Samsung Galaxy Fold review: after the break

Share
Embed
  • Published on Apr 19, 2019
  • Samsung is still launching the Galaxy Fold on April 26th, despite reports about problems with the screen. Despite those issues, our review answers the most important questions: does the screen, camera, performance, and software experience hold up?
    UPDATE: Samsung is delaying the Galaxy Fold release due to issues with review units that technology reporters have revealed: bit.ly/2ZreZqx
    Subscribe: goo.gl/G5RXGs
    Like The Verge on Facebook: goo.gl/2P1aGc
    Follow on Twitter: goo.gl/XTWX61
    Follow on Instagram: goo.gl/7ZeLvX
    Listen to our podcasts: www.theverge.com/podcasts
    Read More: www.theverge.com
    Community guidelines: bit.ly/2D0hlAv
    Wallpapers from The Verge: bit.ly/2xQXYJr
    Subscribe to Verge Science on RUclip, a new home base for our explorations into the future of science: bit.ly/2FqJZMl
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 3 024

  • The Verge
    The Verge  Month ago +964

    Hi friends, I see some of you are commenting about how we used a bit of clay to shoot some footage of the phone. To be super clear, we cleaned it off very rigorously. In my original article (bit.ly/2PiOhMi), I just said it MIGHT be what caused the screen to break, just because it’s important to me to be very transparent and honest. But the truth is that:

    1. No fewer than five review units have been broken so far.

    2. I don’t really think it was the clay, but I might be wrong!

    3. No matter what, it is VERY troubling to worry that anything could get inside the device. Just like Lew said: “I’m fairly confident that some substance on this hinge component could possibly work its way into the device. ... Maybe you have to baby it.”

    Nobody wants to have to baby a phone!

    - Dieter

    • Kaloyan Vladimirov
      Kaloyan Vladimirov 13 days ago

      Why out of five hundred devices all “broke down” only in one country of the world, one can only guess... :D

    • david park
      david park 25 days ago

      ​+Brian The fact that he wasn't being honest was the point. Clear difference between reviews looking for headlines and honest reviews. If a disclaimer gets lost in the headlines... pretty obvious what kind of review it is.

  • Hector Alvarado
    Hector Alvarado 2 days ago

    MKBHD?

  • Mateo Valdes
    Mateo Valdes 2 days ago +1

    Me, I don't have the device myself but if I did the reason I would really like it is that it replaces the tablet that Cant call that can now Call, (i will still probably ONLY use the tablet layout mode) but I am Really Disappointed that there isn't water resistance on this phone, and I really don't think it is a risk I am willing to take to buy myself that phone with a chance the screen will break till they fix the issue.

  • Charles Simpson
    Charles Simpson 3 days ago

    That opening song is so nice. Any one have a link? Seems like a cool alarm or ringtone.

  • SACY VACHHAR
    SACY VACHHAR 4 days ago

    So who’s here after MKBHD dope tech

  • victor555117
    victor555117 4 days ago +4

    2:10 for the Probe lens shot

  • Fares Djebbar
    Fares Djebbar 4 days ago +24

    Came here after mkbhd dope tech probe lens video :)

  • Derrick Feng
    Derrick Feng 4 days ago

    The intro shot is dope!

  • SDU-Tango
    SDU-Tango 6 days ago

    I like how he presentation.

  • Ayoub Faisal
    Ayoub Faisal 7 days ago

    The most professional entertaining video I have ever watched. Please, please and please use the black background as usual as shown in this video. Thank you.

  • Ivan Hekli
    Ivan Hekli 11 days ago

    😂😂🤣🤣🤣

  • Wilson Wijaya
    Wilson Wijaya 11 days ago

    Great, a 4:3 ratio. I can get to see VHS movies on a road trip. Thanks Samsung.

  • LyRi
    LyRi 12 days ago

    it aint it chief

  • Richard McKenna
    Richard McKenna 12 days ago

    Well that just made my mind up not to get it and to wait and see what else comes out. Thank you

  • Kaloyan Vladimirov
    Kaloyan Vladimirov 13 days ago

    In the US, four journalists “broke down” Galaxy Fold, in three cases, the top layer of the display was deliberately torn off, one had something under the screen, but the smartphone continued to work. Why out of five hundred devices all “broke down” only in one country of the world, one can only guess. :D

  • Vasee karan
    Vasee karan 15 days ago

    Apple: *REMOVES THE HEADPHONE JACK*
    The internet: OMG! APPLE REMOVED THE HEADPHONE JACK! IPHONES ARE TOO PRICEY! THIS IS UNACCEPTABLE!
    Samsung: Releases a phone that bursts into flames, releases a $2000 prototype foldable phone that breaks easily.
    The internet: oh well, they tried..
    BIASED MUCH?

  • Pankaj Rai
    Pankaj Rai 17 days ago

    Sponsored by samsung

  • Zi jie Lim
    Zi jie Lim 17 days ago

    It’s like the perfect own for iPhone SE uses and tablet users

  • rahman baig
    rahman baig 18 days ago

    Here because of mkbhd's live stream

  • jspeaks
    jspeaks 18 days ago

    Who is here after marques live stream?

  • iTAMIZHAN TECH
    iTAMIZHAN TECH 18 days ago +88

    Who is here after mkbhd's intStagram live

  • Jay J
    Jay J 19 days ago

    Why ordinary users got no issues, and never heard from their complaining for such problem? only called "tech reviewers" normally have paid from other tech companies and sponsors bash Samsung galaxy fold. It is this clear LOL

  • Arriaga Two
    Arriaga Two 20 days ago

    Just buy a tablet, goddammit

  • jack sjsjs
    jack sjsjs 20 days ago

    Yeah I dont buy the excuse that it's some protective layer problem, anyone else buy it?

  • Yusuf
    Yusuf 21 day ago

    No headphone jack lol

  • Kay Hud
    Kay Hud 21 day ago

    "Android isn't where it should be in tablet mode" bro that goes for every platform out right now! Have you ever used an iPad? 😒

  • Terry Olay
    Terry Olay 22 days ago

    Samsung really screwed up by releasing or attempting to release an unfinished product.

    • Terry Olay
      Terry Olay 21 day ago

      +Sarah Dohring They were delusional. The thing is more fragile than a raw eggs.

    • Sarah Dohring
      Sarah Dohring 22 days ago

      They spent 8 years on it and thought it was finished.

  • Adrienne McCue
    Adrienne McCue 22 days ago +1

    Great review on the Galaxy Fold... some great things coming out of Samsung!

  • Seung Hyun Kim
    Seung Hyun Kim 22 days ago

    Dear verge. The top layer of galaxy fold is a cpi film. U shldnt tear it or mess with it. Lmao tho. Pretty sure they would come back w better stuff. Samsung doubtless, has one of the top quality stuff in this industry for now. So i guess we have to believe them?

  • Suzy Siviter
    Suzy Siviter 22 days ago

    Will samsung fold after this product?

  • Manuel Mihajlovic
    Manuel Mihajlovic 23 days ago

    wait wtf? no headphoness??? can i use earpots or something?

  • Nildo Oliveira
    Nildo Oliveira 23 days ago

    the wallpaper lives up to the screen

  • Debra Dukes
    Debra Dukes 24 days ago

    Dieter Excellent Review. And I'm with you will definitely be thinking about it. And so hope they Correct it all. Because I love the whole Concept and if they fix the issues then maybe I won't think about it and just might get one.Thanks so much for sharing Deb.😉👍✌

  • GamingTV
    GamingTV 24 days ago +1

    the verge really should stop reviewing things, they're bad at it

  • Pnuttz Clark
    Pnuttz Clark 24 days ago

    It would drive me crazy having to “baby” this device Everyday. I work outside in a shop with a lot of dust, there’s no way I could get the fold.

  • Marnette Todd
    Marnette Todd 24 days ago

    These seem like very small issues they will fix it like every phone the first release brings about changes. Im still in for it

  • jenny chen
    jenny chen 24 days ago

    boo ya samsung sell the fail product ....

  • Manoj Ramesh Shastri
    Manoj Ramesh Shastri 24 days ago +1

    Lighting on this video is nailed to its fullest. The best lighting i have ever seen in any RUclip video.

  • MFORCE1
    MFORCE1 25 days ago

    2 grand is a complete joke these won't sell well

  • Vincent F Yue
    Vincent F Yue 25 days ago +1

    Samsung tried to copy Apple on applying cutting edge technology but failed

  • Zylice Liddell
    Zylice Liddell 25 days ago +1

    Samsung are stupid for releasing this product so soon. Delays would have been better so that they could test it!

  • bersem tech
    bersem tech 25 days ago

    I always worry about it folds by itself when I using . Maybe that is my problem ,heheh e

  • MickyAvStickyHands
    MickyAvStickyHands 26 days ago +1

    Stacking two phones together is not innovation. Apple put the damn smart phone in your pocket 12 years ago and that was our gen's version of the car innovation. We'll know it if it happens again, but this ain't it.

  • Doc Johnson
    Doc Johnson 26 days ago +2

    Crease and Dings ..mmkay Samjunk

  • Sean Verso
    Sean Verso 26 days ago

    Wait it will be standard in 2 years

  • TJ T
    TJ T 26 days ago +1

    Honestly, the Huawei fold design is much smarter.

  • kcb5150
    kcb5150 26 days ago

    I love how the thickness of this when closed is all good but they won't make a thicker normal phone and dump in a massive battery.

  • RageJ
    RageJ 26 days ago +17

    I think it would be cool if you guys tried building a computer

  • 3 8
    3 8 27 days ago

    How do you review a product like this and ignore the problems of the screen? Isn't that just giving it a free pass.....

  • Nathan Johnson
    Nathan Johnson 27 days ago

    so basically he’s saying he wishes apple made it

  • Black Condor
    Black Condor 27 days ago

    C'mon man,this phone is a joke

  • Claude Crevecoeur
    Claude Crevecoeur 27 days ago +1

    I'll pass on this device 🤔🤔🤔 too expensive

  • Emanuele Barbato
    Emanuele Barbato 27 days ago

    Recent Dieter reviews need a “hold on” moment because of issues of any kind. Poor Dieter.

  • Shifu Matt
    Shifu Matt 27 days ago +6

    A review on a recalled product... Hmmmm. I guess its a beta review then 😂

  • Timo
    Timo 27 days ago

    Don't get me wrong, I also think it was a horrible mistake of Samsung to push that device to marked without proper testing, however your argument that the multi tasking is worse than on an iPad ( 7:40) is a poor comparision because if you fold your iPad it doesn't restore the multi tasking layout either ;)

  • Arched Phoenix
    Arched Phoenix 27 days ago +2

    You want to know what I'm angry about? Those damn GALAXY FOLD phones. Hazardous, unreliable, cheap materials, rip off phones. Yes, I said it. Boom!😂

  • Kaio -Sama
    Kaio -Sama 27 days ago +8

    Everyone: "Thank you for keeping the headphone jack."
    Samsung: "What's that? Remove it and add another two cameras? Done."

  • tatt oo sticker
    tatt oo sticker 27 days ago

    china is the solution for your bird scooters 😂👍💩 to be cheap and cheerful

  • VideoPine
    VideoPine 27 days ago

    They put clay on the back of the phone to stand it up for pictures. Avarage users dont do that.

    • ADC Bot
      ADC Bot 2 days ago

      If a piece of clay can get in the back of the phone, what stops pocket lint and dust from getting in the phone? Are people not supposed to put it in their pocket?

  • Walter White
    Walter White 27 days ago

    Im going back to the zack morris phone

  • Malc180s
    Malc180s 27 days ago

    This is a gimmick phone. In 2 or 3 years when it's half the thickness and actually durable then sure, but right now I genuinely can't see the point. The Huawei offering looks far more interesting as an idea anyway, and when durability is so poor on the Samsung the fact that the screen is on the outside doesn't seem like the big problem some made it out to be.

  • lex luthor
    lex luthor 27 days ago

    i feel like i live in the future

  • Joshadowolf
    Joshadowolf 27 days ago

    I don’t trust Galaxy Fold. 🤨

  • Benjamin Fragoso
    Benjamin Fragoso 28 days ago

    Am I the only one that kinda found the jellyfish thing funny?

  • meloD30
    meloD30 28 days ago

    10:40 Mmmmm...
    I don't know what this reward is for, but imma take it and run.

  • Martin Zone
    Martin Zone 28 days ago

    I can guess what was stuck underneath.
    A grain of rice?

  • mrmiddl
    mrmiddl 28 days ago

    Sounds like a bunch of idiots don't need a $2k 1st gen foldable phone

  • Dale Brooks
    Dale Brooks 28 days ago

    Gimmick. Folding phones will not last. Especially at that price.

  • iPhonedo
    iPhonedo 28 days ago

    10:42 GENIUS!

  • Knight Ranger 222
    Knight Ranger 222 28 days ago

    Actually only ONE has failed. All of the others were not due to a defective device but to the negligence of the reviewer not reading the operational manual. Which was also explained in their own Videos. So everyone will now be making videos on this, search: Samsung Galaxy Fold Failure. And they will get the views because people LOVE DESTRUCTION. Watch Unbox Therapy he removes the real screen protector with the TAB at the bottom.

  • shane bundy
    shane bundy 28 days ago

    Great review seems like your a Mac head though. I could of course be wrong ;)

  • puttha sangkla
    puttha sangkla 28 days ago

    can i know more detail about the shooting technique that you guys show at the end of the clips? what is that camera? what is the trick?
    Thanks

  • bigmaxcc
    bigmaxcc 28 days ago

    Look at all the dislikes

  • em.fotografik
    em.fotografik 28 days ago +1

    Dumbest device ever!
    That’s what the hell tablets are for.

  • Young Wong Park
    Young Wong Park 28 days ago +1

    It's a real review.
    Some review only used this to make hot dogs.

  • ImHereForPearlJamVid
    ImHereForPearlJamVid 28 days ago

    can somebody pass a message from me to Samsung? "no one likes Bixby. no one". thanks.

  • Ki Ki
    Ki Ki 28 days ago

    china is the solution for your bird scooters 😂👍💩 to be cheap and cheerful

  • Vardhan Gupta
    Vardhan Gupta 28 days ago

    Liking just for that opening shot.

  • Krombopulos Michael
    Krombopulos Michael 28 days ago

    Holy Lemon Batman, this is the price of an A-B vehicle...

  • superhyperbole
    superhyperbole 28 days ago

    Not gonna lie, personally I like the jelly scroll affect

  • Noble3781
    Noble3781 28 days ago

    When everyone kept crying that the mate x was not as sturdy as the fold 😅😅😅

  • DemonikJD
    DemonikJD 28 days ago

    I love your reviews man but this really feels like you like it for the gimmick and the honeymoon period is strong. There seems like next to no wins here, especially for 2K

  • Abhi Vishwakarma
    Abhi Vishwakarma 28 days ago

    Yes you are right

  • Bernard Traquena
    Bernard Traquena 29 days ago

    Perhaps secretly the verge did some stress bend testing of the fold... LOL :D

  • Nytes1982
    Nytes1982 29 days ago +1

    Apple made the first foldable phone.

    iPhone 6 Plus....

  • William Reynolds
    William Reynolds 29 days ago

    Your pocket has lint in it that would definitely get into every crack and crevice. That phone is never going to work until at the very least they put some sort of bellows to stop anything from getting behind the screen

  • Hunter's Moon
    Hunter's Moon 29 days ago

    Folding screens = Bad Idea.

  • Ricardo Gurgel
    Ricardo Gurgel 29 days ago

    AMAZING review The Verge !!! Thanks god ! A great missing review, that every one MUST see. And it makes me thought.. Galaxy fold is a mediocre/average phone, or maybe an innovative/interesting tablet that can fits in your pocket?

  • Brandon Prentice
    Brandon Prentice 29 days ago

    CREASE! 3:14

  • Carlo de Guzman
    Carlo de Guzman 29 days ago

    Its a plastic screen! Wow society has a short memory.

  • Filipi Melo
    Filipi Melo 29 days ago

    PLEASE, make an "BackStage" of those videos

  • Joel Sawyer
    Joel Sawyer 29 days ago

    Officially delayed indefinitely now, new release date within two weeks...

  • G Philip C
    G Philip C 29 days ago

    When a Bump becomes a Bulge...could be steroids.

  • JOHNWAYNE1920
    JOHNWAYNE1920 29 days ago

    Seriously, buy an iron bro

  • Milton Bradley Voice of the Mummy

    Alto's Odyssey is the surfing game.

  • Imthemichaelphelpscantswim

    exposed... apple gonna win this coming fall

  • sorin crivat
    sorin crivat 29 days ago

    is this an ipad commercial?

  • Frank Vincent Tolores Gesmundo

    It turned into another perspective when you had experienced it first hand, but technically it's the owner's duty to take care or not his phone, all modern phones are fragile, no exemptions.

  • Vynx
    Vynx 29 days ago

    Next video : how repair a Samsung Galaxy Fold

  • RandomTechS@#T
    [email protected]#T 29 days ago

    Wanna hear a joke?



    Bixby