Do it yourself sewer pipe video Inspection Camera

Share
Embed
  • Published on Jan 28, 2017
  • ComedyComedy

Comments • 344

  • Gerardo Flores
    Gerardo Flores 9 months ago +4

    I really appreciate you taking the time to make this man!!
    For years later and still teaching people new ways to make their work/craft easier, thank you..

    Also I did have a question
    Is a 5/16” x 25’ cable compatible with that Ridgid K-400??

  • Chip Chapin
    Chip Chapin Year ago +3

    This is great, thanks for posting! I've successfully snaked my drain but want to see what's still down there, just like you. I had been wondering whether the cables on these cheap inspection cameras would be stiff enough to push down the sewer line -- I guess not, so your idea of attaching it to a separate cable is an appropriate solution. Am wondering why you left so much of the cable sticking out ahead of the camera. Was it to help navigate the traps and elbows?

  • Prescott Ford
    Prescott Ford Year ago +1

    Thanks for the video! I've been getting periodic clogs at one of my rentals and I wanted to have the sewer line scoped to see what was going on. A national rental company wanted to charge me $160 to rent a camera snake and a plumber wanted considerably more to scope it for me. Now I can do it myself any time I want and I saved over $100 using the ideas in your video.

  • Matthew Katada
    Matthew Katada Year ago +2

    Great video and explanation! Thorough explanation too, you went through all the steps and questions that would probably pop up for the ordinary individual. So in one video someone gets a great idea of what products to use, what prices to expect and how to implement it all together to a successful end. Thanks! Gonna use it with my endoscope i just bought.

  • Nasir Mohammad
    Nasir Mohammad Year ago +1

    Great plumbing job you did yourself, thanks for making the video. I had a similar problem at my rental property. The plumber came with a very fancy video equipment but they first unclogged the drain and then ran the video to show me very very tiny roots coming in. He advised that in a few years I will have to replace the pipe because of root buildup but not to worry, they will not dig up the driveway. They can drill horizontally. I don’t know of any science that can kill that root without harmful chemicals going down the drain or without corroding the cast iron pipe. Will appreciate advice.

  • Ray Hayden, J.D.
    Ray Hayden, J.D. Year ago +3

    This is a fantastic and phenomenal video! We have a property that I am positive has a grease issue. We worked on it today, and has put some chemicals in the drain to help clear that out. Will try the Green Gobbler option if needed as well - but after that, scoping the pipe is the only way I can think of to find out what is going on down there. This solution is fantastic! Here it is 2021 now, and this video from January 2017 is still helping people save a fortune! Watching and Supporting, Dropping a LIKE on your video - and I joined your network!

    • Christopher Bennett
      Christopher Bennett  Year ago +2

      And here I am, reading your comment and thinking that I almost never uploaded this video because I was too busy that day. Thanks bro.

  • Matt Childers
    Matt Childers 2 years ago +43

    Wow, finally someone who shows how you actually do something. Thank you.

  • mirrormimi
    mirrormimi 2 years ago +5

    8:34 We need to check the plumbing in my house, and you are exactly right, we almost hired this chain that was going to charge us this huge ridiculous amount. My dad already had the endoscope camera, he's just to tired and busy to go through the hassle. Meanwhile I'm super free, and I have access to great videos like this that give me all the steps to do it :D

  • SC Chiu
    SC Chiu 2 years ago +2

    Thanks for making this video! We've paid Roto Rooter over $1000 to unclog our rental pipes in the past 3 years. They charged us $250 for running a camera. Your video reinforced my inclination to purchase a sewer pipe video inspection camera. Question: is it required to have a drain snake for this camera to work? Previously I thought it's rigid enough to work on its own.

    • Andrew Jackson
      Andrew Jackson 2 years ago +1

      This camera he used is 10 dollars and very flexible. No it will not work on its own

    • hardkore360
      hardkore360 2 years ago +1

      I attached the camera to a water hose, my drain pipe is 4" and I was able to record the line really well as it makes it easier to push/pull the camera through the line

    • Jinksy
      Jinksy 2 years ago

      You could use just the camera on it's own!

  • Tiana S
    Tiana S 11 months ago +2

    This is so incredibly helpful! Thank you for uploading this!!

  • Louis Pepin
    Louis Pepin 2 years ago +2

    You are smart! Same problems in my home. 6 months ago, we had the bathtub drain snaked by a “professional” to unclog it for the “modest” sum of $375. It worked, but now, it’s draining very slowly. I’m thinking of using your system and do it myself. Thank you for your insights.

  • Karyna Illera
    Karyna Illera 4 years ago

    Thank you Chris ! very helpful video and tips. My house was built in 1968 and I am looking to inspect cast iron pipes myself since plummers charge $450 per each openning from my roof and I have at least 6 = $2700. Also, some companies will brake your pipe while doing the inspection.

    • Eric S
      Eric S Year ago

      @Lee R I always get rubber tar and pack around the rubber couplings after I test for leaks. Then mix up a bag of concrete and pack it around the couplings.

    • Lee R
      Lee R 4 years ago

      If you have a place to get to the mainline reasonably install a double sweep cleanout. Get (2) long radius sani tee's or wye's. Install them facing each other so they overlap otherwise there will be an inaccessible spot between them. Just remember when using them you need the one furthest away from the direction you want to go. You'll most likely need (2) rubber connectors with hose clamps to splice it in. I'd spray those joints with a can of rub. Roots start so fine any gap is an entry point. Now you'll be able to check your mainline easily and clean it without working in the house, on the roof, or under the house. It'll also let you quickly see if it's blocked before or after the double sweep narrowing down the problem faster.

    • robert patterson
      robert patterson 4 years ago

      Karyna Illera where do you live because that's ridiculous. in wv it's about80 hour plus 100 machine fee.

  • Doug Maverick
    Doug Maverick 4 years ago +1

    Very creative Chris good work Buddy.
    I just had a plumber in today to camera my sewer line.
    Was charged $185.00 which was quite reasonable.
    With the camera he was able to clear some of the blockage, and eventually he found the culprit which ended up being a screwdriver.

  • David D
    David D 2 years ago +1

    Great tutorial! The plumber that cleared our clogged drain yesterday quoted us $800 to inspect and clean the buildup in our drains. Thank you for the time and effort you put into this video. Do you have to use a snake to run the camera down the lines or is it rigid enough to use by itself? I purchased a hydro-jet pipe/drain cleaner on eBay (goes by many names). Have you thought about or have tried attaching the camera to one? Thank you again, this video will help youtubers for years to come.

  • David Crawford
    David Crawford 4 years ago

    excellent video Chris. I made a similar one several years ago. I used a car back-up camera for mine. It worked well but I couldn't get the cable rigidity right. It wouldn't make bends without bunching up. I feed my Cat5 connected camera through the center of the spring cable. I'll try doing this and see if it works better.

  • Tony Quinn
    Tony Quinn 2 years ago +1

    Thanks, Christopher, I'm in the same boat and your advice is appreciated. Thank you for the effort of making this video.

  • Steve Baker
    Steve Baker 3 years ago +1

    Great job, your drain cleaning knowledge and skills are strong. I work for one of those chains, so I an familiar with pricing. If you are ready to jackhammer slab and change pipes you must have some plumbing background. Keep up the good / hard work brother.

  • Alberto Gutierrez

    Thank you so much for your video and for sharing your experience, you are a life saver. I would definitely invest in something like this is totally worth it. Thanks again

  • Jose del Pino
    Jose del Pino 2 years ago

    Very practical, thank you for the advice sir!

  • createyourvision2020
    createyourvision2020 4 years ago

    Exactly what I wanted to do and am so glad to see it works.

  • Richard Huang
    Richard Huang 7 months ago

    Good video Chist. I just resolved my long term drainage problem and saved a fortune on my rental house after duplicating exactly what you suggested.

  • Outd0rsman
    Outd0rsman 2 years ago +2

    Nice dude, Thank You... I've been having sewer issues for years..but with this solution I'm going to get a look right away.

  • Matt B
    Matt B 2 years ago +1

    Awesome I do home inspections as a side job and was trying to find away around paying over 1k for a plumbing camera 💪

  • Clouds in the Ozarks Outdoors

    I have a drain in my basement that gets clogged about every 6 months, so I ordered a scope to see if I can find out what the heck is causing the blockage. I hope this works. For a $55 it's a good idea even if it doesn't work. I'll use it again someday.

  • John Ritchie
    John Ritchie Year ago +1

    Man these plumbers charge so much forcing us to be DIY'ers thanks to modern tech! Way to go man... dealing with similar issues myself

  • Zac Schmelzer
    Zac Schmelzer 4 years ago +4

    Hey Chris, the snake you have it attached to seems to limit the view. Could the end of the snake be cut off and run the camera through it? It seems that it would give a much better view. What are your thoughts?

    • Christopher Bennett
      Christopher Bennett  4 years ago

      I was but i know it will be hard to clean after all that crap is on it lol

    • kev mc
      kev mc 4 years ago

      was thinking the same

    • cdzrocks
      cdzrocks 4 years ago

      Zac Schmelzer yeah that seems like a good idea. however, you'd need to be able to secure camera within the snake somehow.

  • Lisa Robbins
    Lisa Robbins 2 years ago +6

    I really needed this!!! Thank you, my friend!

  • Denis Alexeev
    Denis Alexeev 4 years ago +1

    Nice video. Thank you! two questions though. First, did you have to spin your laptop all the time the snake was going down (and then up in reverse). You spin the snake in order to get through pipe turns, did you not? And second, what was the stuff your tenant put down the drain? Just curious of what to expect from tenants :) Thank you.

    • steverahe
      steverahe 3 years ago +3

      Great video~ I like how you chose to use the desktop to switch between the various media you incorporated. I felt you were presenting like on GoToMeeting. I was wondering the same thing as Denis A...If you are pushing it through, that means you aren't really needing the 'corkscrew' to pull yourself forward. But you chose to leave the corkscrew on anyway. Can you explain?
      The reason I'm wondering is because I think the autofocus on your USB camera got a bit crosseyed on the thing that was sitting right in front of his nose, so to speak. In my version I'm thinking of cutting it off the corkscrew for a better view. Or why not try and feed it through the center of the corkscrew?
      Maybe having the camera focused at a specific point like you did keeps the autofocus from constantly changing and seeking something to focus on? what do you think?
      Again, helpful video well done - thank you Chris!

    • Denis Alexeev
      Denis Alexeev 4 years ago +1

      Thank you Chris!

    • Christopher Bennett
      Christopher Bennett  4 years ago +1

      I moved back and forth to get through the pipes and pass turns. No need to spin the snake. I just wanted a visual to make sure there was no tree roots.

      The tenant put grease down the drain. Using a snake without having a visual is a guessing game. If there were tree roots I'd spend too much time trying to snake something that's not going to be taken out with the $500 mechanical snake I have. I don't want to waste my time.

  • German Gary
    German Gary Year ago

    This gave me hope in finding a clog in my drain pipe. I am going to use tape instead of zip-tie to avoid them getting caught on stuff. Thank you for this informative video and giving me hope that I can figure out what's clogged in my drain pipe and atleast get an idea as to how I can retrieve it.

  • mohamed sheikh
    mohamed sheikh 2 years ago +1

    Thanks a million for the great video , You are right about how these plumbers charge . Just to put a clean out estimate was $1200 ,so I went on internet , bought the parts for under $200 and a friend is charging $ 200 labor .Knowledge is power , never give up . We must help each other

    • Eric S
      Eric S Year ago

      Shop around and find an honest plumbing company around you. I am sure you can find a company that isn't out there to rip everyone off. They wouldn't be in business long. If it was digging several feet down outside of the house (or inside for that matter) $1200 may not have been a bad price.

  • mxfern12
    mxfern12 3 years ago +11

    You are the real deal, great problem solving and thank you for sharing. Calling the plumber would eat all of your rental profits!!!

  • Michael Bynum
    Michael Bynum 2 years ago +1

    Thank you SO MUCH for taking your valuable time to make this info video. Well worth it's weight in gold.!

  • muh guyva
    muh guyva 2 years ago +21

    "I like my tools..." love that line. Tools are a lifeline for we the practical.

  • Patrick Kelly
    Patrick Kelly 4 years ago

    Thank you very much, extremely helpful. I'm going to build one of those cameras.

  • Lew S
    Lew S Year ago

    Thank you so much for this! It was a big help!

  • Charles Benford
    Charles Benford 10 months ago

    Great video and thanks. I've ordered a camera from Amazon. I've been dealing with a washer drain for a while now. I really need to see whats there.

  • MrGivmedew
    MrGivmedew 4 years ago

    Thanks, great idea... I have some ideas on how I might do it a little different. I’m not afraid to cut the camera cable at the end then I’ll figure out a way to get it to go through the center of the snake (I hope).

    I don’t know if I’ll be able to do it but I’m going to try.

    This was an awesome idea!!!

    • Lee R
      Lee R 4 years ago

      Find one with a bulb that has wide spacing. You can wrap it thru those spacings and pull the cam back into the tip. The tip of the bulb, depending on type, might be best bent under or snipped, so as not to hang on stuff like paper or roots and get stuck. I tried using poly tubing, like PEX or the black or grown kind for irrigation. Unfortunately it was so tight it allowed water into the cam head. I found out there is .710 tubing that is a hair wider. I keep saying if I get time I'll try it again. Any chance that cam will work if it dried out or should I just get another one they are very cheap online? I'd just like to not have to deal with one of a different size.

  • Jan Lavortex
    Jan Lavortex 4 years ago +2

    I loved your video, thank you for making it You mentioned if you had found roots inthe pipe you would use some kind of chemical or foam to killer them, What would you use?

    • hardkore360
      hardkore360 Year ago

      Oblitiroot is what I have used, treats up to 100 feet of 4" line, however not to be used in septic tank systems.

    • Christopher Bennett
      Christopher Bennett  3 years ago

      Jan Lavortex I would likely call a plumber because once the roots are cleared you will have to replace that section of the line because the roots will continue to grow. I never had to remove any roots so I have no products to recommend.

  • Erin McGuire
    Erin McGuire 4 years ago +1

    This was super helpful! Thank you!!!

  • whokitkat
    whokitkat 2 years ago +2

    Your a dude that can figure out problems. Kudos to you.

  • A Cooper
    A Cooper 2 years ago

    Hey, thanks for the video. How do you push the snake with the camera back into the drum? Or do you just pull out the snake and use the snake without turning on the machine?

  • Brian Tb
    Brian Tb 2 years ago +3

    This is an excellent video man, thanks so much!

  • Loren P.
    Loren P. 4 years ago

    Great video, thanks for taking the time to record and post!

  • Michael Jaworski
    Michael Jaworski 2 years ago +3

    Nice job. very ingenious, I like the way you solved your problem.

  • Bread Knight
    Bread Knight 3 years ago +48

    I like the way you think my brother. May you be rewarded for helping so many looking for this solution. Peace be with you.

  • Marvin Harbour
    Marvin Harbour Year ago +6

    Great idea. Why not put the camera inside the spiral of the auger?

  • Frank Zepeda
    Frank Zepeda 10 months ago

    Thanks Christopher, nice video and very helpful, working on my sewer line right know, cleaning old pipes and maybe replacing them with PVC, thanks a lot friend, Congrats, Frank from Bethany OK.

  • Mitch Denning
    Mitch Denning 7 months ago

    Thank you for this video. I have an underground downspout that is clogged. I had a plumber put 75' of auger down it and couldn't unclog it. I think a video camera will tell me what is going on.

  • SRF Driver
    SRF Driver Year ago

    Having never used a sewer line snake before I have a question: If you zip tie the camera to the snake line then don't they both spin? How do you keep from tearing up the camera cable? Great video!

    • julianoNW
      julianoNW Year ago +1

      I had the same thought, but I think he is not running the snake just using the cable to push it through?

  • sinout044
    sinout044 4 years ago

    Great Idea and thanks for making this video I just ordered a waterproof cam and will try it out on my sewer line....

  • Denise Mamula
    Denise Mamula 6 months ago

    Very informative! Thanks for posting this!

  • Rais Sayed
    Rais Sayed 8 months ago

    Thanks mate !!, appreciate it. Great detailed video.

  • Mary Hall
    Mary Hall 2 years ago +2

    Thank you sooooo much for this tip on savings for future usage bypassing some plumbing bills!!

  • Booozy3050
    Booozy3050 3 years ago

    Good vid I need a similar system for working on a central air system. Will go this route. Thank you!

  • Melody Melendez
    Melody Melendez 4 years ago

    This was very helpful. Thank you for sharing.

  • Matt Owen
    Matt Owen Year ago +1

    Thank you! You saved me like 800$ to remove a METAL GATE HINGE (yeah) from my drain.

  • Veightsc
    Veightsc 4 years ago +1

    Great video! What is the size(1/4, 5/16, 3/8 or 1/2) of the cable that you have the USB camera attached to? Do you think that you could insert the camera and its cable inside the sewer cable and assuming that the sewer cable is hallow? You may have to cut the USB end of the camera and reattach it after you have insert it inside the sewer cable.

    • Christopher Bennett
      Christopher Bennett  4 years ago +1

      I don't remember the size. You should buy the size that best serves you.

      You could probably fit the camera inside the tube but it would be hard to clean because there may be poop in it and you will have a harder time seeing through the camera. Not worth the time.

  • C.T. INT'L.
    C.T. INT'L. Year ago

    Good video Christ! It really helps a lot for DIY...thanks !

  • Howard S
    Howard S 3 years ago

    Very helpful video. Thank you!

  • Dave Major
    Dave Major 2 years ago +2

    Bravo. Nicely done! Keep on inspiring : )

  • Rob Wiinder
    Rob Wiinder Year ago

    Thank You!!! Going to do the same thing to my drains....!

  • steven nawa
    steven nawa 3 years ago +1

    Hay thanks for the video of the video inspection endoscope. About to get one for my pipes as well. By the way for all who would like to know what to use to kill tree roots first try Lye. I say this for 2 reasons. 1. Lye aka Sodium Hydroxide will not harm your pipes. 2. It is very cheap about $4.00 for 12oz. That said it may or may not work. It depends on how much roots you have.

  • Vanessa Weems SS
    Vanessa Weems SS 18 days ago

    My kitchen sink gets clogged every singe year, even though I'm very careful about washing greasy pans I used for cooking. However, even though I wipe the pans before I place them in the sink, so the lgrease won't solidify and form a clog. I'm going to try the scope you made and I'm hoping it will work because as I said I tried everything from Baking soda and Seltzer water, liquid plumber, green gobbler, alcohol, and those little grease eating bugs you place in your catch basin. I have PVC going from the kitchen sink to the basement sink; however, there's no area where I can insert the snake to unclog whatever is there. But if I have roots, as you say, that's a different story. My dad used to have the very stiff metal lines which are probably still used but I can imagine that those things don't do much moving, pulling or pushing of obstruction. They just poke a hole wherever you push or pull them. Thanks. Your video was very helpful. I'm glad you don't have that British English accent, because I can't understand it. Your voice is excellent for this video. Best of Luck to you.

  • Greg
    Greg 2 years ago

    Thanks man. Do you think this camera would have enough depth of field to focus 6 inches away from an object? I know they focus an inch or two but wondering if they have any real depth of field. I couldn't tell from your videos because you were moving when outside the drain pipes.

  • cameriqueTV
    cameriqueTV 3 years ago +32

    The zip ties are going to possibly snag or break loose. Better would be heat-shrink tubing sections every few inches.

    • Big D
      Big D Year ago +1

      Duct tape would work well too, fiber reinforced and water resistant. Either way, I would still band about every 6 inches for measurement. Heat shrink tubing is still a better idea (continuous, doesn’t peel off like tape), but I just happen to already have a lot of duct tape lying around.

      Edit: for heat shrink tubing, a hair dryer works really well for heating and shrinking it. I did this numerous times while building radios from kits.

    • Mike Bergman
      Mike Bergman Year ago +1

      thats a killer idea actually..

  • Matthew Nardin
    Matthew Nardin Year ago +1

    Hey I know this video is old but do you (or anyone else) think that you could cut the usb connector off, feed it through the snake and then splice the wires back together? It looks like the camera could fit inside the wider end which would keep it from getting snagged on things. Just curious to see if someone has seen this done before.

  • Betty Rivets
    Betty Rivets Year ago

    Great video! Gonna try it this for sure on our new house

  • Nathan Holbrook
    Nathan Holbrook Year ago

    Thank you! This saves me a lot of money!

  • Nathan Brown
    Nathan Brown 3 years ago

    Thanks for the idea! I had a plumbing company come out today and they quoted me $572.00 to put a camera down the sink.

  • Hanzi Schultz
    Hanzi Schultz 3 years ago

    Great info. Thank you for sharing it.

  • M m
    M m 8 months ago

    What is your choice of chemical product to clear roots? And would you use it inside the house first if possible (it won't flow backwards on you) or to an outside main drain access?

  • Maugh0372
    Maugh0372 Year ago

    Thank you! Certainly helping me right now.

  • arthur brunetti
    arthur brunetti 3 years ago

    Great video I have a question for you when you put the camera on the cable it spins around how do you stop it from spinning from the power source.

    • Christopher Bennett
      Christopher Bennett  3 years ago

      arthur brunetti this snake is made to see what is down the pipe. Not to spin and take it out.

  • Lior Albaz
    Lior Albaz 2 years ago +3

    Thanks.
    Can you place a camera cable inside the spring? You can cut the cable, thread and reconnect at the end.

    • Christopher Bennett
      Christopher Bennett  2 years ago +1

      Lior Albaz sounds like a good idea. The reason I didn’t is because I wanted to be able to clean it. If your using it for hvac or something then it’s a better idea.

  • Ron Anderson
    Ron Anderson Year ago

    Thank you Christopher for doing this video, you ROCK bro!

  • Paul Camalin
    Paul Camalin Year ago +1

    I have a question. How do you actually locate where the head is from the surface. Are there any cheap ones on Amazon that can achieve that goal? thanks!

    • 101perspective
      101perspective 7 months ago

      I know that the big companies have a device that basically sends a signal and you go outside and walk around until the signal is strongest. That said, when I seen this being used the guy was only certain withing like 7 feet or so. So, not really much help since you can kind of guess that close. That said, maybe he just didn't know how to use it right.

  • Van Le
    Van Le Year ago

    Wonderful tip i've been looking for. Thnks for sharing

  • captainscott2
    captainscott2 3 years ago

    Very well done, very creative!! Thanks for posting.........

  • Billy Markwell
    Billy Markwell 4 years ago +1

    Thanks for the video.....I'm having trouble with my drain field, that set up could help me find out what the problem is...thanks.....

  • Pamela Masci
    Pamela Masci 7 months ago

    You have no idea how much money you just saved me thank you so much

  • roberto zavala
    roberto zavala 4 years ago

    Muy buena Informacion Amigo Gracias. thank you so much.

  • pretzel maker
    pretzel maker 2 years ago +8

    Hey, thank you so much for the video. I have tenants that are MFers. I know that there gonna pull some bs like plug the pipes on there way out the door. There pissed that they have to leave. so im gonna copy your idea and scope the pipes before i return there security deposit. Thanks for saving me time and $ 🙏👍

  • Kevin Davis
    Kevin Davis 2 years ago

    We bought the same sewer machine at Home depot years ago . It has more than paid for it self . In fact I went in with a family member to split the cost of the machine best thing ever most clogs can be cleared in 20 min. And knowing I have it no matter what time it is or on the holidays very good investment. Most sewer drain cleaners charge over $100.00 each time they clear the pipes. The DIY sewer cam very cool idea you might be able to zip tie it to a old garden hose to save more money on the build. Thanks for the cool video.

  • Lisa Sez
    Lisa Sez 3 years ago +1

    Well done... thank you...👏🏻👏🏻

  • Ron Swanson
    Ron Swanson Year ago

    Thanks this is a great way, thanks for all the info

  • Juan d Puerto
    Juan d Puerto 8 months ago

    Thanks Chris! Very helpful!

  • Ryan Edwards
    Ryan Edwards 2 years ago

    Is there a way to attach a locate beacon on the end as well?

  • Paul Williams
    Paul Williams 2 years ago

    Great video, thank you!

  • arechj
    arechj 4 years ago

    Thank you -- very helpful!!!

  • John Molloy
    John Molloy 4 years ago

    ive had problems with mine christopher watched what you did to see and clear and make sure roots are not involve seems a easey but great idea not just to clear but to prove if there is a small/or big problem great watch now i know myself what to do..thanks mate...

  • alex smiles
    alex smiles Year ago

    Thank you for the knowledge Mr. Bennett:)

  • Herman Wulf
    Herman Wulf Year ago

    Could you have run the camera line on the inside of the cable and had the camera protected by the enlarged end?

  • Oscar Gomez
    Oscar Gomez 3 years ago +1

    Thank you great information for not getting ripped off for an hour

  • MDman M
    MDman M 4 years ago

    Many thanks, Chris!!! great DIY

  • kabib0831
    kabib0831 2 years ago +2

    Thanks for the great idea! I actually found your video looking for a company.

  • Michael Dose
    Michael Dose 4 years ago +5

    Nicely done. It seems like you might be able to get the camera inside the end bulb and get a better view. Or use the opposite end and go in backward. Great idea, regardless. My neighbor had the tree root problem and it cost her $3,000. It made me want to get into the plumbing business. Drain pirates I tell you matey.

    • Chief Louie
      Chief Louie 2 years ago

      Relining cost my neighbor $8500 for 30'.

    • Mark
      Mark 3 years ago

      The digging required is more than the plumbing repair.

    • lordlubu21
      lordlubu21 3 years ago

      I'm sorry you guys got screwed we charge $245 dollars for a main line regardless of time.

    • Ralph DeAcetis
      Ralph DeAcetis 3 years ago +2

      I have rentals and I include a list of Additional provisions in each rental agreement among which is the one that says the tenant is responsible for clearing clogged drains that are caused by their not being careful as to what they put down the drains

    • Ralph DeAcetis
      Ralph DeAcetis 3 years ago

      Thanks for the get info.
      In regards to the possible replacement of sewer mains by tearing up your floor, there is a better and cheaper way : relning
      Just search : sewer pipe relining. There is a ton of videos on the subject.

  • Almightybp
    Almightybp Year ago

    Great video...thank you for sharing.

  • MartinIDavies
    MartinIDavies 2 years ago +1

    Chris... great video.. thanks for making and sharing this

  • Passions
    Passions 17 days ago

    Pretty ingenious, Thank you! 👊

  • John Lorenz
    John Lorenz 8 months ago

    I tried an endoscopic camera running within a rubber tube to inspect but your way of attaching the camera to the snake with zip ties is apparently more effective for getting it deep into the pipe. Very good video, Christopher!