The Night Is Short, Walk On Girl - Movie Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Aug 23, 2018
  • Patreon: www.patreon.com/ChrisStuckmann
    Intro Music By: Vincent Siciliano
    Chris Stuckmann reviews The Night Is Short, Walk On Girl, starring Gen Hoshino, Kana Hanazawa, Hiroshi Kamiya. Directed by Masaaki Yuasa.
  • EntertainmentEntertainment

Comments • 678

  • Joachim Lothrik
    Joachim Lothrik Day ago

    I was thinking about Wes Anderson watching this!

  • Greyleaf
    Greyleaf 25 days ago

    I'm surprised people are watching this film without having seen The Tatami Galaxy first. Almost every joke in Night is Short is a direct reference to the series. To be honest, I would've thought the movie was a complete mess without any context. xD

  • Alepap
    Alepap 2 months ago

    You definitely need to watch Tatami Galaxy, there are many links and references and in my opinion it's better than this movie.

  • EnXgMa _
    EnXgMa _ 3 months ago

    ohhh that intro ,':)

  • Choblee
    Choblee 3 months ago

    Felt like watching a movie and saw that this was playing. Didn't know anything about it or the director before I saw it. It was a ride

  • Carl Leach
    Carl Leach 4 months ago

    Their names aren't "Otome" and "Senpai", Otome just means girl and Senpai is a title for someone older or of superior ranking

  • Victor P.
    Victor P. 4 months ago

    Bought it on blu-ray, don't bother showing this to family or kids, they'll fall asleep from speed reading subtitles because there's no English dub(not surprising there isn't one for a film like this though). I felt like the length of the movie was a bit too long 93 mins, especially for having a non-conventional story, it could of shaved off 10-15 mins and been fine. Some scenes, like the theater singing and the senpai talking to himselves in the auditorium was dragged on for so long.

  • Wheresmyeyebrow
    Wheresmyeyebrow 7 months ago

    I love the title just as much as the movie

  • DBS MGMT
    DBS MGMT 7 months ago

    Thanks for the great review. BTW why isn't this included in the anime playlist?

  • Hirako
    Hirako 7 months ago

    Yuasa is GOAT
    tatami galaxy, ping pong, kaiba

  • Sergio Soto Leiva
    Sergio Soto Leiva 7 months ago

    Actually 'Otome' means 'lady' and Senpai is a term to refer to someone who's older than you in a respectful way, the director doesn't like to name his characters, just as in Tatami Galaxy, the main character is named Watashi which means "Myself'.

  • This Is A Great Name
    This Is A Great Name 8 months ago

    Guys this movie is AMAZING and UNIQUE please go and watch it!!😍

  • Epitome
    Epitome 8 months ago

    Watch the film high, thank me later

  • Frank Sidebottom
    Frank Sidebottom 8 months ago

    The film is based on the novel of the same name written by Tomihiko Morimi. I've read the novel and it is great too. I've heard other novels written by Tomihiko are great too.

  • Kyron Harris
    Kyron Harris 8 months ago

    Review My Hero Academia: Two Heros

  • Gallows Pole
    Gallows Pole 8 months ago

    What is it with this man and great t-shirts?

  • Crono Sapien
    Crono Sapien 8 months ago

    Hmm~...this movie looks very surreal and interesting. Definitely an instant watch from me!

  • GodsSon987
    GodsSon987 8 months ago

    Have you reviewed Gintama yet? If not, I'd like to hear your thoughts on it

  • Chris Galarza
    Chris Galarza 8 months ago

    Time to get cuckmanized

  • JLT Yes
    JLT Yes 9 months ago

    Groping boobs and getting punched for it, is HILARIOUS!

  • DaN.g
    DaN.g 9 months ago

    Review the tatami galaxy!!

  • Of the Noseworthy Clan
    Of the Noseworthy Clan 9 months ago

    “A man named senpai” lmao

  • Cool Cat Studios
    Cool Cat Studios 9 months ago

    I thought this would be an interesting movie to watch, but I really didn't like it. In fact, it got so weird and annoying that I literally walked out near the end.

  • Aoba Suzukaze
    Aoba Suzukaze 9 months ago

    Looking at the seiyuus...
    oh wow this is a star studded cast

  • Theo Buniel
    Theo Buniel 9 months ago

    Everyone's suggesting Devilman Crybaby here, how about The Tatami Galaxy? It's made by the same guy, and it's just as remarkable.

  • paladin paterson
    paladin paterson 9 months ago

    Hey Chris! I've been a big fan for about a year now and I'm really happy that you're reviewing these lesser known movies that barely make it to the states. To be honest, The Night Is Short was a movie I was surprised made it to any cinemas in the US. It's definitely a movie that affected the way I've seen romance movies. There's an anime series that Yuasa also made which is based in the same world as this movie. It's a 12 episode series called Tatami Galaxy. I won't spoil anything but it's a gem that deserves a lot of credit. I believe it's available on Crunchy Roll. I'd love to hear your thoughts about it. Anyway, that's for keeping us away from terrible movies!

  • Alla Maz
    Alla Maz 9 months ago

    The Tatamy Galaxy is an actual masterpiece

  • Hrenopochta Jh
    Hrenopochta Jh 9 months ago

    Have you read any of Haruki Murakami's books ? I've been a fan of anime for a long time, but there's only so much of them, and then I discovered Murakami's books and oh my god, they're good! Wild sheep chase, Hard-boiled wonderland, and really all of them. they're weird, deep, captivating.. I think every anime fan would enjoy them..

  • Psyco Candy
    Psyco Candy 9 months ago

    It was a really interesting film
    I like the way the night was long and never ending
    It made me feel as though I could do more with my time and be more prone to explore the city at night

  • prodeepan pal
    prodeepan pal 9 months ago

    watch tatami galaxy ! its in the same universe as this movie. and perhaps even better than this.

  • Tania Amador
    Tania Amador 9 months ago

    Just caught it tonight! You’re absolutely right - it’s entirely arresting

  • Raynal Payuk
    Raynal Payuk 9 months ago +1

    Really? Nobody recommending Ping Pong The Animation by Masaki Yuaasa? That kinda little bit dissapointing :)

  • Darwin Santana
    Darwin Santana 9 months ago

    Please watch tatami galaxy

  • GTFO
    GTFO 9 months ago

    The real question: Did Chris watch Jojos Bizarre Adventure?

  • Haris Nasir
    Haris Nasir 9 months ago

    Do sword of the stranger anime review please

  • Mr. Nx
    Mr. Nx 9 months ago +1

    Chris, you should review Dragon Super once the dub is over.

  • GG Dat Boi
    GG Dat Boi 9 months ago

    Saw it in theatres. The sound track was amazing and that last musical had some hilarious humor. Not s single boring moment visually. Would watch it again in theatres if I could

  • killerqueen2000
    killerqueen2000 9 months ago

    Watch Tatami galaxy and Ping pong, the other Yuasa great works

  • Sean Koontz
    Sean Koontz 9 months ago

    Ranuyasha ur probably right

  • Captain Crunch
    Captain Crunch 9 months ago +1

    Can you review The Humchback of Notre Dame? I just listened to Hellfire and got chills, and I’m curious about how you fell about it.

  • Koloshow
    Koloshow 9 months ago

    Wonderful film, have not seen anything like it before. Had me smiling throughout!

  • Leo Aujero
    Leo Aujero 9 months ago

    I wanna see this so bad ahhhhhhh

  • Anna K
    Anna K 9 months ago

    god i love this director, both tatami galaxy and ping pong are probably my favorite series of all time, not just in anime, and his movies are good too

  • Takeshi Yanagita
    Takeshi Yanagita 9 months ago

    I absolutely love Tatami Galaxy. But this movie wasn't as good. Its pretty and well acted but didn't have the same charm to offset the weridness as tatami galaxy had.

  • むらなか
    むらなか 9 months ago

    日本語は表現のバリエーションが多すぎるから外国語に訳せてない所が多かったし、日本人じゃないと楽しみにくいかもね。この作品を全て理解するには日本語10年は勉強しないと無理かもね

  • asdfgh123
    asdfgh123 9 months ago

    The into. wow

  • avayeh vasch
    avayeh vasch 9 months ago

    chris watch the berserk trilogy, or the older version(1997).

  • Kakashi - Leonhart
    Kakashi - Leonhart 9 months ago

    good review, I might get this on blu-ray

  • Corbin and me
    Corbin and me 9 months ago

    A man named senpai...

  • wanderingslacker
    wanderingslacker 9 months ago

    This was an extremely interesting film. I loved the traveling musical arc/subplot. The third act looked like it was partially inspired by Paprika, another one of my favorite anime films.

  • Elliott Dean
    Elliott Dean 9 months ago

    Nice intro!

  • Obara
    Obara 9 months ago

    Hope there's a Toronto screening. Masaaki Yuasa is always a delight to see.

  • Ramón Machado
    Ramón Machado 9 months ago +1

    683rd

  • GAMING INC.
    GAMING INC. 9 months ago

    I JUST LOVE THE INTRO!

  • Pirate Style Jutsu
    Pirate Style Jutsu 9 months ago

    GROPING WOMEN WILL NEVER GET OLD!

  • Princess Jello
    Princess Jello 9 months ago

    I would say the experience was similar to a game of taboo while having a good acid trip.
    And the whole subconsious scene was A+ for me.

  • Nicolai Marquez
    Nicolai Marquez 9 months ago

    Man, you should definitely review some of the other Yuasa's works, especially The Tatami Galaxy, which is basically the Parent Story for this movie. I think is on Crunchyroll :)

  • Ellipsis10
    Ellipsis10 9 months ago

    cool, i'll check it out

  • Dooby Mcdabby
    Dooby Mcdabby 9 months ago

    I've been dying to see this but can't find it anywhere

  • Miles Trombley
    Miles Trombley 9 months ago

    He also did Devilman Crybaby.

  • Malte Schuster
    Malte Schuster 9 months ago

    Where is the attack on Titan review, Chris? WHERE IS IT?!

  • Debbi Morris
    Debbi Morris 9 months ago

    Very nice review Chris this would be a movie to go see for sure.

  • Projit Deb
    Projit Deb 9 months ago

    That intro was lit !

  • Tom Servo
    Tom Servo 9 months ago

    Just got back from watching it in an empty theater. They gave me a shot glass for some reason.

  • Brandon
    Brandon 9 months ago

    I swear I love ya Chris but the background is to blue and dark and annoys the shit out of me. Your older videos had a nice bright background, so what the hell.

  • Ty Sylicus
    Ty Sylicus 9 months ago

    I'm super curious about this now. 🤔

  • garrett1433
    garrett1433 9 months ago

    I'm sad I missed it :(

  • Conner Nielsen
    Conner Nielsen 9 months ago

    Chris, you sound like you could be describing a David Lynch movie.

  • ivann9322
    ivann9322 9 months ago +1

    ALPHA

  • Sean Koontz
    Sean Koontz 9 months ago

    So Jeremy Jahns uploads his Happytime Murders review on Wednesday, while Chris is reviewing some anime movie no one’s heard about? Yeah that makes sense. P.S. I am a fan of Chris

    • Ranuyasha
      Ranuyasha 9 months ago

      Because this movie is good and that movie is shitty

  • Angel Martinez
    Angel Martinez 9 months ago +1

    Do the happytime murders review

  • CHACEANATOR !
    CHACEANATOR ! 9 months ago

    Review fullmetal alchemist brotherhood or one punch man PLS!!!!!!!

  • ARC-77 Fordo
    ARC-77 Fordo 9 months ago +4

    Please review "Violet Evergarden." That show is a masterpiece and not enough people have talked about.

    • killerqueen2000
      killerqueen2000 9 months ago

      its average. violet was the only somewhat decent character and even her development was too quick and not executed well

  • Barrel Stuffer
    Barrel Stuffer 9 months ago

    Weebs.

  • Jessica Desiderio
    Jessica Desiderio 9 months ago

    Do another blu Ray collection video please

  • Lee Nuxunumo
    Lee Nuxunumo 9 months ago

    I agree with Chris, the film feels like a dream and the more I think about it and reflect on it, the more and more I want to watch it again!!
    My only criticism is that the main characters (Otohime and Senpai) could've used a little more exposition as far as their backgrounds, which are a little vague from the get go. That's not to say you become connected with the characters once the film sets in, but I would've loved to know who they were and how they got to the night in question in the first place. Otherwise an amazing film!

  • Pablo Andres Matias Barrios Vargas

    4:30 Chris, the Protagonists are young adults college students, not teenagers, but I guess your interpretation works in both ways

  • Pablo Andres Matias Barrios Vargas

    Man, watch tatami Galaxy! It's a 12. Episode anime on the same universe of the movie, it almost turns out like a meta history

  • Chris Emiya
    Chris Emiya 9 months ago

    I am thoroughly ashamed at the theater in my country don't even promote or even bother to show anime films like this which could have been mine blowing or something new and refreshing aside from the constant generic shooting action type of movies that they show almost all the time.
    Way to go Puerto Rico -_-

  • JayGamerShow
    JayGamerShow 9 months ago

    Chris, you must tell me, where did you get that shirt, I must have it?

  • Warrior Bslaying
    Warrior Bslaying 9 months ago

    Do a dog pound review

  • Jorge Flores
    Jorge Flores 9 months ago

    Can you please review an old mosnter THE RELIC, i love it. Came out in 1997. Do it like a TBT. Also, deep impact, anaconda, phantoms, volcano. Movies i grew up with. The Relic.

  • princessthyemis
    princessthyemis 9 months ago

    ARG!!! I am so annoyed that I missed seeing this in theaters! My grandma and I were watching Spirited Away in preparation for a local film discussion group [it went great w/ some pretty amazing insights]. BUT STILL I am soooo pissed I MISSED THIS MOVIE! It looks great and I was fully intending to see it in theaters! DARN IT ALL! Very helpful and great review, though, Chris S.!! Thank you! I love your reviews.

  • Amaliatuzahra
    Amaliatuzahra 9 months ago

    Please do a review for Devilman Crybaby (2018). It's a masterpiece.

  • CurdlingMacabre on SoundCloud I’m a POS I know

    It’s like they couldn’t decide between names so they just stuck two together.

  • JOSHUA ZARG
    JOSHUA ZARG 9 months ago

    Wonderful movie!

  • Raga Vendran
    Raga Vendran 9 months ago +1

    Hey Chris! Great review as always......Can you please review Saving Private Ryan.IMO, It’s the greatest war movie ever and its a fantastic film with characters with actual character and they also serve purpose, soldiers with different attitudes and personalities unlike some movies where everyone has the same attitude, great twist at the end, amazing action sequences and also enough dialogue to give character to these soldiers to make us care about them if they die.I cant say if they die or not because I don’t want to spoil it for anyone who hasn’t seen it....
    My rating=9.6/10
    My grade=A+
    Predictions for Chris=A+

  • Esmeraldo Chiodini Neto

    Still waiting for Christofer Robin's review man!

    • Craig James Review
      Craig James Review 9 months ago

      pretty decent flick. was really fun seeing all those classic characters back. if you wouldn't mind giving another reviewer a shot, I have one on my channel

  • Majin Sole
    Majin Sole 9 months ago

    The Shirt Is Dope, Rock On Chris
    ~_~

  • Naresh Kumar
    Naresh Kumar 9 months ago

    waiting for Alpha movie review. 😓

    • Naresh Kumar
      Naresh Kumar 9 months ago

      Craig James Review Sure man I really liked the way you described the movie. Thank you once again .

    • Craig James Review
      Craig James Review 9 months ago +1

      thanks for watching man. much appreciated

    • Naresh Kumar
      Naresh Kumar 9 months ago +1

      Craig James Review Thanks for the review !!

    • Craig James Review
      Craig James Review 9 months ago +1

      hey man, actually have one on my channel if you wouldn't mind giving an up and coming reviewer a shot

  • Rydastyle 98
    Rydastyle 98 9 months ago

    I need that shirt bro

  • Jesse M.
    Jesse M. 9 months ago

    Hey Chris did you saw any David Lynch movies??? Mulholland Drive ;)

  • Tim Miller Foster
    Tim Miller Foster 9 months ago

    Chris Stuckhead grew up watching Arts Fartsy JAP anime!

  • Jacob Graham
    Jacob Graham 9 months ago +3

    Review Ping Pong the animation by Masaaki Yuasa

  • Alejandro Servin
    Alejandro Servin 9 months ago

    when are you doing a dragon balll super review?

  • Alpha Johne
    Alpha Johne 9 months ago

    Will you review Perfect Blue again on the Sept.6 and 10?

  • ruixue hu
    ruixue hu 9 months ago

    Love this film so much. It's so different from other animation. Weird, mysterious and attractive.

  • Ed Boon
    Ed Boon 9 months ago

    This movie and Mind Game are absolute master pieces.

  • marios 01
    marios 01 9 months ago

    Nice intro

  • ha. a
    ha. a 9 months ago

    Please do to all the boys I've loved before!!