2019 Corvette Stingray Convertible: The next classic droptop | Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Feb 22, 2019
  • 2019 Corvette Stingray Convertible is Chevy's classic drop top. When the temperature goes up, the top goes down on this seventh generation V8-powered sports car. Read the full review - roadshow.co/Aw46dj
    ► Subscribe & hit the 🔔 for more Roadshow videos
    Visit us online at www.TheRoadshow.com
    Twitter @Roadshow : Roadshow
    IG @RoadshowAutos : RoadshowAutos
    Facebook: RoadshowAutos/
    ► Don’t miss our next video! Hit the 🔔
    #Chevy #corvette #stingray
    ____
    RV19STACK
  • Autos & VehiclesAutos & Vehicles

Comments • 83

  • Big Coin
    Big Coin 29 days ago

  • Mad69Russian
    Mad69Russian Month ago

    Who let her out of the kitchen?

  • Adam Charles
    Adam Charles 3 months ago

    *460 hp

  • Norsaskriv
    Norsaskriv 4 months ago

    For alternatives, you forgot to mention the F-type. The biggest engine is comparable.

  • apheus27
    apheus27 6 months ago

    Conspicuously didn't mention the Camaro SS, which incidentally enough, comes with the EXACT same engine, virtually identical performance numbers, and also comes in a convertible.

  • BYSMA4th
    BYSMA4th 6 months ago +1

    Here's a couple of items worth mentioning: the black wheels with the Z51 brakes will get caked with brake dust within 50 miles of normal driving. It makes the wheels look rusted within a couple of drives. Also, the manual 7 speed on the Corvette is an excellent gearbox that feels like a proper sports car transmission and not something meant for a truck (like previous generations).

  • mistertee
    mistertee 6 months ago

    @emme - this or an RS5 Cabrio?

    • Jack Speed
      Jack Speed 6 months ago

      no doubt: C7 stingray convertible with Z51 and 7 speed manual and you will smile every whole day, greetings from Gemany ( we own one )

  • john reicher
    john reicher 6 months ago

    GREAT VIDEO THANKS

  • Walter J. C
    Walter J. C 6 months ago

    As good a review as any other you tuber. Good job. Thanks for NOT begging for subscribers

  • Francisco Velazquez
    Francisco Velazquez 6 months ago +3

    She looks great with a nice rear end, and the car looks great too.

  • TechDove
    TechDove 6 months ago +4

    Corvette, the king of sports cars 😍

  • Scott Nyob
    Scott Nyob 6 months ago

    Corvette... The grandpa-mobile for the ones who are trying to hold on to their youth.
    For 85 to 100k plus, I will go German.

    • BYSMA4th
      BYSMA4th 3 months ago

      @Adam Charles nah, Corvettes don't have the agile turn in that Porsches do. Not sure its because of fatter front tires or suspension geometry, but a Porsche still corners better.

    • Adam Charles
      Adam Charles 3 months ago

      @BYSMA4th I think the Grand Sport handles better than a Porsche.

    • BYSMA4th
      BYSMA4th 6 months ago +2

      I went German first, had a Porche Boxster S which had the world famous German reliability - ie always broken down and needing an exotic part that costs way more than it should. Got tired and bought a Z51, much better all rounder and way cheaper to own. It's maybe 15% worse handling than a Boxster but 50% better engine, with better quality interior. Also Im 27, I don't have any kids that I know of much less grandchildren.

    • Fred K
      Fred K 6 months ago +1

      And you will be slower with MUCH higher repair and maintenance bills. Good on ya, mate...

    • TechDove
      TechDove 6 months ago +1

      Scott Nyob I'm 28. I have a 2003 Z06 do I qualify for a senior discount?

  • MIND GAME
    MIND GAME 6 months ago

    here no enough road for this car.

  • Carlo Garcia
    Carlo Garcia 6 months ago

    all of these complaints about automatics...if that's what the people order and buy what can the automakers do? It's like all the hate towards crossovers. If people are buying them up and they are taking over the market, what do you expect the automakers to do? Quit crying already. If you want to buy a stick shift Corvette - buy them while you can. Sheesh.

  • the great all mighty G
    the great all mighty G 6 months ago +1

    She would race you

  • Earlando Johnson
    Earlando Johnson 6 months ago +2

    Honestly the only competition comes from in-house, the Camaro. A little cheaper and 2 backseats at the cost of .2 to .4 seconds.

  • Vernon Price
    Vernon Price 6 months ago +3

    FYI to all of Roadshow: You can get the Corvette - any variety, including the Z51 convertible as shown in this video - with a manual transmission. The amount of complaining done about the auto transmission makes you guys look really stupid. All you needed to say was that you would rather have it with the available manual transmission. Instead, you came off like you weren't aware of the manual option. Come on, guys. Do your homework first.

  • Skip Hedgepath
    Skip Hedgepath 6 months ago +2

    Nice job, but terrible seating position. I happen to like the c7 coupe & vert. Great performance car for the money, plus it can be used as a daily driver.

  • 93455Driver
    93455Driver 6 months ago

    Would love to see the odd combined carfection and roadshow channel update, Cooley, Stearn, Henry, Emme, etc., just talking cars world be fun.

  • Gene Ebeling
    Gene Ebeling 6 months ago +4

    _Subscribed. That said, your review was decent yet this is a high performance car, with gobs of torque even in the entry level, which is like 60 to 70 percent cheaper than an exotic with the same lightening fast acceleration. The downside, the interior is of an American car, a Chevy for goodness sakes. I wouldn't call the interior dated though as every single automotive journalist since the 1960's uses this analogy (okay, being a bit glib, but you get my point). Bottom line, the interiors' post C4 Corvettes have been better and better in quality and it shows in this C7. Frankly for a Stingray not in convertible guise to cost in the high 50s to low 60s, the car is one formidable 'bow-tie'. Interior quality be damned._

  • Blake Swan
    Blake Swan 6 months ago +2

    Love the C7. Really just hate the adhesive smell inside the car from the blues on the plastic. Very minor quibble. Love that its manual and love that it is still affordable. Embarrasses the new Supra for the price. Really hope the C8 won't be unattainable like Chevy seems to be doing with al there vehicles msrp lately

  • George Pizzinato jr
    George Pizzinato jr 6 months ago

    Should be a V8

  • Bill H
    Bill H 6 months ago

    Godzilla lives in Vette’s world.

  • Bill H
    Bill H 6 months ago

    No Z06 fo you!

  • Christopher Lynn Johnson

    Art!

  • Alberto Perez
    Alberto Perez 6 months ago +1

    who's mom is that?

  • 2WhiteAndNerdy
    2WhiteAndNerdy 6 months ago

    Always love Emmie's reviews. Shes the best! :)

  • TexasMonster
    TexasMonster 6 months ago +6

    Check your seating position, if that airbag deploys...she is toast.

  • Jerry Lee
    Jerry Lee 6 months ago

    0.14 someone has damaged the paint on this car when washing.

  • Car Story
    Car Story 6 months ago

    I’ve been waiting for 2016 z51 LT2 C7s to fall bellow $40k. That’s when I’ll buy another Corvette.

    • Fred K
      Fred K 6 months ago

      They're getting close. I just picked up a 2015 2LT Z51 with over 4 years left on the extended warranty, only 20K miles on it, showroom condition, and lots of other options (wheels, targa, pdr, comp seats) for $41K (private seller). I did not want to wait for the spring weather price increase, nor did I want to hang onto my c6 any longer. Not sure there's much more content in a 2016 if any. Good luck; you will LOVE it...

  • CKPHH
    CKPHH 6 months ago +4

    Dislike

  • Eric Miller
    Eric Miller 6 months ago +4

    Grandma school teacher
    Telling us about a 6 year old vette

  • Matt's Cars & Music
    Matt's Cars & Music 6 months ago +3

    Very beautiful Corvette, the Stingray is a classic Corvette trim, I love it!

  • FastLikeUNO
    FastLikeUNO 6 months ago

    Every good Barbie deserves a Ferrari...
    So does that mean every good Ken owns a Corvette???

  • Christopher O'Grady
    Christopher O'Grady 6 months ago +8

    Would be perfect with the manual

    • man_like _Dylan
      man_like _Dylan Month ago

      Lmao good for you you'll never be able to afford it

  • Alexander Tressor
    Alexander Tressor 6 months ago +11

    This is unwatchable...!

  • JS1
    JS1 6 months ago +1

    most German brands refresh after 3-4 years. Never understood why American cars will run a model 6,7,8+ years without remodel or face lift.

  • roguedogx
    roguedogx 6 months ago

    DONT GO AFFORDABLE CORVETTE CONVERTIBLE!! I
    Also, Emme. If you dont like the current Corvette's interior, the next one isn't going to leave you much happier. Till you look at the MSRP, then you'll be way less happy.
    Point is, I'm really going to miss this car when it goes. If only I could afford it. I'm not saying its perfect, it's as good as what I think the idea of what a Corvette could be. That definition is about to change dramatically, and that makes me sad to see this wonderful chapter come to an end.
    Great review as always.

  • gsxellence
    gsxellence 6 months ago +2

    Emmie is the Best. "Road House" lol j/k Road Show is awesome :) Thanks C/Net For having such an awesome team!

  • Sergei G.
    Sergei G. 6 months ago

    There is no such roads in United States for so many horsepowers

  • awmustang420
    awmustang420 6 months ago +2

    When you do a review of a convertible you have to show the top going up and/or down. It's usually a fantastic ballet and something us viewers don't often get to see.

  • Adam Bernard
    Adam Bernard 6 months ago +1

    What a shape, it still looks AWESOME!

  • Sergio Davila
    Sergio Davila 6 months ago +2

    Holy moly.. she' great.

  • Ivan Vojt
    Ivan Vojt 6 months ago

    Was this car detailed by the "Three Blind Mice"?

    • Roadshow
      Roadshow  6 months ago +1

      Those mice did a wonderful job given their condition.

  • Matthew
    Matthew 6 months ago +2

    I freaking love Emme!

    • Roadshow
      Roadshow  6 months ago +1

      Emme freaking loves you!

  • Steve Jones
    Steve Jones 6 months ago

    Emme, how come you didn't show us how the top operates?

  • Matthew Shields
    Matthew Shields 6 months ago +6

    The look of the paint at the beginning of the video is painful. That car needs some detailing love.

    • Jerry Lee
      Jerry Lee 6 months ago

      Poor washing method.

    • Matthew Shields
      Matthew Shields 6 months ago

      @Roadshow Yeah, it's shocking they didn't send it in pristine condition!

    • Roadshow
      Roadshow  6 months ago

      Sometimes, time doesn't permit. But Chevy should have sent her pristine in the first place.

  • Brian Willaman
    Brian Willaman 6 months ago +4

    Quality is subpar? what? The interior is fantastic! I think they did an outstanding job!

    • BYSMA4th
      BYSMA4th 6 months ago +2

      I think car reviewers fall into the trap of comparing this against a 911 or SL. Those cars are way more expensive than a Z51... I own a Z51 coupe and test drove similarly priced Z4 and Boxster and the materials inside felt similar quality on the whole, though in 2014 the Corvette's digital dash was more tech than you got in the competition.

    • Carlo Garcia
      Carlo Garcia 6 months ago +1

      @Kurt Kennedy - i think it's hilarious and frustrating at the same time...when the C7 came out the interior was fantastic, up to date, great materials, etc...now a short 5 years later the interior is sub par, materials are cheap, the design is old - whatever.

    • Kurt Kennedy
      Kurt Kennedy 6 months ago +2

      i agree with you. interior is fantastic! came out in 2014 and still holding up

  • Abdullah Senani
    Abdullah Senani 6 months ago

    (1:30) ... God intended it ... ?!

  • Trans 8
    Trans 8 6 months ago +1

    The only future the Corvette mark has, is a mid-engine "value" super car.

  • Paul M
    Paul M 6 months ago +6

    Still looks great. I personally take the Grand Sport version, but this was a superb generation.

  • Laquinta Chappell
    Laquinta Chappell 6 months ago

    Hate chevy

  • Asmir Sut
    Asmir Sut 6 months ago +3

    I feel ashamed for watching this review.

  • Miz mila
    Miz mila 6 months ago +2

    Awesome

  • Ilias G1
    Ilias G1 6 months ago

    Wow,i thought this was the mid engine corvette for one second...

  • Sacatolas Moreira
    Sacatolas Moreira 6 months ago +7

    Don’t like this woman

    • stickloaf
      stickloaf 6 months ago +2

      she is prettier than you so i understand

  • Dhruba Dasgupta
    Dhruba Dasgupta 6 months ago +17

    Who did the editing? The production quality went way up! Keep it up!

    • J C
      J C 6 months ago +3

      Is it the wide screen that you liked? I saw the video in wide screen - fills up my monitor - and I enjoyed it.

  • Darren
    Darren 6 months ago

    And you get to be punished with numerous GM deafening alarms 🚨 for seatbelts, keys in and whatever

  • Trolly
    Trolly 6 months ago +7

    This presenter sucks

    • Trolly
      Trolly 6 months ago +2

      Darren she’s a windshield licker

    • Darren
      Darren 6 months ago +1

      Trolly that’s who drives corvettes today, why do they sit so close to wheel ?

  • Jared Rosenholtz
    Jared Rosenholtz 6 months ago +19

    Emmie, you are excellent always. I love seeing your enthusiasm come through on camera!