
    antonio lopez 25 days ago

    The album deserved a 10! Hopefully later on he can review this album again

  • Donny Lurch
    Donny Lurch 25 days ago

    Anthony saying "please don't cry" is like a medkit pick-up for mental health.

  • LLAHBIH
    LLAHBIH 26 days ago

    I hate how he compares him so much to Kanye...

  • nicolas michaud
    nicolas michaud 26 days ago

    hi needle drop, its a great album of cours emy personal rate is 8/10 (very good), there is no boring songs and this album stay strong till the end but i dont hear anything gorgeous in the vibes and instrument.

  • Vicious Mixes
    Vicious Mixes 26 days ago

    Gotta say I beleive ‚‘‘I THINK“ really doesnt Sound like anything. Nothing like Ye especially.

  • 123rockfan
    123rockfan 28 days ago

    I didn’t know any of the production or writing credits for Igor and I instantly assumed that Frank Ocean helped with this entire album. Didn’t get any Pharrell vibes at all IMO

  • Wilson Mathias
    Wilson Mathias 28 days ago +2

    Respect, you finally agree to being Bi.

  • Matija Kovačević
    Matija Kovačević 28 days ago

    FB > IGOR slightly but both are strong 8s

  • Shaggydu_da
    Shaggydu_da Month ago +1

    A boy is a gun used the same sample as kanyes bound 2

  • MassiveNoob
    MassiveNoob Month ago

    Bruh, Running Out Of Time is one of the better songs on the album. Melon is on crack.

  • TheFlanMan
    TheFlanMan Month ago +1

    It's spelled IGOR not NIGOR Anthony.

  • WSlaughter8
    WSlaughter8 Month ago +1

    The emotional complexity Of Tyler on this album is relayed excellently by Anthony.

  • Frannie
    Frannie Month ago +1

    2021 will get a 3 watch

  • malek shut up!
    malek shut up! Month ago +1

    you wanted to give it a 10, I know you damn well

  • Christian Vargas
    Christian Vargas Month ago

    5:39 I thought he was referring to the album “Camp” by Childish Gambino, since he hates that project

  • rreyyett
    rreyyett Month ago

    I.... Agree.

  • Wu-tang Generator
    Wu-tang Generator Month ago +2

    I Think isn’t something Kanye would have written, it’s just Stronger

  • r0se
    r0se Month ago +2

    Damn Anthony you didn't have to bump him from a 10 to a 9 just because he's gay. I agree with most of what you said, but I don't see how someone's orientation should affect their score.

  • Justin Beall
    Justin Beall Month ago +2

    Yellow flannel good, red flannel bad?

  • Joaquin cruz
    Joaquin cruz Month ago

    Anthony, on the CD release, another track is added called Boyfriend. This so goes for cherry bomb with the song Yellow. Thats it

  • brody10123
    brody10123 Month ago +3

    Ya know it really says a lot about Fantano that he could give IGOR 9/10 even though the entire review was just calling Tyler the N-Word

  • Buttershark895
    Buttershark895 Month ago +1

    You give Igor a 9 and blond a 8 smh

  • n1kl45_ _
    n1kl45_ _ Month ago +2

    Good album but flowerboy was more memorable

  • derp
    derp Month ago

    Generational pandering

  • Michael Belayneh
    Michael Belayneh Month ago

    Am I the only one who didn't enjoy the album that much...

  • Justinus Sejati
    Justinus Sejati Month ago

    Overraaaattteeed

    • Justinus Sejati
      Justinus Sejati Month ago

      @Ol' Whippersnapperbcause 9 from fantano is something, this LP is not

    • Ol' Whippersnapper
      Ol' Whippersnapper Month ago

      @Justinus Sejati so your saying that 8 is better than 9 even though its one below

    • Justinus Sejati
      Justinus Sejati Month ago

      @Ol' Whippersnapper not a 9

    • Ol' Whippersnapper
      Ol' Whippersnapper Month ago

      @Justinus Sejati not very overrated then eh?

    • Justinus Sejati
      Justinus Sejati Month ago

      @Ol' Whippersnapper for me, it's a 7 to light 8

  • deadpopstar
    deadpopstar Month ago +2

    I May have missed it in other reviews Anthony did of Tyler's LPs, but I Never Heard him compare some elements of his music to Bright Eyes aka Conor Oberst. I've Always thought Tyler has been at points influenced by Connor in the past; this record & the prior LP probably being the most. Probably why he put the Bright Eyes vinyl behind him throughout this review. Even though in MY Opinion, I do like The Faint semi-produced, "Digital Ash In A Digital Urn" more, of those "twin" records. Still Both are perfect juxtaposition LPs to me.
    One thing I do not Understand is how Anthony had such mass Distain for the also Lo-Fi / "under produced" LP Cherry Bomb; yet Loves this also Lo-Fi / "under produced" LP. Cherry Bomb was more Lo-Fi produced in context of true old school Punk & IGOR was influenced in a Soul & TRUE Original R&B manner. I'm confused because Anthony knows much of & often talks how he Loves the old school punk genre. (& likes the few examples of new bands doing old school punk Properly/Well & again; Few examples. ha..)
    Yes I know this is all opinion of course, but he gave this record basically a perfect rating (as I give it as well..), but trashed Cherry Bomb. I really don't get it. I think both of the records are "under produced" (or whatever term you want to put on it), but completely differently genre wise; but Still in such innovative ways. I just don't understand Why he & so many other critics/many fans alike disliked Cherry Bomb so much. Especially from Anthony who has claimed to love much old school punk & genre mashing when it's done Properly. I certainly felt Tyler mashed genres excellently & Properly with Cherry Bomb; as with IGOR
    So I'll still never understand why he loathed Tyler's Cherry Bomb, but I agree with this review completely although I give IGOR a 10/10 & it will probably end up being my favorite "abstract rap/hip hop/soul" LP of 2019. Opinions are great!, I'm just confused by what I've been rambling on about regarding Cherry Bomb & the truly Mass hatred of it b4y not just Anthony but so many others. I think it's absolutely amazing, just as I feel this new record is also!! Yes: just opinions; even if they are pretty Confusing to me. As far as specifically Anthony's review of Cherry Bomb; but now loving IGOR. Oh well though; great review nonetheless; that was worth the wait.

    • deadpopstar
      deadpopstar 9 days ago

      @illegallyhuman I know right? Oh well it's just opinions, I'll always enjoy the record.

    • illegallyhuman
      illegallyhuman 9 days ago +1

      deadpopstar still don’t get why he gave cherry bomb a 3

  • beeneylord
    beeneylord Month ago

    Igor was good. Flower boy was way more memorable for me and I like it much more but Igor was pretty good.

  • Soggy Nugget
    Soggy Nugget Month ago +3

    If you don’t like IGOR or Tyler in general... you’re an undeveloped fetus