I THOUGHT I wanted this... - Razer Blade Pro 17 Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Nov 19, 2019
  • Complete your look and get 15% OFF at MVMT.COM/LTT
    Save 10% and Free Worldwide Shipping at Ridge Wallets by using offer code LINUS at www.ridge.com/LINUS
    Whoa! It's the FIRST gaming laptop with a 4K + 120Hz display! ... But if you can't play games at 4K 120Hz... what's the point?
    Buy Razer Blade Pro 17 (2019):
    On Amazon: geni.us/2RjAtZ8
    On Newegg: geni.us/A0xQwU
    On Razer: geni.us/MZ2wmtv
    Purchases made through some store links may provide some compensation to Linus Media Group.
    Discuss on the forum: linustechtips.com/main/topic/1125334-i-thought-i-wanted-this-razer-blade-pro-17-review/
    Our Affiliates, Referral Programs, and Sponsors: lmg.gg/sponsors
    Get a Displate Metal Print at lmg.gg/displateltt
    Get a 30-day free trial of Amazon Prime at lmg.gg/8KV1v
    Linus Tech Tips merchandise at www.LTTStore.com/
    Our Test Benches on Amazon: www.amazon.com/shop/linustechtips
    Our production gear: geni.us/cvOS
    Twitter - linustech
    Facebook - LinusTech
    Instagram - linustech
    Twitch - www.twitch.tv/linustech
    Intro Screen Music Credit:
    Title: Laszlo - Supernova
    Video Link: ruclip.com/video/PKfxmFU3lWY/video.html
    iTunes Download Link: itunes.apple.com/us/album/supernova/id936805712
    Artist Link: soundcloud.com/laszlomusic
    Outro Screen Music Credit: Approaching Nirvana - Sugar High ruclip.com/user/approachingnirvana
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 2 749

  • Jermaine Julien
    Jermaine Julien 13 hours ago

    i would buy a 1440p one, the one i have now is giving me issues its a alienware

  • Joey Keilholz
    Joey Keilholz 15 hours ago

    Razer doesn't seem to understand basic longevity or practicality

  • C O
    C O 15 hours ago

    Yeah, I knew this w as s not gonna work

  • Generic Jesus
    Generic Jesus 16 hours ago

    1440p solution: call 1440p super HD.

  • Michal Bielák
    Michal Bielák 17 hours ago

    Not only laptops... I mean, 1440p is great resolution ever for desktop monitors :)

  • Psycho Senpai
    Psycho Senpai Day ago

    This dude is never happy with ANYTHING!!!!!

  • Gabriel Fraser
    Gabriel Fraser 2 days ago

    Knowing Better did a good video on 4K, and while it's definitely possible to see the difference between 1080 and 4K, you definitely can't perceive the full difference, like you can between 720 and 1080 - somewhere between 1080 and 4K is a point where the screen has more pixels than your eyes have light receptors. Even under absolutely ideal conditions, once you go above that level of resolution, your eyes can no longer tell any difference.

  • Ian Maddox
    Ian Maddox 2 days ago

    Can you run it in a single-cable clean build through Thunderbolt?

  • TheSublimeIbanez
    TheSublimeIbanez 3 days ago

    But... Lenovo D:

  • lex Tr3
    lex Tr3 3 days ago

    16:10 with perfect glossy 120hz 10bit oled without crappy touchscreen... not the crappy oled like the one on thinkpad p1

  • Abir Dominguez
    Abir Dominguez 3 days ago

    Nice movie at the beginning 5 out of 5 would see again

  • Charles Alden
    Charles Alden 3 days ago

    I hate the number pad, so much so that I refuse to own a laptop that has them. I can't think of a single usage for creators or gamers. If I was working with Excel, imputing in numbers all day, sure, it's a valuable accessory, even than though, I would rather plug in a full size mechanical keyboard.

  • Ham Ham
    Ham Ham 4 days ago

    the segway is not good😂

  • cheng cheng
    cheng cheng 5 days ago

    For a 3D designer like me(using C4D, Octane Render, Substance Painter and so on), this is a perfect laptop for me and other GPU render users. the 4K resolution is extremely useful for those software, now I use a 1080p 17 inch Razer Blade Pro, 1080p is really not enough. And for the most of the 3D designer, they prefer gaming laptop over the new studio edition.

  • Impala Productions
    Impala Productions 5 days ago

    Shouts out to you Linus for raising that 1440p point!!!

  • Jayson's Rage
    Jayson's Rage 6 days ago

    I have been searching for SO FUCKING LONG for a good 1440p gaming laptop. So frustrating.

  • Jamie B
    Jamie B 6 days ago

    1440p now laptop makers!!!!

  • Luka
    Luka 6 days ago

    768p team whadup

  • Izaya Bleckworthy
    Izaya Bleckworthy 6 days ago

    4K in a laptop is ridiculous. The screens are just too small. 1440p @144hz is the way to go for laptops, even in the future. It's just the perfect spot to be. If you're a producer and need more screen real estate, it's not like you'll be able to utilize 4K on the laptop screen anyways, it will be too hard to read fine text at full 4K.

    On another topic, I cannot fathom why the speakers on this thing were put where they were. Why doesn't anyone put speakers in an empty place that doesn't hinder anything else? What's up with the tiny claustrophobic keyboard?

  • Sk1ppeR
    Sk1ppeR 6 days ago

    I prefer 1080p compared to 1440p to be honest. It makes no sense to take the performance hit in esport titles, especially nowadays with the pricing of GPUs that could actually drive 200+ frames at 1440p. Miss me with 60fps @ 1440p.

  • Marc Rover
    Marc Rover 7 days ago

    I just bought new pc and monitor, and I went with 1440p / 144hz monitor. It just makes the most sense (for most gamers.)
    There are only two scenarios in which I would buy a 4k monitor:
    1.) I had a PC that was a MONSTER. (1200$ worth of GPUs.)
    2.) I only play slow moving games like LoL, Hearthstone, WoW, and and other games where I'd be totally happy at 60hz/FPS.
    Btw, If anyone reads this, I'd HIGHLY RECOMMEND my monitor. 32', 1440p, 144hz, 299$. AOC32.

  • Nitrous Oxide
    Nitrous Oxide 7 days ago +1

    What are you talking about homeboy i can tell the difference between resolutions on my phone just fine and thats wayy smaller than a laptop screen. Saying screens are too small to tell or human eye isnt good enough to tell is getting old now. Your just blind and dumb as fuck

  • EV3 master
    EV3 master 7 days ago +1

    What about razer blade studio edition ?

  • Miljan Kostadinovic
    Miljan Kostadinovic 7 days ago

    Am I the only one who uses left shift key exclusively?

  • jonathan coutinho
    jonathan coutinho 8 days ago

    6:34 nice moves young padawan

  • Kenzie Alexander
    Kenzie Alexander 8 days ago

    This laptop honestly seems like it’s ideal for content producers working in a small space and/or constantly traveling.

  • sampsalol
    sampsalol 8 days ago

    Who the fuck even watches movies on their laptop? It's about as enjoyable as a cactus up the ass.

  • Legend Builder
    Legend Builder 8 days ago

    If someone is wanting to go to a uk amazon page then click here amzn.to/2Dy70hS
    This is for a Razer Blade Pro 17 RTX: 144Hz Full HD Thin Bezel - 9th Gen Intel Core i7-9750H 6 Core - NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2080 Max-Q - 16GB RAM - 512GB SSD - Windows 10 - CNC Aluminum

  • Julien Lauzon
    Julien Lauzon 8 days ago +1

    1:21 thats weird cuz watching video on my 4k phone look extraordianry better than 1080p .. that human eye thing was a joke maybe .. damn haha

  • Mr Thug
    Mr Thug 9 days ago +2

    4:17 i did't buy the blade 15 because of the arrow key. went for the dell xps 15 instead

  • Reeasons
    Reeasons 9 days ago +2

    Razer is like the macbooks of gaming laptops. Overly expensive because of the brand

  • Sanitystreak
    Sanitystreak 9 days ago

    Who wants a numberpad though?

  • C Flux
    C Flux 9 days ago

    Just like the ouya

  • Jelly
    Jelly 9 days ago

    Mervel movies are not cinema

  • Tacos4L1fe
    Tacos4L1fe 10 days ago +1

    Razer: The performance and everything is great!
    Customer: How’s battery life?
    Razer: well...um... well these components last... well... uh

  • Slip Och
    Slip Och 10 days ago

    meh, not even 100% argb, I'd get the pro-duo with the 100% DCI-P3 display for pro graphics

  • Nao Interessa
    Nao Interessa 10 days ago

    FHD isn't default in laptop, it's dumb to see plenty of HD laptops all over the place.

  • Antoine Artillan
    Antoine Artillan 10 days ago

    Personally I'd much rather have full size arrow keys than a ridiculously wide right shift key that I never use ^^'

  • Figue
    Figue 10 days ago

    You should review the wireless razer earbuds

  • Keith O
    Keith O 10 days ago

    TBH I never use the right-side shift. Not an issue for me hah

  • Crazy Acorn
    Crazy Acorn 11 days ago +1

    Couldn't help but laugh at the ad placement

  • Guanjyn
    Guanjyn 11 days ago

    You think you do...

  • Ullas Hyper
    Ullas Hyper 12 days ago

  • Ullas Hyper
    Ullas Hyper 12 days ago

    I would love to get this type of laptop for free for my college studies help pls

  • Roman2K
    Roman2K 12 days ago

    Can confirm 1440p is a sweet spot at 17" (loving the LG Gram 17)

  • 5abivt
    5abivt 12 days ago

    Omg thank you. Been crying about this for years. Give me 1440p 120 or 240 all day

  • G1MMEDATDOME
    G1MMEDATDOME 12 days ago

    I mean marvel movies AREN'T cinema, so...

  • Life Doggy
    Life Doggy 12 days ago

    Does it have a camera

  • Greg Van Hulle
    Greg Van Hulle 12 days ago

    ugh, it's not purely the ability to see individual pixels to see a difference.

  • Fauxsyn
    Fauxsyn 12 days ago

    Once I saw a movie on bluray, I couldn't go back to DVD ever again. It's sort of like the transition from VHS to DVD.
    1440p is (unfortunately) like the ugly duckling that nobody cares about.

  • Ed
    Ed 12 days ago

    Problem is that other people are eating the 4K propaganda, having phones and laptops with 4K display are an oxymoron (at least for gaming)when combined with their relatively small batteries to keep a slim chasis.

  • Adam Milikin
    Adam Milikin 12 days ago

    You had me until you got to the end sponsor. Fuck MVMT.

  • I Go My
    I Go My 12 days ago

    1080p for 3000USD??? They are crazy!
    "Build quality is same as before..." => it will break i less than 6 m.
    AVOID at ALL costs.

  • Yap Kenneth
    Yap Kenneth 12 days ago

    MVMT: We’re a huge watch accessory company and we’d like you to do a watch ad for us for some money
    Linus: Sure!
    Also Linus: does not wear a watch on either wrist.

  • ƒireman
    ƒireman 12 days ago

    The intro was cool until you I saw Linus XD

  • Dragan Trajkovski
    Dragan Trajkovski 12 days ago

    I love this channel and the community here.

  • Boozebeard
    Boozebeard 12 days ago

    I don't really understand how 4k somehow makes anymore sense for "real work". And I'm saying this as a professional 3D artist who owns the Razer Blade 15. I mean you even say I'm the video 17" inches is simply too small for that pixel density to be relevant. You're just gonna end up having to use extremely high scaling option to make UI's usable.

  • Enkhe Bathsaihan
    Enkhe Bathsaihan 12 days ago

    Just trow your old one to me will you!? I could literally turn my life around with one of those you know ..

  • Jose Gutierrez
    Jose Gutierrez 12 days ago

    I fell out of my chair when he said it was $3700.

  • Matthew Haines
    Matthew Haines 12 days ago +1

    You kinda forget how much time and editing goes into this even the different rooms that are being filmed in