Apple just got REKT by… themselves - Powerbeats Pro Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on May 19, 2019
  • Thanks to Skillshare for sponsoring this video! The first 500 of our subscribers to use this link: skl.sh/2LFQQdl will get a 2-month free trial!
    Add Honey for FREE and start saving today at joinhoney.com/ltt
    Thanks Honey for sponsoring!
    The new 2nd gen Airpods were impressive, but Apple's new Powerbeats Pro are even MORE impressive, especially for active users. But are they good enough to impress non-athletes?
    Buy the Powerbeats Pro Totally Wireless Headphones:
    On Amazon: geni.us/XiAAmM
    Discuss on the forum: linustechtips.com/main/topic/1065255-apple-just-got-rekt-by%E2%80%A6-themselves-powerbeats-pro-review/
    Our Affiliates, Referral Programs, and Sponsors: linustechtips.com/main/topic/75969-linus-tech-tips-affiliates-referral-programs-and-sponsors
    Get Private Internet Access today at geni.us/7lLuafK
    Displate metal posters: lmg.gg/displateltt
    Linus Tech Tips merchandise at www.LTTStore.com/
    Linus Tech Tips posters at crowdmade.com/linustechtips
    Our Test Benches on Amazon: www.amazon.com/shop/linustechtips
    Our production gear: geni.us/cvOS
    Twitter - twitter.com/linustech
    Facebook - facebook.com/LinusTech
    Instagram - instagram.com/linustech
    Twitch - www.twitch.tv/linustech
    Intro Screen Music Credit:
    Title: Laszlo - Supernova
    Video Link: ruclip.com/video/PKfxmFU3lWY/video.html
    iTunes Download Link: itunes.apple.com/us/album/supernova/id936805712
    Artist Link: soundcloud.com/laszlomusic
    Outro Screen Music Credit: Approaching Nirvana - Sugar High ruclip.com/user/approachingnirvana
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 2 935

  • Seagull 78
    Seagull 78 28 days ago +4836

    pretty sure 400 is not 50 more than 250

  • John S
    John S Day ago

    After waiting so long for these to come out, so Annoyed that they hurt my ears. Have to return them.

  • BiGG_ShadeZ
    BiGG_ShadeZ Day ago

    is the new momentum review there yet?

  • Levi Lemieux
    Levi Lemieux Day ago

    I find my Powerbeats 3 wireless headphones great for working out, but they are a HUGE problem for me when running. They are always coming loose or falling out and it’s the most annoying thing. Will these have the same problem or are they designed better so that’s not an issue?

  • UMBC Herky
    UMBC Herky 2 days ago +1

    What’s the sound quality difference from the power beat 3’s?

  • Rich Dollars
    Rich Dollars 2 days ago

    Is that a galaxy watch with a fake Gucci strap?

  • Bryan
    Bryan 2 days ago

    For iOS users that have the Powerbeats Pro, you can customize the EQ for Apple Music subscribers in Settings > Music > EQ. That helps customize the sound settings for Powerbeats Pro users. Have Fun!

  • nomnomNACHO
    nomnomNACHO 2 days ago

    Hey! I have a Homepod and I appreciate the effort not to trigger it :P

  • hkistreet
    hkistreet 2 days ago +4

    "Deep ear penetration", my favorite Pornhub category

  • Abhishek Reddy
    Abhishek Reddy 3 days ago

    Senhiser ones plz...

  • Sebastian Bartolomeo

    I HATE THE INTRO ANIMATION/SOUNDBITE CHANGE IT PLEASE

  • CMSGraham
    CMSGraham 3 days ago

    Why didnt test bose soundsport free

  • MrFerrari
    MrFerrari 3 days ago

    If you have AirPods or EarPods (with the wire). No need to upgrade. I had my beats for a week and found myself using my earbuds instead! Just more bass with the beats. For $275 the beats were just not worth it! $275 vs $29 EarPods which is actually louder, go with the AirPods or EarPods.

  • Jason Kendall
    Jason Kendall 3 days ago

    Maybe one day he will disappear... just maybe...

  • Gadgets Review
    Gadgets Review 3 days ago

    gadgets-review.com/best-gaming-laptop-under-500/

  • The713Sonic
    The713Sonic 4 days ago

    I use the Bose Sound Sport.

  • Steph Ewing
    Steph Ewing 4 days ago

    Yes do the sennheiser review again pls

  • Ronald Adams
    Ronald Adams 4 days ago

    Where’s that review of the Sennheisers? I would like to see it. I have an over-ear set of Sennheisers that don’t work so well for the gym so I’m looking at the Powerbeats Pro and the Sennheiser Momentums

  • Dommer
    Dommer 5 days ago

    Bellend

  • Anusmit Mazumdar Student

    do the Bose ones

  • DorianDotSlash
    DorianDotSlash 5 days ago

    I just returned these yesterday. Nothing beats my Plantronics Backbeat FIT headphones for sound and comfort, and they last a week with a one hour workout every day, or about 7-8 hours continuous which is more than enough for sports earphones.

  • Christopher Reiner
    Christopher Reiner 5 days ago

    Linus has a crush on Apple...he claims to hate them, yet cant stop talking about them...

  • EM-OH-JI
    EM-OH-JI 5 days ago

    I wish this has also noise cancellation. Mm

  • thefunkyone247
    thefunkyone247 6 days ago

    I didn’t see the t shirt in this video on your Merch shop. When will it be available ?

  • revaldo29
    revaldo29 6 days ago

    Do they go into idle mode if placed in pockets but not into the charging case? I would like to place them in a pouch in my pocket and pull them out throughout the day and leave the case at home or in my bag only for charging overnight. If

  • Shendue
    Shendue 6 days ago

    AHAHAHAH 250 bucks for earbuds to listen to MP3 compressed music. Okay. XD
    Guys, buy decent headphones and a CD player for half the price.

    • Red Hood
      Red Hood 4 days ago

      Shendue I don’t wanna carry cd player while playing soccer

    • Javien
      Javien 5 days ago

      Shendue I can’t use a cd while I’m playing basketball lol

  • Alvaro monroy
    Alvaro monroy 6 days ago

    4:42

  • HoodieSavage 21
    HoodieSavage 21 6 days ago

    Great review

  • CasualMCZ TMC
    CasualMCZ TMC 7 days ago

    I'm the kid of athlete who runs marathons in FPS shooters

  • PaddyLCubed
    PaddyLCubed 7 days ago +1

    I'd rather take the time and money to buy a pair of Bose or something nicer, and get a custom mold of plugs made.
    Even with a custom mold, they still come in as a cheaper alternative with the additional benefit of having easy to replace parts.

  • Hannes Unterberger
    Hannes Unterberger 7 days ago +1

    "5 min charging = 1.5h listening
    15min charging = 4.5h listening"
    No shit.

  • Zes Jerome
    Zes Jerome 8 days ago

    no such thing as impresx or not

  • Julian Aguilar
    Julian Aguilar 8 days ago

    Ummm they do isolate sound wdym

  • Logan Littlejohn
    Logan Littlejohn 8 days ago

    2:40 she tried ?

  • BiG DiL
    BiG DiL 9 days ago

    stfu and go do ur windows shit

  • Jason Turner
    Jason Turner 9 days ago

    That case should charge your phone twice.

  • justsendit
    justsendit 9 days ago

    I was wondering: Can the Powerboats Pro be paired to a 2017 LG OLED 4K TV?

    • alfonso lazo
      alfonso lazo 3 days ago

      justsendit yes you can I have the same TV

  • KingOfBlades27
    KingOfBlades27 9 days ago

    Yep. Definitely will buy these :D

  • Non-Tryhard Eiboiy
    Non-Tryhard Eiboiy 9 days ago

    AirPods: nothing
    AirPods: absolutely nothing

    Power beats pro: hold my earlobes

  • Cheap Tech
    Cheap Tech 10 days ago

    Sennheiser follow up please

  • Gene Star
    Gene Star 10 days ago

    What about armor hedphones and jabra true wireless headphones?

  • Commandroid Lee
    Commandroid Lee 10 days ago +1

    06:38 That's what she said. :D

  • David Thomas
    David Thomas 10 days ago

    When you figure out that apple owns beats

  • olly miller
    olly miller 10 days ago

    Are the earbuds standard? As in if i have a batch of powerbeats replacement earbuds will these work with the powerbeats pro?

    • DoNotCare
      DoNotCare 8 days ago

      olly miller you can probably use anything. I lost my powerbeats 3 eartips and I just use eartips I bought from amazon. So they’ll probably work with any eartip

  • Aaron Sohnrey
    Aaron Sohnrey 11 days ago

    I would love to see a review of the Sennheiser Momentum True Wireless once they come in! I've been somewhat partial to Sennheiser for some time now and would love to upgrade my standard cabled in-ear momentums for some wireless ones.

  • codemiester24
    codemiester24 11 days ago

    Hey great review. Just a question. How have you found the durability of the hinge on the Powerbeats case?

  • Walking Zombie
    Walking Zombie 11 days ago

    She tried? 🤔🤔🤔

  • ROSSARAPTOR
    ROSSARAPTOR 11 days ago +1

    if Jamie from the progressive commercials and David Tennant had a kid it would be this guy

  • DJChelski
    DJChelski 11 days ago

    Linus has a jibe at people who wear cargo pants whilst he's there with his socks and sandals!

  • prudhvee reddy
    prudhvee reddy 11 days ago

    Apple is always great true as trashy can

  • Reggie Owens Jr
    Reggie Owens Jr 12 days ago

    Not really if you use Beats with apple

  • Zazou2000
    Zazou2000 12 days ago

    Are you laughing at my cargo pants?

  • Brady Johnson
    Brady Johnson 12 days ago

    You actually annoy me

  • phych
    phych 12 days ago

    I'll take one Sennheiser Momentum True Wireless full review please.

  • Jost Somuan
    Jost Somuan 12 days ago

    Nice review, but why does everyone always alters their voice when they say “hey Siri”? It has a voice recognition. Siri isn’t going to pay attention to anyone else. I don’t understand.

  • Chief Denis
    Chief Denis 12 days ago +3

    i watched this video in 360p and the quality was incredible, looked almost like 720p. The new av1 codec is actually great, i'm convinced now

  • Young Drizzy215
    Young Drizzy215 12 days ago

    I have a HomePod 🤷🏼‍♂️

  • jameswalker199
    jameswalker199 12 days ago

    I'm not sure why I'm watching this since I don't like headphones that you have to remember to charge. That said, these aren't terrible.

  • DeepCupsChan119
    DeepCupsChan119 12 days ago

    Does powerbeats pro gives you cancer like AirPods

    • Ahmed 232
      Ahmed 232 10 days ago

      DeepCupsChan119
      Anything which requires Bluetooth connection do. Also you shouldn’t worry about cancer just don’t use your airpods 24/7 and you’ll be fine

  • Damien jordan
    Damien jordan 13 days ago +2

    i like how everything these days is huge. guess you never had the hi tech sony walkman or discman or heaven forbid a boom box....
    dam im old

  • Kris Daven
    Kris Daven 13 days ago +2

    What do you mean too much bass.!! U're a different applehead breed 🤦🏽‍♂️🤦🏽‍♂️😂😂

  • Roger Skagerström
    Roger Skagerström 13 days ago

    Linus making fun of people with cargo pant - is Linus. :P

  • Christopher Parker
    Christopher Parker 13 days ago +3

    Well flossy carter crowned them his favorite so I’m sold

    • bat man
      bat man 11 days ago +1

      Floss approved 🆗

  • EdgyShooter
    EdgyShooter 13 days ago

    I mean I'm not happy losing ports but there are some impressive offerings for TWS earphones. I think it would be great if you could do some comparisons between the big brands' offerings and the smaller ones, like the PAMU slide or the EarFun free, that are quite significantly cheaper with only a few sacrifices and see how they stack up

  • Fox Boucher
    Fox Boucher 13 days ago

    " i guess size does matter "
    Lmaooooo

  • dean perico
    dean perico 14 days ago

    Hi! Are u using samsung watch?

  • Idkwhattoput Boop bop beep bop

    Stop saying rekt you look 40

  • HitmanLAPD
    HitmanLAPD 14 days ago

    Cool click bait. Apple slaps the beats name on everything... That's why you have the title you do? Fuck off

  • Mashiro Shiina
    Mashiro Shiina 14 days ago +2

    *Size doesn't matter*
    i gotcha bro

  • Nando Gil
    Nando Gil 14 days ago

    kkkk. dip ear penetration. Yup that sounds like apple stuff

  • Minz B
    Minz B 14 days ago

    Hi! Can you store music in the headphone alone? Thanks!

  • 4REAL
    4REAL 14 days ago

    Way too big still prefer my airpods 2

  • claudio villavicencio
    claudio villavicencio 15 days ago

    I would need to try them out,I’ve been dissatisfied with all beats products sound quality.I really hope they improved double since the Powerbeats 3,they were terrible for the price

  • John Brigs
    John Brigs 15 days ago

    Thanks for not activating my siri

  • studivan
    studivan 15 days ago

    Linus Tech - Apple didn't REKT themselves as you put it, your just not bright enough to understand what they are doing, they don't care which one's you buy, buy either they own both company's, Powerbeat' Pro's and AirPods are designed to be an alternative to each other, not competition.

  • J3 HM
    J3 HM 15 days ago

    2:43 when she keeps sucking after you came.

  • Patrick Byrnes
    Patrick Byrnes 15 days ago

    Voice crack @ 7:58 😂

  • Bobby Bobby
    Bobby Bobby 15 days ago

    Your so stupid man apple is NOT the same as apple Jesus people today😡😠

  • Roniff Richards
    Roniff Richards 15 days ago

    Powerbeats 3 is a great options

  • Chris Kim
    Chris Kim 15 days ago

    that is like samsung icon

  • Chris Kim
    Chris Kim 15 days ago

    My airpods can't charge that it only charge the one side of my earbuds

  • Slim3Gam3z
    Slim3Gam3z 15 days ago

    How could Apple best them self? Would that just make them better?

  • Terry Johnson
    Terry Johnson 16 days ago

    Please do a momentum tw updated review.

  • Shana A
    Shana A 16 days ago

    It looks kinda like side burns on linus 🤣🤣🤣

  • Jonas Poulsen
    Jonas Poulsen 16 days ago

    Should not have bought an
    iPhone cause apps are free and android is half the price

    • Smorfar
      Smorfar 14 days ago

      Jonas Poulsen lmao what is this comment. Apps are free hurr durr. Yes stealing is fantastic and apps are so much fucking worse on android.

  • Mikayel Միքայել
    Mikayel Միքայել 16 days ago +1

    Naaaah i am gonna stick to my galaxy buds thank you very much

  • Delilah beckett
    Delilah beckett 17 days ago

    For beats this is just another step away from the perfect wireless earphones

  • Nugly
    Nugly 17 days ago

    wtf do cargo pants get so much hate as if everybody wasn't wearing them just a few years ago? They are so useful

  • Dian Dixon
    Dian Dixon 17 days ago

    God dammit Linus you still triggered my home pod

  • Blair
    Blair 17 days ago

    “...she tried.”

  • Geo P
    Geo P 17 days ago

    Returning mines tomarrow at apple... Connection issues constantly.. I took them off on a run just to wipe my sweat of , and they wouldn't connect back . You have to basically put them back in the case for them to start working again.. I dont run with my case.. So is a down fall for me.. Not worth 250..

  • Jimmy Lam
    Jimmy Lam 17 days ago

    I made my Powerbeats Pro Space Gray! imgur.com/gallery/VRRCQPa

  • James W
    James W 17 days ago

    Powerbeats are good for running and stuff but airpods are much better for in office or classroom use, as they can easily be popped in and out and are more subtle. I own and love both. Not everything has to be a competition, but he's a PC guy so I'm sure he's used to the whole kiddie console vs PC shit.

  • Levkin
    Levkin 17 days ago

    Give the bang & olufsen ones a go

  • adrian Tabs
    adrian Tabs 17 days ago

    smh, these lost me at lightning cable. i don't know why apple tries to force you into the their Eco system, when everyone is moving away for just that reason...

  • Wing0Alchemist
    Wing0Alchemist 18 days ago

    Talk shit about my cargo pants!
    Pockets are life.

  • Krane
    Krane 18 days ago

    All that proprietary hardware and software -- Apple refuses to share. Just one more reason why I'll never own an Apple product.

  • Golden Donut
    Golden Donut 18 days ago

    I guess size does matter😂😂😂😂 u crack me up!

  • Andrew Ramsey
    Andrew Ramsey 18 days ago +4

    I just subscribed to you becuz your whole video and presentation is great and on point, a very welcoming response for viewers

  • Santos Lara
    Santos Lara 19 days ago

    Noise cancelation?????