Tesla Model 3 in-depth review - see why it’s the best electric car in the world!

Share
Embed
  • Published on Mar 22, 2019
  • Introducing the new Tesla Model 3! With a starting price of around $35,000, it’s relatively cheap alternative to the more established Model S. But don’t let the price deceive you - the Model 3 still comes in with just as much high quality tech and styling as you’ll find in its older brother! So is Tesla cutting corners elsewhere to allow you to buy the Model 3 at such a price? Join Mat for his latest in-depth review to find out!
    Instagram - instagram.com/carwowcars
    Facebook - facebook.com/carwowuk/
    Twitter - twitter.com/carwowuk
    Refer A Friend - www.carwow.co.uk/share
    Awkward haggling is a thing of the past with carwow. Choose your perfect car with our configurator tool and let the country’s best dealers compete over you. Compare the five best offers by price, location and dealer ratings and choose the one that’s right for you - no hassle, no haggling, just a great deal.
    Visit our site to save money on your new car - bit.ly/carwow-UK
    Oder auch in Deutschland Geld beim Autokauf sparen - bit.ly/carwow-DE
  • Autos & VehiclesAutos & Vehicles

Comments • 4 491

  • 8 bit Gangster
    8 bit Gangster Day ago

    Anyone else notice the headliner material separating?

  • Backyard Pioneer

    have a Model 3 long range all wheel drive and it is by far the best vehicle I have ever driven! It And yes I too woke up to it being even better, faster and smarter once again last week! It is several levels of magnitude better than any other car i have ever been in. It has exceeded my expectations and even surprised me on several fronts. For example I had a false belief that it might be inconvenient to charge a car instead of stopping and getting gas at a "convenience" store. It is the opposite. It's so easy, saves me time, keeps me from spilling stinking, toxic gasoline on my clothes and hands and I am taking money away from an industry that is pushing it's costs off on the health care industry. I installed a solar array before I purchased the car and also installed a 240 volt outlet. It is so much easier and literally takes 5 seconds for 98 percent of my charges. The super charging network is also very good and the V3 super charger is going to once again change everything forever!!!

  • Garv Banerji
    Garv Banerji Day ago

    Teslas are Teslas, Toyotas and others are NORMAL cars.

  • aviator2492
    aviator2492 Day ago

    Looks boring af. Ugly.
    It’s just a robot.
    The roadster coming out is going to be a faster soulless robot.

  • Screen Patch
    Screen Patch 2 days ago

    More british accent at 8:13

  • Roy Vetaas
    Roy Vetaas 2 days ago

    Cool. I have a OnePlus phone and has just ordered a M3. If the shoe fits.... :-)

  • zanvoy
    zanvoy 2 days ago

    The way you interface with the car is a deal breaker for me. Whatever happened to physical buttons? I understand wanting a screen to increase functionality. But things like AC and music that you mess with multiple times a trip should absolutely have dedicated buttons.

  • bradley booth
    bradley booth 2 days ago

    But what happens if the screen is cracked or broken?

  • Justin Demmers
    Justin Demmers 2 days ago

    Nice review. Personally i don’t like (and thats the only thing) the front of the car. It looks like a duck somehow.

  • Julius Hahn
    Julius Hahn 2 days ago

    THE FART FUNCTION!! LOL TROLL
    I'm sold.

  • elliott wadsworth
    elliott wadsworth 3 days ago

    I feel the verdict at the end was not helpful. Clearly it’s the best electric car but I really want to know is can it compete with the M3 and C63 AMG etc.

  • Samurai Shampoo
    Samurai Shampoo 3 days ago

    I am conflicted. On one hand, I love the fart noises. On the other, the water falling into the trunk is a serious design issue. I also dislike the lack of buttons, as I feel that having a mechanical memory tied with tactial feel is important for driving vehicles. I feel Tesla could do more to make cabin comfort better now that they've nailed down the novelty features. Really looking forward to:
    - more buttons (particularly for glovebox, headlights, steering wheel convenience, etc)
    - fix trunk issue
    - less reliance on the single large display (give driver hud or small screen for quick info, speedometer, temps, charge,etc)
    - spare tire or tire inflator kit (ffs you'd think it would come with one at that price)
    - vehicle protection (paint film, hydrophobic coating treatment, rear bumper protector, floor mats)
    - window shades (yes they lower aerodynamics, but I do love my fresh air from the window)
    And for fun
    - built-in ota antenna for watching local tv. Always been a curiousity of mine with all our cars that have screens now.

  • Dovonni H
    Dovonni H 3 days ago

    “75 kw battery that’s good for” I heard fringe. What did he actually say?

  • Garv Banerji
    Garv Banerji 3 days ago

    The only downside to getting the 35000 Tesla Model 3 is that you have to call Tesla instead of ordering it.

  • Ron Peel
    Ron Peel 4 days ago

    Do you know that the word 'fart' is an obscenity?

  • RogueGhost OracleGamer

    The only problem I have with it is......I hate how all the controls are on the center touch screen. Nice looking car though. Love the mounted charger feature. Cool feature with the button door opener. I'm 6'2 so is it roomy for the driver?

  • greek Boy
    greek Boy 4 days ago

    what is the app name?

  • Jimmy Is cool
    Jimmy Is cool 4 days ago

    My mom is getting a Tesla model 3 and I am so excited because we are picking it up tommorow but nobody is gonna care but I just wanted to do a weird flex but ok

  • Cepha
    Cepha 4 days ago +1

    $35,000 in pounds is £27,000. If it was that price in the UK, it would be the best selling car

  • Nick Howard
    Nick Howard 4 days ago

    so much bad design, no physical buttons for lights or ac, water just dumps into the trunk... wtf are people on about, this car is as useless as Farnsworth house

  • Nick Howard
    Nick Howard 4 days ago

    I just can't get over the fact they just stuck an iPad on the dash. There's minimal design and then there's no design. that with the horrible reliability is why this car is a hard pass for conscious consumers.

  • Ranger Man
    Ranger Man 4 days ago

    £50k .... fuck that !!! Il stick to my diesel. If the government wants us to switch, they better start working on subsidising them because normal working class people like me are priced out of the electric market.

  • MrJabez89
    MrJabez89 4 days ago +2

    I would hate having to use an app or the touch screen for everything

    • Miguel Hernandez
      Miguel Hernandez Day ago

      Well buy a BMW. But it's also has voice command so you don't need buttons.

  • Talequah
    Talequah 4 days ago +1

    For those wondering about the auto pilot: his car wasn’t faulty, autopilot can go at most 15 minutes with no driver input. Then it will begin to disengage autopilot after warning you to keep your hands on the wheel. The 3 minutes he experienced in the video was completely normal. (P.S. yes I know his car is European and it might be different there however I’m guessing that was the problem. I can say for certainty that the car will not go on forever with 0 driver input... for now at least)

  • Moslem Hamzehnejadi
    Moslem Hamzehnejadi 4 days ago

    Aw best review for a car like always!

  • Shaggy2222
    Shaggy2222 5 days ago

    I like tesla, but its stupid, i cant touch my phone, but i can control my car from an ipad, seems stupid

  • F Ch
    F Ch 5 days ago

    And the screen distracting me to keep my eyes on the road by the way I'm not against this car

  • F Ch
    F Ch 5 days ago

    What if my son getmy phone 📱

  • Chase Cook
    Chase Cook 5 days ago

    The Tesla spat a bag out at 12:52

  • Juju N
    Juju N 5 days ago

    I cant wait to get my 3 n3xt year!

  • Snake
    Snake 5 days ago

    the phone key completely turned me away. I mean do you have any idea how many phones are stolen on a daily bases. Now imagine you have this car as well. Not only do you not have a phone but if the person finds your car well i'm sure that will be gone as well. Idk very very bizarre choice. Especially with how good some people are with tech i mean shit they might be able to hack into the car itself and unlock it through their phone.

  • Mkplayz
    Mkplayz 5 days ago +1

    Next thing Tesla is going to do is remove the steering wheel and put it on the screen

  • Asif Khan
    Asif Khan 5 days ago

    this guy's a great test reviewer

  • KmanAust
    KmanAust 5 days ago

    Is it just me or are the gaps all wrong all over the place?

  • TwistedOracle
    TwistedOracle 6 days ago

    I really love this car. So minimalists and sleek.

  • TwistedOracle
    TwistedOracle 6 days ago

    Hopefully, my next car! Love Tesla.

  • Gerry Crisostomo
    Gerry Crisostomo 6 days ago

    Not just the best electric car, but the best car weather electric or fossil fueled.

  • Fiona Doherty
    Fiona Doherty 6 days ago

    for the charger in the front do they have apple plugs as well???

  • jorehir
    jorehir 6 days ago

    That steering wheel is the ugliest ever conceived by human kind. Aside from that, the car is a winner.

  • Redlineshadow29
    Redlineshadow29 6 days ago

    Try to do a Drag race up against some hot hatch or car of that 0-60 range

  • Bill Holzhueter
    Bill Holzhueter 6 days ago

    Spotify?!

  • Maryrose Bautista
    Maryrose Bautista 6 days ago

    Wow

  • mitford
    mitford 6 days ago

    that is fugly

  • Alex
    Alex 6 days ago

    NEVER HAVE I WANTED A TESLA MORE.

  • TNT Hk The boss
    TNT Hk The boss 6 days ago

    0:30

  • Demi Howey
    Demi Howey 6 days ago

    What is wrong with Europe, it’s so boring it’s too strict! I live in Britain and everything is strict and America have their own rules with the Tesla and can just sit and chill while the car takes them where they need to be but over here in Britain we can’t have that cause they won’t allow it 🤦🏼‍♀️

  • AK Media
    AK Media 6 days ago +7

    This bloke is a great presenter

  • Paul Yue
    Paul Yue 7 days ago

    n

  • Olivia Anderson
    Olivia Anderson 7 days ago

    Things are easier said than done,but contact this pro hacker via WhatsApp: +1(518)6770411,email: [email protected] com,instagram id: lordjhacks,and thank me later. He can help you get verified on instagram and that can only be a good thing for you, if you're an upcoming star in showbiz. He helped me recover my disabled instagram account and I'm sure he's done a lotta other successful instagram hacks as I'm a testament of his hacking skills,he is tested and reliable. He's very efficient with jobs and I'm very grateful to him. Contact now.

  • Jackson Scott
    Jackson Scott 7 days ago

    aside from the screen, the tesla interior looks so cheap compared to other entry level luxury vehicles.

  • Ben Balman
    Ben Balman 7 days ago

    Jeez the water dripping into the trunk is a huge surprise

  • justdojt
    justdojt 7 days ago

    Americans are having diesel truck drag races and they sell us europeans their electric cars for double the price..we really are sadist. Sad.

  • Drmcx
    Drmcx 7 days ago

    That interior is inexcusable. The rest is quite cool.

  • Nomad129
    Nomad129 7 days ago

    I want this so that people can laugh at me when Europe wide Green Hydrogen stations are deployed on every forecourt in the next 5 years. I want too own the Betamax video of the ca4 world.

  • pxidr
    pxidr 7 days ago +5

    11:57 "Emissions testing mode"
    A joke that VW will never fit in the infotainement of their cars ;)

  • Fadi Abo
    Fadi Abo 8 days ago +1

    Awesome review/video and amazing car! Can't wait to get mine

  • Bud Wzr
    Bud Wzr 8 days ago

    I can only laugh at first gen buyers. You gonna be quickly is legacy tech. Next Gen Tesla will come from China.

  • chuckdeyindia
    chuckdeyindia 8 days ago

    16:36

  • furiouspenguin
    furiouspenguin 8 days ago

    That BX at 17:04 😍

  • Matias Falckenheiner

    Best car review on youtube no doubt

  • Evan Bertrand
    Evan Bertrand 8 days ago +1

    If you are planning to get a Tesla model S, 3 or X use my referral code to get 1500km of free supercharging. The following link will take you to Tesla's website to start an order for a model S, 3 or X. Here it is: ts.la/evan4403 or you can just save my code for later evan4403

  • J0RAKU
    J0RAKU 8 days ago

    Mat, brilliant review as always!

  • Dr. Steffen Winkelmann
    Dr. Steffen Winkelmann 9 days ago +10

    ...Great Test, I just ordered a Black Model 3 Performance, Greetings from Germany

    • KikoMickey64
      KikoMickey64 5 days ago

      Congrats my dude. Have fun when u get it

  • Shardool Parashar
    Shardool Parashar 9 days ago

    What the fuck was that??? Farting function😂😂😂 what are you doing elon😆😂😂

  • oli tesla
    oli tesla 9 days ago

    Mat, you’ve come so far, I used to watch you at 700K

  • K Wilson
    K Wilson 9 days ago

    Thank you for this review. I'll be buying a model 3 performance when it is time for a new car.

  • Zadeel dotcom
    Zadeel dotcom 9 days ago

    50 grand in the uk...this needs to be on the 30k mark...

  • Neil Winstanley
    Neil Winstanley 9 days ago

    Great review Matt and yes I paid my reservation fee

  • Lemar Griffiths Garcia

    Hey can do the Peugeot traveller please

  • J. Smart
    J. Smart 9 days ago

    Wonderful review

  • J. Smart
    J. Smart 9 days ago

    Japanese people would love the minimalism in this car.

  • danI43541
    danI43541 9 days ago

    The tech is good and all and it’s fancy but having a huge center screen and no display in front of the driver is very distracting. Many complain about normal touch screens being distracting but the Tesla ones are always amazing :D I mean they might be but as distracting as in a A6 or Golf. If not even more
    And personally, I’d find it a bit boring not to have a sound while driving. That’s just personal preference but the tech and the features are really good

  • Yago Vazquez
    Yago Vazquez 9 days ago

    I would like to see a Seat Tarraco review, it is a good 7 seater!

  • Bing Chu
    Bing Chu 9 days ago +1

    Is 20 mins really necessary to review a car? Could have done it in 10 mins.

    • Bing Chu
      Bing Chu 9 days ago +1

      +Atropos148 My review: Tesla Model 3 is a good car, economical and stylish. There did it in one sentence and takes just a couple of seconds to read.

    • Atropos148
      Atropos148 9 days ago

      Prove it, make a 10 minute review of Tesla Model 3

  • FlightX101
    FlightX101 9 days ago

    Drove my friends model 3 yesterday. Now I am forever spoiled lol.

  • Rohit Pant
    Rohit Pant 9 days ago

    Just a technical point if you have to stop car from heating but you have all glass roof they should be using IR coating plus UV coating. IR coating is used for blocking heat.

  • Thomas Diagon
    Thomas Diagon 9 days ago +1

    Imagine, you’re driving it in the raining and just saw a lightning.

  • Evan Hung
    Evan Hung 9 days ago

    Tesla still has build quality issues but no one will be able to compete with them once the full self driving is released.

  • Raw2929 Will
    Raw2929 Will 10 days ago +1

    Like it r not it better than a bmw 3 series trust me people don't Believe me go get a drive

  • Raw2929 Will
    Raw2929 Will 10 days ago +1

    It a Electric car that enuff for me to like I don't have to live at a dealer to fix a lot of crap like gas car

  • HAL 9000
    HAL 9000 10 days ago +1

    Why not just skip the middle man and pour coal into it?

  • ZeHoSmusician
    ZeHoSmusician 10 days ago +1

    Rear-motor only Model 3 is now available in select European countries, price starts at ~40k euros...

  • xSayPleasex
    xSayPleasex 10 days ago

    Can someone knowledgeable with the Model 3 explain how the "long-range" and "performance" models each have the same max range and the same curb weight but the performance model is 1.2 sec faster in 0-60? I honestly don't understand how it being so much faster doesn't effect the other 2.. thanks!

  • infamous_
    infamous_ 10 days ago

    1-6 minutes: hmm not interested
    6-11 minutes : meeh still not interested in the car
    12 minutes: the car have a whoopee cushion mode .......“starts searching for the nearest tesla sellers in town”

  • Abubakar r
    Abubakar r 10 days ago

    love from #PAKISTAN

  • gaiozi1
    gaiozi1 10 days ago

    this car has cool features not practical. Trunk gets wet there is not good view because of pillar, no dashboard, rear armrest has open cupholders and not sliding out ones with supporters, rear windows aren't going full down, I didn't noticed any spare tire, if monitor get damaged you cant access headlights and any other necessary things.
    (front end doesn't have grill, I want to know from where the horn sound come?)
    Car is not practical at all. It needs to be more common and practical as any 10 years old or younger car.
    I will buy if it will be as practical as my petrol BMW with more power and ZERO emission. or should I wait all electric BMW :)

  • V D
    V D 10 days ago

    The rear seat thigh support or rather the lack of it and the inadequate drainage system at the rear boot upper section as seen in this video are appalling.
    Guess these issues will be taken care of by the time the TESLA MODEL 5 comes 😝.
    As usual Very informative video though. 👍

  • Iggy4470
    Iggy4470 11 days ago

    Cons £50K when the USA is paying half that, its way too expensive, feels like we are being ripped off again, it takes to long to charge at home who can wait 1.5 days to use their car nobody that's who. Nissan leaf maybe not the same spec but its a lot cheaper and has a really good range. only one colour or you pay more what's that all about oh yea rip off Britain again. Elon Musk say no more Pros like the battery range love all the gadgets and its a Tesla

  • Awais Yousaf
    Awais Yousaf 11 days ago

    Sir, bring the Volvo car reviews

  • Bonzo Bonzai
    Bonzo Bonzai 11 days ago

    so, if ur phone is dead, so are your dogs :o

  • Dirty44harry1
    Dirty44harry1 11 days ago +1

    Everything is done on screen which takes longer than knobs and dials

  • Frank Zipper
    Frank Zipper 11 days ago

    11-04-19 Tesla to remove the Standard Range option for the Model 3 from the online configurator electrek.co/2019/04/11/telsa-35000-model-3/

  • Kuncen RIG
    Kuncen RIG 11 days ago +1

    Car is awesome. But matt of carwow reviewing it? Perfecto

  • Dayu Zhang
    Dayu Zhang 11 days ago

    测试0-100的app叫啥?

  • Dayu Zhang
    Dayu Zhang 11 days ago

    what's that app to text 0-100km/h?

  • ollierkul
    ollierkul 11 days ago

    This is an all-round great review, well done

  • Otto Arya
    Otto Arya 11 days ago

    $50k Fart Machine

  • Goodsondy Gauthier
    Goodsondy Gauthier 11 days ago

    im gonna get the model S

  • Michael McGrath
    Michael McGrath 11 days ago

    Great video, great product. Crap delivery system.
    I reserved a model 3 over three years ago, on the first day (night in Europe). When they became available to configure in Europe I jumped on, configured and paid my holding deposit. I clearly said I would not be in France until the beginning of May, but was willing to pay and have the car either delivered or stored until my arrival.
    Disappointingly Tesla decided to sell my car to another buyer rather than keep it for me. Now they say they cannot provide my car until late May. Apparently the boats with new cars have not even left the USA yet.
    As I only spend 6 months of the year in Europe I will probably not bother buying the car now. I have reserved a right hand drive M3 for Australia, but am now losing faith in the whole Tesla brand due to their shabby treatment.
    Not a happy boy.

  • Matthew Smith
    Matthew Smith 11 days ago

    Why is it going to be £20k more expensive than the US price?!?!?!?!?!