Google Pixel 4 and 4 XL review: the best Android experience

Share
Embed
  • Published on Oct 21, 2019
  • The Pixel 4 has at least five major new hardware-based features: face unlock, Motion Sense, the new Google Assistant, the new 90Hz display, and a second telephoto camera lens. It’s also available on all four major US carriers for the first time. The price starts at $799. Here’s The Verge review of the Pixel 4 with Dieter Bohn.
    Read more: bit.ly/2JdHiST
    Subscribe: goo.gl/G5RXGs
    Like The Verge on Facebook: goo.gl/2P1aGc
    Follow on Twitter: goo.gl/XTWX61
    Follow on Instagram: goo.gl/7ZeLvX
    Why'd You Push That Button Podcast: pod.link/1295289748
    The Vergecast Podcast: pod.link/430333725
    More about our podcasts: www.theverge.com/podcasts
    Read More: www.theverge.com
    Community guidelines: bit.ly/2D0hlAv
    Wallpapers from The Verge: bit.ly/2xQXYJr
    Subscribe to Verge Science on RUclip, a new home base for our explorations into the future of science: bit.ly/2FqJZMl
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 1 343

  • happy
    happy 22 hours ago

    I'm still using the Pixel 2 XL, which has a forehead, and I don't mind, so the 4 XL looks fine to me.

  • Mark Kendall
    Mark Kendall Day ago

    Disagree I think the Samsung S10 and note10 take better images than both of these phones

  • Edward Bello
    Edward Bello Day ago

    What Pokemon app is that at screen?

  • Ni Tian
    Ni Tian Day ago

    You activated my hey google. Unsubscribing and reporting you. 😔

  • Nathan Knauss
    Nathan Knauss Day ago

    And since you're getting a Google manufactured phone, you also get very minimum bloat wear or non at all

  • Igor Bujanović
    Igor Bujanović 2 days ago

    A month with Pixel 4 XL, motion sensor works perfect. Do not move your hand hysterically over the phone, calm down, it works great ;-)

  • JPT
    JPT 2 days ago

    my only problem with this phone is the battery and the storage since they remove the unlimited google photo storage.
    if it had like 4500-5000mah, it would've been the best.

  • Kenny Phelps
    Kenny Phelps 3 days ago

    Then there’s the note10 and 1+ 7t pro as well

  • capricorndavid
    capricorndavid 4 days ago

    Best phone review I have seen so far 👍

  • Adrian G
    Adrian G 4 days ago

    What a great review! My first time watching your review and you got everything on point. I had the Pixel 2 XL for almost 2 years now and it was one of the best phones when it came out. I got to say that this phone is worth it if they do drop the price. I got the 4 XL with a pretty good discount and it's worth the price. If Google started the Pixel 4 price lower, it wouldn't be as reviewed negatively by reviewers.

  • Anachronos Anachronos

    To put a phone in the case? Really???? My phone dont have case and is work perfect under water and is shockproof. And most interesting is the price, it cost 105$. And you try to tell me that 1000$ phone need case because when you drop it on the ground and his life gone but 100$ phone dont need because is made it to survive. Why you make 1000$ phone and didnt make it to survite droping and water? Is that normal?

  • David Martrano
    David Martrano 9 days ago

    The reviews are so bad on both pixals I'm buying the 128gb XL anyway. The design is boring but I for one like it. The camera will still be a wonderful experience. The soli-radar is a gimmick but will get better? I will wait for black friday & save a few $$. I don't care what the reviewers say, I'll judge it for myself. Maybe it should have 8gb's & 128gb's of base storage. I don't think the 6gb's of ram will be a problem with performance!

    • Herofromthe90z
      Herofromthe90z 8 days ago

      Personal the looks amazing in person and I love my phone so far 🤷🏾‍♂️

  • Johnny Morris
    Johnny Morris 9 days ago

    Is it smooth when transitioning between screens? I gotta have that smooth buttery experience

  • Johnny Morris
    Johnny Morris 9 days ago

    Pixel 4 had better portrait mode by far...look at 09:19

  • Johnny Morris
    Johnny Morris 9 days ago

    It is true that once you start using face unlock ya get used to it. My stuff works even at night...I never gave it a chance but once I did I've never looked back

  • Chris Vargas
    Chris Vargas 9 days ago

    Where exactly was he shooting @9:48? The place is just beautiful.

  • Daniel Hernandez
    Daniel Hernandez 9 days ago

    Is this phone a better buy over the OnePlus 7 Pro? It'll take a lot of convincing for me to consider the Pixel 4 XL.

  • DanMan!
    DanMan! 10 days ago

    I wish project soli was MORE flakey! It switches songs when I don't want it to all the time lol

  • DanMan!
    DanMan! 10 days ago +1

    If you're worried about face unlock going when you're sleeping, just turn on lockdown before you go to sleep. I dunno why no reviewer has mentioned this

  • Haari N M
    Haari N M 11 days ago +9

    3 reasons why I ordered it :
    1) Fastest Android updates
    2) Camera
    3) It's kinda clean inside
    (My own opinion)

    • Haari N M
      Haari N M 8 days ago

      @Herofromthe90z 👍👍

    • Herofromthe90z
      Herofromthe90z 8 days ago +1

      It looks way better in person I love mine

  • David John
    David John 11 days ago +1

    This review made me buy the phone, and then all the other reviews tore it apart savagely. I still enjoy it. Love the face unlock and the telephoto. Best software on any phone.

    • Johnny Morris
      Johnny Morris 9 days ago

      Is it really smooth with no dropped frames? For me it's either this or galaxy

  • Brad Dunshee
    Brad Dunshee 12 days ago

    Thank you for this. Very informative.

  • Mike L
    Mike L 12 days ago

    Here's the part they left out. On the worst hardware for the price.

  • Shiva Narayan
    Shiva Narayan 12 days ago

    So now someone can unlock ur phone while u sleep and also make payments while you sleep
    Wow google way to go

  • TN Gentleman
    TN Gentleman 13 days ago

    I think the phone colour was edited to look more pink

  • Harshal shetty
    Harshal shetty 13 days ago

    Google shill

  • TheFourthWinchester
    TheFourthWinchester 13 days ago +1

    Google is the King of phone photography.

  • roman2011
    roman2011 13 days ago

    wow...nice vid. great review

  • Erik Feketefoldi
    Erik Feketefoldi 14 days ago

    I was about to NOT buy the Pixel after having every iteration of it... Now I'm having second thoughts.

  • Dual ADV
    Dual ADV 14 days ago

    Tested the astrophotography last night and it's unbelievable

  • Kevin Bryant Sr.
    Kevin Bryant Sr. 14 days ago

    I have trouble taking the Verge seriously..... I still watch though

  • JV Detmer
    JV Detmer 15 days ago

    I don-t care about video, c'mon Google, just do something with the battery and you'll have the perfect phone! at least for me!

  • Tarek jamil
    Tarek jamil 15 days ago

    Again again and say about this phone camera no other side in pone has chepsate parformance in gameing,battery life time,Display quality and other side

  • Epic Rabid
    Epic Rabid 15 days ago

    It is soooo bad!

  • Chucki McGinn420
    Chucki McGinn420 15 days ago

    uh it's Google NO THANKS

  • shottingham
    shottingham 15 days ago

    But why did I choose to upgrade from my S8 to a P4XL? Because Android. To say the VERY least.
    Edit: Thank you for a frank, balanced and fair comparison.

  • silver andrew
    silver andrew 16 days ago

    If face unlock a problem use a pin when you turn off the phone got to use a pin anyway

  • Lorenzo Rey
    Lorenzo Rey 16 days ago

    Paid review by Google

  • Moritz Spohn
    Moritz Spohn 16 days ago

    This review is just amazing! Great Video with incredible quality :)

  • Dean Oldfield
    Dean Oldfield 16 days ago

    I have loved every pixel I've ever had. I like not having bloatware that I don't want, pixel only comes with Google products. The phone is made to work with these apps and it does it well.

  • Dan Green
    Dan Green 16 days ago +1

    Great review. First one I've watched that wasn't so negative.

  • Christian B.
    Christian B. 16 days ago

    Uff ill just wait another year

    Again

  • Emmanuel oShaddai
    Emmanuel oShaddai 17 days ago

    This video should be titled "Good life advice while reviewing the Pixel 4".

  • Istochnik Vladimir
    Istochnik Vladimir 17 days ago

    Hey everyone! I'm a pixel fun. Have every XL version. Everytime was unlucky with the screen - burns a lot. Software is great and camera blew me away, BUT: 11 PRO has much bigger battery and screen is not so dim...with even a little bit worse camera but with wide lense and better video...I really don't know which one to buy. Thank you for all responses. Price is not a concern

  • Quentin COSSON
    Quentin COSSON 17 days ago

    Didn't see those 17min pass

  • Project ElectricEye
    Project ElectricEye 17 days ago

    I feel sick after listening to this...🤮

  • P0ONX5IO
    P0ONX5IO 17 days ago

    Matte rails = nice; glossy surfaces are fingerprint magnets. Apple owner, but hate Apple Design's philosophy of "lets make great renders" vs "lets make products that can survive wear, or wear down gracefully." Hate it.

  • Super Slovak
    Super Slovak 17 days ago

    Welcome to bezel city

  • Shiny Greninja
    Shiny Greninja 18 days ago

    If it goes on sale for Black Friday, I'll buy it. If not, I'll get the 3a.

  • Tiger Gray
    Tiger Gray 18 days ago

    I like my iPhone 11 128gb for $750..👍😅

  • Edwin B
    Edwin B 19 days ago +2

    If you are sleeping with people you don't trust... you have bigger problems than phone selection.

  • Edwin B
    Edwin B 19 days ago +2

    Good review... I didn't detect any - not an iPhone snarkyness - and felt this was a very good review.
    Thanks.

  • brian t
    brian t 19 days ago

    my pixel 4 xl sometimes freezes when i take pictures

  • W Boring
    W Boring 20 days ago

    They aint cheap, but WAY cheaper than the iPhone 11 pro

  • D. Jizzal
    D. Jizzal 20 days ago

    Might have to upgrade from my pixel 3xl 🤔

  • Spencer
    Spencer 20 days ago

    Only question I have..Where to get those pokemon wallpapers

  • Isaac Torres
    Isaac Torres 20 days ago

    Ok what does sweater mode mean guys

  • 213
    213 21 day ago +1

    These are my requirements with the phones I want to buy...
    - Small
    - Flagship SoC
    - Close to stock Android that's upgradeable to Pie
    - No software version higher than 9 out of the box
    That's only 4 requirements but I'm still having a hard time finding a smartphone that fits that mold or I might already own them. Pixel 4 disqualifies itself because it will come with Android 10 which I'm trying to avoid.
    Pixel 3
    Essential Phone
    Nokia 8 Sirocco
    Pixel 2
    Pixel
    Sony Xperia XZ1C & XZ2C don't have the gestures I prefer. So the only one from that list I would get is the Nokia 8 Sirocco. I believe the Snapdragon 835 was the most efficient flagship SoC they released since the 800/801. And the Sirocco also has 260 mAh more than my Essential and slightly smaller display to make the battery life even last longer.
    I could easily get the Pixel 1 or 2 but I already owned the former and feel the 3 is better than either one except for maybe battery life and lacking the headphone jack of the 1. Buying a Pixel 1 or 2 would just feel redundant. There's really no phone out there I want to buy. The Nokia 8 is a little too tall similar to the size of an iPhone XR / 11 / 3a while its Sirocco sibling has similar dimensions to the Essential. Except I hate curved displays.
    If I want to retire my Pixel 3 and Essential in a few years, I will have a difficult time replacing them. I refuse to use any Android version that breaks my Call Blacklist Pro app. I could settle for a Razer Phone 1 or 2 but they're too big. I'm hoping the next Motorola RAZR comes with Pie out of the box. Tough out there to find a phone that can meet my 4 requirements. I know the Pixel 4 won't meet it thanks to Android 10.

  • b lim
    b lim 21 day ago

    I stopped watching after less than a minute when he said the huge top bezel was ok and he got used to it. hello? have you seen phones that cost 1/4 the price of this phone that have no bezel? sorry, but that right there told me this guy is paid off.

  • Scott G.
    Scott G. 21 day ago

    Only 64 and 128GB and no wide angle lens is kind of a deal breaker. Edit: Not to mention the battery size.