2019 Tesla Model S - Review & Road Test

Share
Embed
  • Published on Mar 21, 2019
  • Lest you think we've forgotten about Tesla's Model S in all the 3, X and Y hullabaloo, you'd be mistaken. Here it is, the 2019 Tesla Model S. And how could we forget with Ludicrous mode and that insane dual-motor power. There's so much more to talk about, too, so that's why Micah Muzio is here. Also, he impresses some friends with launches.
    For the latest Tesla Model S pricing and information:
    www.kbb.com/tesla/model-s/
  • Autos & VehiclesAutos & Vehicles

Comments • 829

  • Mr Clam Man
    Mr Clam Man 6 hours ago +1

    moon2M 📣 TESSSSSSLAAAAAAAAAAA

  • Jolene Vilis
    Jolene Vilis 6 hours ago

    I have been a gear head since I could say CAR! I remember every advance in automotive technology in the analog era. Given that realization, and watching a lot of Tesla videos, I now want to experience Tesla for myself!

  • Matt Garcya
    Matt Garcya 6 hours ago

    I just realized it has like 8 cameras but no 360 camera lol I guess it doesn't need it?

  • Niko Kritikos
    Niko Kritikos 2 days ago

    This guy is not funny, Fire him

  • Mike Rogers
    Mike Rogers 4 days ago

    I'm considering this or a BMW M5 (2.8 sec 0-60, closest gas competitor), shopped multiple insurance companies and on average the Model S was $100/month more to insure than an M5. Worth considering, factor that in when you make a decision to buy or pass.

  • calyn cutler
    calyn cutler 5 days ago

    There's a auto pilot setting called "mad max" good God. Wo

  • Jim JC-Jimbo
    Jim JC-Jimbo 7 days ago

    So when did the model s have a 110? Typo?

  • Bo McGillacutty
    Bo McGillacutty 9 days ago

    Good review. Way to big for my use/preference but beautiful car.

  • nischaya tomar
    nischaya tomar 10 days ago +1

    Idiot giving review

  • H B
    H B 11 days ago

    The S stands for SH&^. There used to be normal people out west now there is nothing but nut jobs.

  • Issam Nasr
    Issam Nasr 11 days ago

    Teslaaa king 👑

  • Marcus May
    Marcus May 12 days ago

    Fake

  • Justin Crediblename
    Justin Crediblename 13 days ago

    vehicle specs outdated 1 month later. lol.

  • Karl Smith
    Karl Smith 16 days ago

    Everything toyota Makes Is GARBAGE

  • Linda Del Rio
    Linda Del Rio 16 days ago

    Wow ! I love it .. 😊😗👌👌👏👏👏👍

  • The Black
    The Black 16 days ago

    I hate Tesla. I hate Elon Musk.

  • Sila Deechilad
    Sila Deechilad 16 days ago

    สวยงามมากครับ อยากให้มีขายในเมืองไทยในราคาไม่แพงมาก เทาล่านำเข้ามาภาษี3เท่า

  • Gary I
    Gary I 17 days ago +1

    The Tesla Model S had a 110 - 150 less horsepower and lost by .6 of a second and 3 mph by the BMW 8 Series. Pretty darn good for a car that cost 40% as much and is close.

  • Paul Wagner
    Paul Wagner 17 days ago

    They didnt rename the P100D to P110D just for fun. The 100 in P100D stands for the kWh of the batteries. Your says 100 because it has 100 Kwh the 110 has 110 kWh. Also clearly you not only don't like technological cars but you also don't know how to use it

  • Nick B
    Nick B 17 days ago

    Buy Tesla!

  • Elonius Muskos
    Elonius Muskos 17 days ago +2

    That was a good review, we try to improve the quality!

  • Supahr_Ed
    Supahr_Ed 18 days ago

    Tesla's NoV actually suggests you keep the car to the right (away from the fast lane on the left, except to pass). However, it's annoying since it puts you behind slower traffic

  • Dhulla
    Dhulla 18 days ago

    I do not know why they think it is not a good luxury car. It beats all goslaine car when it comes to drive and comfort. This is simply due to the fact there is so engine noise or vibration....

  • Robert Carter
    Robert Carter 20 days ago

    The main thing all reviews are missing is that most all items are soon to be voice voice voice, just speek to the car

  • Ryan
    Ryan 20 days ago

    sooooo you cant rly have a first tinder date gone sexual on autopilot and still drive safely.... interesting

  • Beauty by Crisha
    Beauty by Crisha 22 days ago

    Come on Betsy lol

  • Edward Gutierrez
    Edward Gutierrez 23 days ago

    It’s not a new car unless I can pull the plastic off of it like a new phone. That would be so satisfying. Recyclable material of course.

  • DesertCookie
    DesertCookie 23 days ago +1

    This is an angry comment!

  • DesertCookie
    DesertCookie 23 days ago

    Have they changed things like the glove box button like they did on the X? It has a lot more physical buttons and is a lot more user friendly, because Tesla realized not everyone was a nerd ready to become intricate with the touchscreen.

  • 10469
    10469 23 days ago

    Every person I have asked how to do they like the Tesla, they all same the same thing , they love it !! Best car they have ever bought.

  • R J
    R J 24 days ago +3

    10:09 The Tesla was saving you a $300 fine from you trying to make an illegal move. You can't go over those double lines on the right, once you entered that section, that's when the system canceled the right lane change. This car knows better than you do. You're welcome.

  • William Dixon
    William Dixon 24 days ago +1

    I'm looking at the model 3 and thinking, I drive a 2011 Avalon and the model S would replace it nicely, but 96 for a car before tax?? The Model 3 the one under performance the one we picked out is 59600, I would love to know what others think, We're not rich, we only paid 110 thousand for the house 20 years ago.

  • Joseph Archer
    Joseph Archer 26 days ago

    I'm ok w auto drive in the same line till I manually change lanes MYSELF.

  • Matt Wilson II
    Matt Wilson II 29 days ago

    The criticism is really nitpicky, at best. This vehicle is a marvel of engineering, both for its features and the time frame in which the company gave birth to it. This car will go down in history as a legend. The competition in the electric market is laughable.

  • usmcsaxoki
    usmcsaxoki 29 days ago

    Seriously though... my dream car. Love your reviews!

  • usmcsaxoki
    usmcsaxoki 29 days ago

    Ah, the Model S. I would love one but I dare not touch the sun for life would be meaningless after.

  • Shy
    Shy 29 days ago

    10:50 hey look a model 3 (far right (viewer left) lane)

  • Go MGTOW
    Go MGTOW Month ago

    The Model 3 is made of steel which will RUST rather quickly, while the Model S is made out of ALUMINUM and it won't rust (unless you add in salt water from winter slush into the mix).

  • Mr Alex
    Mr Alex Month ago

    Can you guys please review a Model x also?

  • Fatboy NOOB
    Fatboy NOOB Month ago

    The cup holder is bad.

  • tran hau
    tran hau Month ago

    Why did he talk so much? I hate watching video in which people talk a lot.

  • Shawn Dean
    Shawn Dean Month ago +1

    A robot could do a better job at presenting this stupid show. -Robot

  • Millard Courtney
    Millard Courtney Month ago

    Loving the video! Looking forward to seeing more uploads.

  • Paul Freedman
    Paul Freedman Month ago

    What I am still wondering is where the spare tyre is stored.

  • Zakariah Lafreniere

    Granny at 5:53 has huge boobs. Just facts.

  • Zakariah Lafreniere

    Have a clown present this beauty to kill sales. Genius.

  • Returning Shadow
    Returning Shadow Month ago

    Autopilot can you or someone else killed. It cannot anticipate other driver's intentions or actions as quickly as a person and if it changes lanes to avoid another vehicle, will it cut off another car in the process making them crash? Or if another car is in the other lane, will it NOT move out of the way and allow the first car to run into you? Autopilot is never a good idea.

  • Returning Shadow
    Returning Shadow Month ago

    I once had a 1995 Chrysler Concorde withe a 3.8L V6 and an 18 gallon gas tank that got me 400 miles per tank and that V6 was pretty damn fast.

    So many people think an electric car is cheaper but they never factor in the cost of installing an electric charger at your house, then the cost on your house electric bill to charge the car and the fact that you have to charge it almost twice as often as putting gas in a regular car. Sure it's fast when you hit the gas but is it more cost effective? And what happens when you live in area where storms tends to knock out the electric grid for a few days or a week? At least with gas cars you can stock up with gas cans.

    Right now electric cars are a gimmick. When one can be made to go 500 miles per charge and the home charger is included with the initial car cost without raising the price drastically, THEN they might be worth something. The government always bitches about emissions but today's gas cars have little to no emissions compared to cars just 20 years ago. By the way that around the turn of the 21 century.
    And what happens if you decide to sell your Tesla? Will the new owner pay to have the home charge removed from your home and installed in theirs. That's yet another cost.

  • BldgWha7
    BldgWha7 Month ago

    Or you could pay half the price for a used Model S with the same exact styling and tech

  • Ian Ffield
    Ian Ffield Month ago

    Kelly Blue Book needs to give the reviewer a raise!

  • Tom Mroz
    Tom Mroz Month ago

    Is it after 2019 REFRESH model ?
    (improved economy and ride quality)

  • Hunter’s Grow Hunter

    When Tesla has the equivalent interior as a Mercedes I will buy 😀 centre odometer please 🇨🇦

    • Mr Scoops
      Mr Scoops 22 days ago

      Hunter’s Grow Hunter never then

  • Thomas Foreman
    Thomas Foreman Month ago +1

    What if, 5 minute Charge 400 mile Range 1,000,000 mile life of battery. Sustainable Clean Renewable Energy. Fundamental shift, Healthy Paradigm. Effective efficient affordable. Tesla Mission to accelerate the worlds transition to sustainable transport.

  • Hani Hassan
    Hani Hassan Month ago

    Scott Lang!

  • Sandy
    Sandy Month ago

    But a 40W incandecent lightbulb is illegal because it destroys the environment.

  • steve sibounheuang
    steve sibounheuang Month ago

    I can't remember the last time I looked at ICE car review. Not even ones with nice feeling interiors.

  • rizzle razzleuno
    rizzle razzleuno Month ago

    Nice video, but I think the most significant part of this review was the demonstration of autopilot. Driving in heavy traffic is a very complicated process, especially as too many drivers are aggressive, stressed out, using a phone or car touch screens, eating, distracted by the passengers or pets, or just not very courteous humans. An experienced human driver is (usually) aware of all these social factors and can take them into account when driving, especially on congested highways or even on relatively open stretches of interstate but used by many large trucks. The autopilot system from Tesla or any other auto companies is not currently able to assess the social environment factor in operating an automobile. In the future when all vehicles have to use autonomous driving, then the cars will "behave" better than the humans and there will no longer be the impact and consequences of human behavior. As seen in this video you were more confidant driving the car yourself than when the autopilot feature was active. More crashes are going to occur if people put too much trust in autopilot and are not paying attention to situations the autopilot does not comprehend. The transition from fully human control of vehicles to fully autonomous control is going to be one of the most difficult events in the history of technology development.

  • Leon
    Leon Month ago

    Hope this will be available in Manila.

  • Stephen Woods
    Stephen Woods Month ago +1

    “I can’t believe you are such a fan boi of the biggest rip off in motoring history! Blah blah blah”..........ok, there you go a stupid angry statement that is pure drivel. I would sell a kidney to get one of these. As a near 60 year old who still remembers driving vehicles from the early 1960’s with all their horrific problems, this Tesla S is the future of transportation that is absolutely from the future. Yes it has issues and compromises. But oh boy, are they moving at a rate of knots to a far more sensitive mode of transportation on this planet. The Tesla range of vehicles are just pure joy and zest. Thanks for this review.

  • atala atala
    atala atala Month ago +1

    Great Review!

  • icecold723
    icecold723 Month ago

    I hope Tesla release a 7 seater mpv.

  • peer
    peer Month ago

    Yuk! I hate electric cars

  • robin cook
    robin cook Month ago

    what if your Dog paws the touch screen

  • William Vann
    William Vann Month ago

    If you buy a Tesla best hope you require no repairs or body work. The net is replete with horror recounts of months of waiting time.

  • Bong Lim
    Bong Lim Month ago

    I'm surprised that there are many Tesla haters in the US I think Americans should be proud of Tesla & its achievement Japanese automakers are mostly successful because of its people, they are very nationalistic They patronize their own This is not a judgemental comment, just curious

  • Eric Clifton
    Eric Clifton Month ago

    The "Full Self-Driving" designation has nothing to do with current features and everything to do with planned features. Just added it on to my Model 3 in anticipation of progress this year.

  • James Rennie
    James Rennie Month ago +2

    Great video. I love these cars so much. Might be able to afford one when I retire but will watch in ore and admiration until then..

  • Logan Russell
    Logan Russell Month ago

    The hump is for the transmission dawg 😂

  • areitu
    areitu Month ago

    When the battery is warming up for Ludicrous mode, you can still drive the car around. It might even help the battery heat up faster! I also appreciate the FSD features test. $5000 is a lot of money and that test will definitely help people decide whether or not to spring for it

  • bateslabel
    bateslabel Month ago +2

    Heck of a car but 130K.......that's just Ludicrous

    • Oshe Shango
      Oshe Shango Month ago +1

      For its performance, the cars that give you similar numbers are 250 k. This is a luxury car.

  • Joe Mengler
    Joe Mengler Month ago

    Has anyone called the number at 7:26 ?

  • Turt Tv
    Turt Tv Month ago

    “Go humans” 😂

  • Rommel the Cat
    Rommel the Cat Month ago

    It's doubtful Tesla will be in business in two years.

    • Rommel the Cat
      Rommel the Cat Month ago

      @Oshe Shango Well they got $2B more today by diluting their shareholders. Not good news. They will never be a profitable company.

    • Oshe Shango
      Oshe Shango Month ago +1

      That's what they said 2 years ago. People like you are worse than doomsday conspiracy theorists.

  • marcio shiokawa
    marcio shiokawa Month ago

    it just looks like a Barbie thing.... I just can't get over it. I want one nice electric car, but...this current design must change

  • Joshua Grow
    Joshua Grow Month ago +1

    Awesome awesome review 2 tumbs up

  • Jovan Ramjewan
    Jovan Ramjewan Month ago

    This review is a little outdated now lol

  • Jeff Louzada
    Jeff Louzada Month ago

    The transitions and camera movements are butter

  • Wade McLure
    Wade McLure Month ago

    13:07 Holy crap, look at that gap on the right side of the hood, looks like your finger might fit into that one... :-/

  • Jason Moyle
    Jason Moyle Month ago +2

    Nice car but the presenter was an idiot, especially cutting across 3 lanes of traffic in a short distance to make an off-ramp.

  • Scott Cleveland
    Scott Cleveland Month ago

    I want it!

  • לאון אשורוב

    Seriously, this car is amazing I want one so bad but I have a Bugatti 1736 driven on rocks

  • Private Privacy
    Private Privacy Month ago +1

    Why is this 45 year old guy dressed like a prepubescent 6th grade boy? If anyone sees him lurking around playgrounds, notify your local authorities.

  • jini ishumi
    jini ishumi Month ago

    Dream girl 🤙

  • Everin Malpica
    Everin Malpica Month ago

    It's time people stop supporting vehicles that consume non-renewables resources. That one is too expensive, but, we are holding on any vehicles purchases until we can also move into an electric vehicle.

  • light green
    light green Month ago

    At least one of my fellow Americans understands how to drive on the freeway keep right except to pass

  • Rafael Oliveira
    Rafael Oliveira Month ago

    car of my dreams!

  • Aren Jay
    Aren Jay Month ago +2

    You can also sleep in the back if your tired from driving.

  • Meadmaker 452
    Meadmaker 452 Month ago

    Great review!! Would like to see you do a review of the Model X at some point, too!

  • Sandy
    Sandy Month ago +1

    A Model 3 violently and spontaneously erupted in a massive explosion yesterday. Fortunately no one was within the 50 ft blast zone. It was caught on surveillance video in an all concrete parking garage. Any family inside, or out, would have been instantly incenerated, and a residential home would have been leveled and burned to the ground. Lithium is INSANELY dangerous and should be outlawed for use in cars.

    • Sandy
      Sandy Month ago

      @proto
      No, gasoline doesn't erupt in a massive house-leveling explosion when it makes contact with a single oxygen molecule via air or water, resulting in a follow-on non-extinguishable white hot fire that kills first responders, other victims near the scene, and instantly incinerates even the bones and teeth of the EV occupants. Any deformation for any reason, of any of the 22,000± Tesla cells, absolutely guarantees the above.
      You do understand that all first responders are trained to stay far away from damaged EVs upon arrival. EV occupants die unassisted. Sadly, your extreme environmental selfishness (depriving everything green of CO2 and warmth) means the same for those you hit.

    • proto
      proto Month ago

      Lol you’re delusional. The battery had obviously been punctured earlier in the day which resulted in the fire. Happens to gas vehicles when the gas tank gets punctured, at least electric vehicles don’t explode! Also it was in China could have also been a Tesla knockoff lol.

  • akuapiatas
    akuapiatas Month ago

    the interior is looking dated

    • Oshe Shango
      Oshe Shango Month ago

      An update is definitely coming soon according to leaks.

  • Lalodiegoworld
    Lalodiegoworld Month ago

    Why does that worry me 😂 1:13

  • Jaxx Brat
    Jaxx Brat Month ago

    Im gonna have trouble sharing this car with its robotics

  • Nat Shain
    Nat Shain Month ago

    Chevy Volt uses less gas than Tesla, Nissan Leaf or Chevy Bolt The state of California gives a larger rebate to Tesla owners than to Chevy Volt owners because the Tesla is a “Zero Emission” car. In reality the Chevy Volt is closer to zero emission than the Tesla. This may not make sense to you so please read on to see my reasoning. As an owner of three different Chevy Volts Plug in electric / gas hybrid cars since 2011, I can affirm you that my experience with those three cars and my experience with the Chevy Volt is that they use much less fossil fuel (Gas) than Tesla, Nissan leaf or Chevy Bolt. This may sound as an absurd statement but if you let me explain to you why, then it may make more sense, When a person owns an all electric car (Tesla, Leaf, Bolt) it is never a primary car. The owner must own a second car as the primary car. This is usually a regular gas car that in the long run it uses much more fossil fuel than a Chevy Volt. In other words the total fossil fuel usage for this household is much more than that for a person who owns a Chevy Volt. The Chevy Volt for this household is the primary car (no range limit) and there is no need for a second (more long distant) reliable car. Also should note the environmental impact of owning two cars over one car which would include parts that needs to be replaced and those used parts will eventually end in the dump, 4 additional rubber tires to care for, oil changes, transmission oil, brake pads, tune ups, cost for the additional insurance etc. As soon as a person purchases an all electric car he develops a (RAD) range anxiety disorder, it is a disease I invented in my head to explain to you how a new owner of an all electric car starts to thinks shortly after purchasing the car ( sort of similar to buying a Boat: as the saying goes: the two happiest days in a man’s life is the day he buys a Boat and the day he sells it). Most of the general public (even most owners of the Chevy Volt) are not aware of this “RAD”. When an owner of a Chevy Volt travels any distant he will always be going from point A to point B. When an owner of a Tesla, Leaf, Bolt travel any distance that is close to the 50% range of the car’s battery capacity or more, he or she no longer can travel from point A to point B. It will always will be point A to point C. The reason is point B will HAVE TO BE a stop to use some form of a commercial charger thus diverting from A to B path (travel distance increased so is the fossil fuel usage) and the commercial charger uses of (fossil fuel) to charge the car. Example if a Tesla owner lives in Pasadena, Ca. wants to visit relatives in San Diego, Ca.. This Tesla owner will be very apprehensive that his or her car my not make the round trip and they could get stranded somewhere in between putting their life on the line. They have to stop at some Tesla charging station in between to get the Tesla charged or the battery switched while the relative who lives in San Diego will use their gas guzzling (fossil fuel) car to pick them up at the Tesla charging station to bring them to their house and when they are done visiting, this relative will have to take them back to the charging station using the same gas guzzling car, that is four trips. When owners of an all electric car taking any extended trip they must be on their toes learning and knowing the whole network that they can use to recharge their car (Point B to point C). If those charge stations are busy charging other cars then they must wait possibly buying foods and drinks (that used fossil fuel to make, and produce more trash to fill landfills). If the car is completely discharged then they will have to stay at a hotel overnight, because those All- Electric cars can take as much as 18 hours to fully recharge. Boy think about the amount of fossil fuel used to keep a person in a hotel overnight, electricity to operate AC / Heater, watching TV, hair drying, washing sheets and towels, laundry, food and the trash generated by such a one night stay. They also will need some form of transportation from the charging station to the hotel and back (more fossil fuel). Those all electric car companies may use sells gimmicks like DC charging where you can get quick charging in a short period of time. I say nonsense, you have to find a charging station with such a DC charging capability and hopefully there is nobody else ahead of you waiting to use it. Some people might thing in the back of their head that some hotels may have a one or two charging station for customers to use, I can guarantee you that those charging station will charge you an arm & a leg (more direct and indirect fossil fuel use) before you charge your car. In other word they: CHARGE LOTS OF MONEY TO CHARGE YOUR CAR. My experience with hotels chargers is that they either don't work or you can not charge your car with them (Tesla requires a special charger). If Tesla owners think that they can knock on peoples doors and ask them if they would allow them to use their electrical outlet in their garage to charge their car while they are sitting in their car, they better think again. It is not only unpractical, not workable and damn right dangerous. In some areas around the country if you knock on peoples door to recharge your car then you could end up on some TV true crime show. When I was a child my father told me the following saying “Good health is like a crown on the heads of healthy people, only sick people can see”. Chevy Volts drivers wear a crown (No Range Anxiety Disorder) only owners of Tesla, Leaf & Bolt drivers can see this crown. The state of California calls those all electric cars as “Zero Emission” while in fact they either directly or indirectly use more gas than the Chevy Volt. The Chevy Volt should be the car that gets the White pool lane sticker and should get more state rebate than the Tesla. People who have never owned a Chevy Volt have no idea how little gas it uses. Over the past almost 8 years of using my Chevy Volts most of the times I can not even remember the last time I purchased gas. Chevy Volt is also a great maintenance free car, I can write a real long article about all the benefits of owning a Chevy Volt but not this time. I think Mr. Bob Lutz (the person who forced GM to make the Volt) against all odds i.e. “GM engineers” should receive the Nobel prize for his idea and persistence. Had GM added a gas generator in the Chevy Bolt the same size as the gas generator in the Chevy Volt then the Chevy Bolt would have become (BVOLT) and would have become the greatest selling car in the world. Unfortunately Mr. Bob Lutz no longer works for GM and GM executive are now forced to listen to “GM engineers” to make their decisions. Even if I lived in an apartment building with no electric outlets in the parking section I will still purchase a Chevy Volt to use it as a gas only car. On gas only, without ever being plugged in for charging, it gets more than 40 miles per gallon. This mileage combined with almost no maintenance and the incredible torque this car has, makes this car better than the gas cars made by Honda, Toyota, Nissan combined. The 100% electric drive makes the main function of the gas engine is to charge the battery or run the electric motor. This means this gas engine is under no stress to propel the car which make this engine run under little mechanical degradation, which means it can easily run half a million to one million miles without much of a problems. Until someone makes an All-Electric car that is powered by a super-capacitor (or other means) that can be fully charged in minutes AND those charging facilities are present at all gas stations, then All-Electric cars are not “Zero Emission” and not even close to being the lowest emission cars on the market. Super-capacitor cars I do not envision to be around anytime soon and until such a car becomes a reality then I say to the whole world that is watching : “The Emperor's New Clothes, he hasn't got anything on,". To all the auto industry CEO's with visions, missions of a “Zero Emission” cars : the jig is up because it is not in the All-Electric cars. The Volt has the lowest emission of most if not all (including All-Electric) cars and should receive the Nobel prize for being the greatest car ever built. Owner of 3 Chevy Volts for 8 years.

  • JerseyMark
    JerseyMark Month ago

    Any guy around my age that still plays Atari is okay in my book!

  • limodriven
    limodriven Month ago

    Great, thorough review. Awesome job.

  • Jacob Peterson
    Jacob Peterson 2 months ago

    so how did he get the door handle open when you need to after the initial time walking up to the car?

  • cjcoolmoed
    cjcoolmoed 2 months ago

    Yeah I wouldn’t trust auto pilot either. Your still the one to get a ticket in an accident.

  • Andy Swift
    Andy Swift 2 months ago

    They never could explain why these cars lose a lot of baterry power over the night.
    Like 40 miles, on a Model 3 (said someone over RUclip)

  • Andrew Church
    Andrew Church 2 months ago

    Great video, but I’m really angry 😡 about it! 😂😂

  • Bill Pickney
    Bill Pickney 2 months ago

    “Keep right, except to pass.” PREACH