The Beginning of the End - Surface Pro X Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Dec 9, 2019
  • Use code LINUS to get $6 off your first box at lmg.gg/comicgarage
    Check out NVIDIA GeForce RTX Powered ORIGIN PC's at bit.ly/2XhXMiL
    The Surface Pro X represents the best of what Windows 10 on Arm has to offer. Unfortunately, the best needs to get better.
    Buy Surface Pro X:
    On Amazon: geni.us/DjbV4jZ
    On Microsoft Store: geni.us/ysDAW
    Purchases made through some store links may provide some compensation to Linus Media Group.
    Discuss on the forum: linustechtips.com/main/topic/1132778-the-beginning-of-the-end-%E2%80%93-surface-pro-x-review/
    Our Affiliates, Referral Programs, and Sponsors: lmg.gg/sponsors
    Get a Displate Metal Print at lmg.gg/displateltt
    Get a 30-day free trial of Amazon Prime at lmg.gg/8KV1v
    Linus Tech Tips merchandise at www.LTTStore.com/
    Our Test Benches on Amazon: www.amazon.com/shop/linustechtips
    Our production gear: geni.us/cvOS
    Twitter - linustech
    Facebook - LinusTech
    Instagram - linustech
    Twitch - www.twitch.tv/linustech
    Intro Screen Music Credit:
    Title: Laszlo - Supernova
    Video Link: ruclip.com/video/PKfxmFU3lWY/video.html
    iTunes Download Link: itunes.apple.com/us/album/supernova/id936805712
    Artist Link: soundcloud.com/laszlomusic
    Outro Screen Music Credit: Approaching Nirvana - Sugar High ruclip.com/user/approachingnirvana
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 2 911

  • Jean Macdobea
    Jean Macdobea 33 minutes ago +1

    intel is moving for the better so IT WILL GO ON AS A POWERFUL-PROCESSOR and NOT go away !!..

  • R H
    R H 2 hours ago

    Windows app’s ......nope, using it as a laptop......nope. Its just a windows (failed attempt) tablet

  • Michael Simmons
    Michael Simmons 6 hours ago

    My surface Pro with core i5 is fanless.

  • JesusSavedJoshua
    JesusSavedJoshua 2 days ago

    When will someone get a clue and actually create a surface pro that is affordable for everyone and powerful at the same time?

  • svfutbol20
    svfutbol20 2 days ago

    I wanna grab all manufacturers by their collective shoulders and shake them, saying “WE DON’T CARE HOW THIN IT IS, WE WANT BATTERY LIFE AND PERFORMANCE YOU TWATS”

  • Dawid van Straaten
    Dawid van Straaten 3 days ago

    An extremely thin and light triumph it seems... Is it a triumph a though? Power to performance ratio it is insanely costly. Can’t see who the audience for super stuttering machine from the “future” is.

  • G H
    G H 3 days ago

    I was thinking "Hmmm, not yet; maybe in the second or third gen"... and then lost me at no headphone jack. Honestly Microsoft, don't emulate Apple.

  • rolf johansen
    rolf johansen 3 days ago

    He did a better job than Linus!

  • KAI
    KAI 3 days ago

    How to make something expensive:
    *add a X to it*

  • Ilman Ahmad
    Ilman Ahmad 4 days ago

    6:10 really funny

  • 6 String Terror
    6 String Terror 4 days ago

    Intel needs someone to check them, prices crazy...

  • Marko Lendic
    Marko Lendic 5 days ago

    This guy is funny

  • Joshua Bernil
    Joshua Bernil 5 days ago

    So I'm not usually on here but I thought the guy @ 0:30 is Linus but I'm assuming he's not (??)

  • Smagin Andrew
    Smagin Andrew 5 days ago

    What a garbage "computer". 1400$ device can't run x64 programs that exist since 2003 and runs x86 programs, which are most programs, with problems. Emulation also eliminates the main advantage of surface pro - low power usage. And reviewer says that it's OK notebook. I'm starting to mistrust Linus Media Group

  • Armand Bireaud
    Armand Bireaud 6 days ago

    So wait the surface pro after 5 years still has native windows app that don't work ? I thought that was just for the original surface years ago. What a joke

  • Matt Neil
    Matt Neil 8 days ago

    I watched a dozen reviews about how the surface pro x sucks... I only use this device as a quick grab unit that has LTE and can handle all of my Microsoft office APPS. This is not a desktop or laptop replacement. This laptop is a (for lack of better words a backup gun) super light, instant on Perfect to get you out of a jam. This is a perfect business machine.
    I dont edit videos, play games or frigg around .. This machine is perfect for me.. I also have every other surface product so theres that. - a regular dude.

  • Kosmos Anims
    Kosmos Anims 10 days ago

    Lol I still have a working Surface RT, and it sucks ASS

  • Baron Von Grijffenbourg

    Still better than anything Apple is pulling out of its hairy crack these days.. Add a touchscreen to mac already ya turtle-neck wearing weirdos.

  • David Engle
    David Engle 10 days ago

    Wow 🤨

  • Battle
    Battle 12 days ago

    guess ill stick to the pro 7 when i decide to upgrade from the Surface Go lol

  • ctse26
    ctse26 13 days ago

    emulation runs a lot slower than native x86 applications no matter how well you can optimize it... if the surface X came with a core m processor, then it would be a more enticing device since it would be able to run x86 natively :D

  • ctse26
    ctse26 13 days ago

    So intel got cucked hard... amd and qualcom is being picked over intel now.

    *surprise pikachu face* :O!!!

  • ArchonNick
    ArchonNick 15 days ago +1

    Why buy this? For less money u can get a "normal" laptop.

  • DannyK426
    DannyK426 15 days ago

    and at 3:20 i am not longer interested. thanks guys! thumbs up for a life saving review.

  • Micaela Butron
    Micaela Butron 18 days ago

    Who would buy this?

  • Archie Wei
    Archie Wei 18 days ago

    Arm just need more time until native 64 bit.

  • Eggamyer
    Eggamyer 19 days ago +1

    Microsoft makes me hate my life.

  • thejsa
    thejsa 19 days ago

    It's definitely still early days for Windows 10 on Arm and the emulation only supporting x86 is a stumbling block for now, but once software starts getting recompiled to run natively on the Arm64 processors (they are 64-bit chips) I think there's a lot of potential for the platform.

  • Tihomir Valkanov
    Tihomir Valkanov 19 days ago

    iPad Pro for me please, thanks!

  • Moonwired
    Moonwired 20 days ago

    So it’s preforms worse and costs more? Should really make it cheaper so they sell and they can develop the tech. Nobody in their right mind would buy this

  • Sebastian O.
    Sebastian O. 20 days ago

    We Wuz Kangz yo!

  • SakzmaHolic
    SakzmaHolic 20 days ago

    He sounds like Linus 😵

  • Arjan van Wieringen
    Arjan van Wieringen 20 days ago

    Linus + Chris Evans + Sam Rockwell = this guy

  • shiny quest
    shiny quest 21 day ago

    Great review thank you

  • Matthew Orrell
    Matthew Orrell 21 day ago

    I'm going to be honest here if you are looking at this review for any other reason that you have nothing else better to do, get an iPad. That's going to be the case until Arm is properly supported. At least an iPad can run a version of Photoshop (though it still doesn't have a headphone jack).

  • Lance Vance
    Lance Vance 21 day ago

    7:46 "MINOR ANNOYANCES". wtf!!!!

  • Truth Keeper Films
    Truth Keeper Films 22 days ago +2

    That’s sad that in 2019, there are still companies who get product launches massively wrong. Like that’s very bad. It’s almost a useless tablet

  • dustojnikhummer
    dustojnikhummer 22 days ago

    The thing about this is... People say "Microsoft! Start fresh! Get rid of that Win95 stuff from Windows 10!" but the same people then turn around and "Wait, it does not run Win32 apps? What is the fucking point then?"

  • Quang Nguyễn
    Quang Nguyễn 23 days ago

    ruclip.com/video/pFJoXEdsBAA/video.html

  • Nocturnal Guy
    Nocturnal Guy 23 days ago

    Never! I'll stick with the bulky Surface Pro 7!

  • balty_7
    balty_7 23 days ago

    Surface Laptop 3 review?!?

  • Noowis
    Noowis 23 days ago +3

    This guy sounds like linus but with a cold

  • Daniel Schroedinger
    Daniel Schroedinger 24 days ago +5

    1800 bucks for a machine that is almost usable.
    Who do you think you are? Apple?

    • svfutbol20
      svfutbol20 2 days ago

      Daniel Schroedinger I don’t understand either, the i5 version is like $700

  • IMAGINE
    IMAGINE 25 days ago +2

    I am loving the Surface Pro X. Just sold my iPad Pro. It doesn't get its due in these reviews.

    • David Phelps
      David Phelps 21 day ago +1

      I agree with you Imagine. I found this review very misleading and slanted. I have purchased one myself and absolutely love it. Had there been a current generation Surface Intel version that also had LTE and all day battery life, I might have considered it. However, they don't and no one knows when they "might". For the very few programs that I can't run on this device I already had a cloud gaming PC that I can log into with the Surface Pro X and accomplish those tasks. That LTE makes it very handy to connect to that cloud PC anywhere without having to worry about finding "safe" public wifi. Also everyone needs to get over the flippin headphone jack. They are going away. Maybe we should all get pissed because machines don't come with cd roms and 3.5 floppy disk drives as well.

  • KMSMista
    KMSMista 25 days ago

    what a piece of garbage. just get an ipad.

  • Machistmo
    Machistmo 25 days ago

    MS Hardware, RUN!

  • Tristan Quin
    Tristan Quin 26 days ago

    Still waiting on that surface laptop 3 review

  • Josue Gonzalez
    Josue Gonzalez 26 days ago +21

    For a second I thought Linus put on a cap, lost the 90’s boy band look and learned to grow facial hair.


    I was wrong.

  • Dick Cheney
    Dick Cheney 26 days ago

    A thread on a 9900k would laugh at that CPU.

  • gameflux
    gameflux 27 days ago

    No thank you !

  • Peter Parker
    Peter Parker 28 days ago

    Am glad I bought surface pro 7 i7 16GB 256GB, got different options for pens, keyboards and carry cases, why waste money on getting pro x which has so much less to offer? Less power less performance, lack of native x86 apps, just for battery life and LTE? What good is that gonna do?

  • Jens
    Jens 28 days ago +1

    Hey! He's not Linus!
    Sounds similar to Linus tho.
    But visual and texture feels different somehow...

  • Jish
    Jish 29 days ago

    I have to ask. Why bother with this thing? What reason (other than design) wouldn’t you just buy a pro 7?

  • Doubleyou
    Doubleyou Month ago

    Lets not forget Microsoft's first ARM based surface device.
    The one they abandoned pretty much months after releasing it to the public. Leaving users out of luck, with no support and MS refusing to release the keys to unlock them.

  • JST Inceptions
    JST Inceptions Month ago

    I remember Arm from the old Archimedes computer. Anyhow, really this is just a better Chromebook. Nice idea and useful to some but mostly pointless.

  • Manni L
    Manni L Month ago

    Wasn't Microsoft's original pitch for the surface to be able to do more than an iPad? Isn't this contradicting what they went by originally?

  • AshFlito
    AshFlito Month ago +8

    2019: look a new arm powered surface
    Me: *Laughs in RT*

  • The ABC Jug Band
    The ABC Jug Band Month ago

    No headphone jack. No proprietary ports. Poor upgrade options. Dongles. Keyboard is extra. Apple is doomed.
    Wait, this isn’t an iPad?

  • Hunter Stowe
    Hunter Stowe Month ago

    I hate tablet/laptops

  • Tanmay Gupta
    Tanmay Gupta Month ago

    about time tomake a reviw on the new hp spectre x 360