A REALLY Weird PC… - System76 Thelio Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Jun 16, 2019
  • Join the Club for only $5 at www.dollarshaveclub.com/linus
    Thanks to our sponsor Dollar Shave Club, new members get their 1st month of the Daily Essentials Starter Set including trial-sized versions of their Body Cleanser, One Wipe Charlies’ Butt Wipes, and Shave Butter along with their Executive Razor for ONLY $5 with FREE shipping
    Use offer code LINUS to get 20% off everything on lmg.gg/mospack4
    There’s more than one company that makes its own operating system and hardware, and today, we’re taking a look at System76’s Thelio, an open source design you can build yourself.
    Buy Thelio from System76: lmg.gg/8KVR5
    Discuss on the forum: linustechtips.com/main/topic/1073407-a-really-weird-pc%E2%80%A6-system76-thelio-review/
    Our Affiliates, Referral Programs, and Sponsors: linustechtips.com/main/topic/75969-linus-tech-tips-affiliates-referral-programs-and-sponsors
    Get Private Internet Access today at geni.us/7lLuafK
    Displate metal posters: lmg.gg/displateltt
    Linus Tech Tips merchandise at www.LTTStore.com/
    Linus Tech Tips posters at crowdmade.com/linustechtips
    Our Test Benches on Amazon: www.amazon.com/shop/linustechtips
    Our production gear: geni.us/cvOS
    Twitter - twitter.com/linustech
    Facebook - facebook.com/LinusTech
    Instagram - instagram.com/linustech
    Twitch - www.twitch.tv/linustech
    Intro Screen Music Credit:
    Title: Laszlo - Supernova
    Video Link: ruclip.com/video/PKfxmFU3lWY/video.html
    iTunes Download Link: itunes.apple.com/us/album/supernova/id936805712
    Artist Link: soundcloud.com/laszlomusic
    Outro Screen Music Credit: Approaching Nirvana - Sugar High ruclip.com/user/approachingnirvana
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 4 201

  • Linus Tech Tips
    Linus Tech Tips  28 days ago +306

    Use offer code LINUS to get 20% off everything on lmg.gg/mospack4

    • midnightwolf
      midnightwolf 7 days ago

      Still not big enough to replace my old Targus built for 2 very thick laptops, and tons of accessories.

    • alysdexia
      alysdexia 12 days ago

      @lazypizzaguy gibberish

    • pxc
      pxc 19 days ago

      @alysdexia is the pricing actually that tilted in Apple's favor?

    • lazypizzaguy
      lazypizzaguy 19 days ago

      @alysdexia learn how to not be an trump.

    • alysdexia
      alysdexia 19 days ago

      @Biophosphorodellecrystalluminicent Archetype luminescent, dolt

  • Diego Linde
    Diego Linde 14 hours ago

    Sorry, System76 is too expensive.

  • Leslie Savege
    Leslie Savege 2 days ago

    I didn't like the website either for the same reasons Linus mentioned.

    Linus shows his ignorance of Linux, when he talks about it, like the way software is loaded, which is pretty standard now. 2:35

    It runs faster and leaner than Windoze, who likes to look over your shoulder.

  • peabody
    peabody 2 days ago

    I bought a thelio and its very stylish very powerful and DESIGNED to run Linux 0 compatibility issues. Yes i could have built my own, then you are stuck with individual parts that you need to rma if something goes wrong AND may not be compatible with Linux. You see, Ive been running Linux for 3 yrs and will NOT go back to windows........EVER! Hell, windows will not even install on this machine at all. Trust me Ive tried multiple ways and times! IMO it's money well spent!

  • Force
    Force 2 days ago +1

    I don't like that 76!

  • Vaijanath Madugolkar

    I installed POP on my dell XPS 12. Since POP OS have enforced the disc encryption most of the time when i start my computer it just sits on auth page without response.
    When i install ubuntu i have choice to not encrypt my disc.

    • gilkesisking
      gilkesisking 2 days ago +1

      @Vaijanath Madugolkar :) yeah cool, but you probably want to make yourself one anyway for security.
      sudo passwd username
      Just to be on the safe side.

    • Vaijanath Madugolkar
      Vaijanath Madugolkar 2 days ago

      gilkesisking I just tried installing solution is simply " Simply select to not set a password, and you don't have encryption"

    • gilkesisking
      gilkesisking 2 days ago

      Disc encryption is done by default during the PopOS install. Its not "enforced", if you don't want that ( say you're a storing game files on the same disk ) then you can select the advanced install option and set it up how you want, with or without encryption.

  • Jan Enemark
    Jan Enemark 3 days ago

    Linus, you should watch destinationlinux.org, and then join the program once. These guys will make you much wiser on the posibilities using Linux OS.

  • Snypa007
    Snypa007 9 days ago

    the 80's background interference is more annoying than the review! I literally can not watch this because of it!

  • Defunct Lizard
    Defunct Lizard 12 days ago

    You don't need to compile a kernel to install linux, Not everything is gentoo. Jeez linux is super easy to install, learn, and use.

  • Clovet Music
    Clovet Music 13 days ago

    Expensive done right

  • Lindsay
    Lindsay 14 days ago

    Proprietary case with open source software thats been unpopular for decades?

  • Vinicio Coelho
    Vinicio Coelho 14 days ago

    They are awesome bit expensive.

  • Generic Eric
    Generic Eric 15 days ago

    It's imperative to mention Lutris as well as Proton.

  • Eli Santana
    Eli Santana 15 days ago

    I know System 76 has to make money but their mark-up on hardware is unacceptably high. They charge RTX 2080 price for a 2070. Come on now. Sell the cards at cost at least.

  • Kagyu Breigh
    Kagyu Breigh 15 days ago

    OMG, this song is from a game or sounds super similar to one! It's on the tip of my brain... uggghh .. I can't even hear what Linus is saying anymore. This.. is killing me

  • bean stalker
    bean stalker 15 days ago

    Let me introduce your IO to my Dremel.

  • Captain Comrade
    Captain Comrade 16 days ago

    When are you going to bring back 16:9 videos?

  • greg roberts
    greg roberts 16 days ago

    I love seeing people building a machine like this, great review linus

  • Anil Gulati
    Anil Gulati 17 days ago +1

    Better than a cheese grater

  • Mike M
    Mike M 18 days ago +4

    I'm watching this on Pop OS 19.04 on my W3690 Dell Workstation with an RX 560. And it runs fast!

    • J 984
      J 984 16 days ago

      I'm watching this on Windows xp and it runs..... NOSTALGIC!

  • MaDoTPG
    MaDoTPG 18 days ago

    linux tech tips

  • Bon Bonjovi
    Bon Bonjovi 18 days ago

    Linus is the type of guy who drinks soda out a can

  • kakaido
    kakaido 19 days ago

    Just disable telemetry and use Windows 10

  • Anton Zadorozhniy
    Anton Zadorozhniy 19 days ago

    System76 is great but you should really check out Raptor Talos systems, that’s way more OSS friendly (no hidden microcode or firmwares)

  • Gd moo5555
    Gd moo5555 19 days ago

    Who else cringed when it said counter strike go

  • Assbender666
    Assbender666 19 days ago +1

    Overboard with the effects, who thought that looked good?

  • 05Matz
    05Matz 19 days ago

    I've been using Linux Mint (Cinnamon) for years now -- I find it somewhat easier to install, maintain, and install/uninstall software on than the Windows 7 I used to use (Why, oh WHY doesn't Windows have a package manager?), and FAR less of a chore than the Windows 10 computers I'm occasionally forced to struggle with for family. My laptop is from System76, and I pretty much couldn't be happier with the product or service (it came with Ubuntu when shipped, but I installed Mint on it later) but I built my desktop myself -- and I'd do it again, since I can't justify the premium price over commodity hardware. PopOS sounds interesting, and I've been casually looking at it every now and then, but I think I'll stick with Mint for now. The 'classic' Mint-X interface style is basically the Windows 7 replacement I wanted in the beginning, and I've become very used to it by now.

  • wompshmack
    wompshmack 19 days ago

    I was a hardware nerd even as a little kid, didn't get into linux until I was a teenager. When I met linux nerds I assumed they'd know things about hardware, but that really wasn't my experience. I had to install for them, in different situations, a power supply and a CD drive. I think it's even worse now. Hardware is much easier, but there's even fewer people into it.

  • Deryk Lister
    Deryk Lister 19 days ago

    NVidia GPU is an interesting choice on a Linux machine

  • Reprisal
    Reprisal 20 days ago

    Down vote for trash 18:9 aspect ratio.

  • Holret
    Holret 20 days ago

    I would love to see more Linux systems being introduced in one complete package. I have been wanting to get into it for a while because well, Windows 10 isnt the most ideal OS I have ever used.

    • gilkesisking
      gilkesisking 20 days ago

      ruclip.com/video/yZpmlRam6KY/video.html

  • Tom Ruff
    Tom Ruff 21 day ago

    Normies is a furry term

  • knotsandcrosses1
    knotsandcrosses1 21 day ago

    I don't use Pop!_OS with any System76 computer, rather an old laptop I have. It manages to shave most of the rough edges off of Ubuntu (and after Canonical's 32-bit library fail, they'll keep making sure Steam works). Pretty decent OS.

  • Techboy235 FK8
    Techboy235 FK8 21 day ago +1

    Chill music 0:00

  • Andrea Mitchell
    Andrea Mitchell 21 day ago +1

    10:52
    >selling shaving products to neckbeards

  • Waylen
    Waylen 21 day ago

    Matching hardware specs to a comparable Imac, System76 is priced about the same on hardware.

  • Jozef Plata
    Jozef Plata 21 day ago +1

    I switched from windows to Pop!_OS few months back... And I just love it. I dont think I will ever go back to windows

  • Wild Tangent
    Wild Tangent 21 day ago

    I used to be a diehard Linux tinkerer. I didn't mind spending hours or days or weeks, however long it took, getting everything about every new computer I had perfect and just the way I wanted it. That was a long time ago though, nowadays I want a system that does enough of the important things well enough without my intervention that I don't feel a need to really mess with it too much right away.

    So I've been a Mac user for the last 5 years or so, after *HATING* them for so long. I just happened to come into a deal too good to pass up for an '11 MBP 13-in and didn't have any other working computer at the time so I started using it out of necessity and lack of anything else to use and now I'm on my third one (they all work still). Not the outcome I would have expected way back then.

    Now there are a lot more choices in distros and window managers, and everything from the pros only, everything is a config file to extremely newbie-friendly ones that are just as drama-free as Windows or MacOS. I don't think the 'Linux on the desktop' revolution everyone has been hoping for for the last couple decades is ever going to happen, but for those that are inclined to Penguins, you've got more options than ever before, and a few of them can provide that easy, hand holding experience you may want if you don't have the time to tinker and just want to work.

  • David
    David 21 day ago

    Second hard drives are usually 'hidden away' in Linux. You don't access Linux drives by letter like in windows, you access them as a directory in the file tree. The rub is that your drive will be mounted somewhere like /home.

  • Ray Bitton
    Ray Bitton 21 day ago +2

    A few days ago I took my father's old laptop and installed Arch Linux on it.
    He is a Mechanical Engineer and he was in need for a SolidWorks/CAD software alternative so I did a simple search in the command line and found a very similar software - freeCAD.
    So now... My father leaves his Windows computer on the shelf and his daily driver is a Linux machine.
    He is proudly saying: "I use arch, btw".

    • gilkesisking
      gilkesisking 21 day ago

      Here's another CAD program for Linux if you're interested www.bricsys.com/en-intl/

  • swordkorn
    swordkorn 21 day ago

    Had to stop less than 50 seconds in...
    Where do you get your Linux information from Linus? Most of us Linux users didn’t compile our own Kernel or choose our own repos...
    Most I’ve ever done is configure vanilla Arch and even THAT doesn’t go as in depth as you talk about!
    I love the channel but get your facts straight before presenting Linux to the masses.

  • Tuii
    Tuii 21 day ago

    Hold my bear

  • Bitchass McGee
    Bitchass McGee 21 day ago

    I think that this is a great idea, in theory. But honestly someone who needs those kinds of specs are probably using programs that aren't on Linux

    • gilkesisking
      gilkesisking 21 day ago

      Well, gaming for a start, DaVinci Resolve, Light-works... coders wanting to compile, rendering... Blender, virtualisation. This is pretty under powered for Linux users, we like and need pretty beefy machines. Lots of cores. This is Windows spec to be honest, why system76 offer much more powerful options.

  • Sergio Díaz Nila
    Sergio Díaz Nila 21 day ago

    you said it right, you assumptions about the Linux community. Because the Linux community likes System76 for the simple reason they can buy a Linux machine without having to own Microsoft crap.

    • swordkorn
      swordkorn 21 day ago

      Sergio Díaz Nila doesn’t mean I’m willing to pay through the nose for hardware though... and sure as heck not the operating system... or the software provided...

  • Gesichtskrapfen
    Gesichtskrapfen 22 days ago

    Tuxedo is nice, too

  • Jaosn Fuller
    Jaosn Fuller 22 days ago

    Wrong: Using Linux

  • Michael Cruz
    Michael Cruz 22 days ago

    This sub woofer look like pc is better budget for my 1000$ than apple pro stand

  • Tony Lewis
    Tony Lewis 22 days ago

    woodgrain. as it should be ( tho rather it not be fake.. but hey, its 2019, nothing is real )

  • thingyee1118
    thingyee1118 22 days ago

    Flashing background is distracting.

  • pump up da hype
    pump up da hype 22 days ago

    where is linuses 30 second hair do and gel

  • Lance Hirdler
    Lance Hirdler 22 days ago

    looks like a speaker box kind of cool

  • First_NameBasis_TT
    First_NameBasis_TT 22 days ago

    I loved the vibe in this video. Cool and calm, very informative. Nice visuals. Hot damn

  • miguel silva
    miguel silva 22 days ago +3

    This is making me want to go fetch a hard drive and install Linux.
    The games are there. The performance is there. The user experience is definitely there.
    I wouldn't be considering this if MS wasn't killing Win7.

    • miguel silva
      miguel silva 20 days ago

      @hbt hbt I don't need, but if I start using it regularly, I can just find a spare HDD to use it in.

    • hbt hbt
      hbt hbt 20 days ago

      you dont need a 3rd hard drive. most will run from a USB, and debian/ubuntu have "persistence" which means your settings, downloads, and installs will "persist" after rebooting.
      aka LIVE-USB-TEST.

    • swordkorn
      swordkorn 21 day ago

      Just do your research. Don’t go distro hop mad like most of us do. Find the base you prefer and rip out everything you don’t want or need and put what you do want in its place. Don’t like GNOME? LXDE, XFCE, KDE. Don’t like floating desktops anymore? qtile, xmonad, i3wm, awesome. And that’s just what draws window containers for your GUI applications!

    • Ray Bitton
      Ray Bitton 21 day ago

      Go do it. GNU/Linux will not disappoint you.
      The only thing you need to know is -> READING. Don't worry.. not much reading.
      My go-to reading source for almost any problem I face with regards to Linux is archlinux wiki.
      Choose whichever distribution you fancy and you can follow archlinux wiki for all configurations you want to apply to your system.

  • Lil Ramen
    Lil Ramen 22 days ago

    Linus, what if you installed windows on it? Would it be possible? if so, would it perform well?

    • gilkesisking
      gilkesisking 22 days ago

      He clearly shows Windows is installed on the machine look at timestamp 3.25 and he also gives you comparisons between the two systems. Linux machines are open, you can do what you like. This is what most people do, run Linux and Windows on the same PC.

  • END Of DAYS VIDEO
    END Of DAYS VIDEO 22 days ago

    Could work as a hackentosh

    • gilkesisking
      gilkesisking 22 days ago

      @END Of DAYS VIDEO aye

    • END Of DAYS VIDEO
      END Of DAYS VIDEO 22 days ago

      I'm not a fan of neither one nor the other I would not waste money on a pre built

    • gilkesisking
      gilkesisking 22 days ago

      Why? Its a Linux machine, just buy a MAC.

  • silverpill
    silverpill 22 days ago

    Great gift for a parent, but the woodgrain is inadequate and a "retina" AIOwould be like, so right

  • pippo spano
    pippo spano 23 days ago

    used to compile kernels tailored for my own system and tinkering around, I'm a long term linux geek, but once i bought an HP laptop with preinstalled SUSE linux. Yuck. Everything was damn wrong, they even installed a 32-bit os on a 64-bit machine BUT with PAE (wtf?), video acceleration for some reason couldn't work and ram was simply not enough to use it. after installing Debian and all the ram it could take, it became a fine workhorse. what were they thinking ?

  • bob rose
    bob rose 23 days ago +1

    Pop os eats around 1.2-1.1gb of ram. I wish gnome eats less ram

    • gilkesisking
      gilkesisking 22 days ago

      Just install another desktop environment and kill gnome in systemd. I actually use KDE on Pop because you can launch steam AND completely kill all other process including the desktop. Basically just running xorg, required services and Steam, 200mb Ram usage at idle.

  • Dread Naught
    Dread Naught 23 days ago

    Linux just looks so exhausting to deal with on a day to day basis.

    • gilkesisking
      gilkesisking 22 days ago

      @Dread Naught Well, all I will say is this. If you want to actually, really, learn about computers and have the confidence to not worry about "bricking" no other system will give you that knowledge. Windows, Mac's ChromeOS are just toy's for the masses. I bet you thought Windows was "too difficult" when you started learning that too.

    • Dread Naught
      Dread Naught 22 days ago

      @gilkesisking You're right. I've never used it because it looks too difficult and I don't want to brick a computer because I pressed the wrong button. I had to teach myself Windows and I don't know either Mac nor Linux.

    • gilkesisking
      gilkesisking 23 days ago

      I guess you've never used it before then? As a user of both Windows and Linux I can tell you its not the latter that's exhausting. Windows, at times, is utterly infuriating. You'll never understand how much until you take the time to use and learn Linux and I have no allegiance to either system.

  • Sam Vimes
    Sam Vimes 23 days ago

    God, I _love_ the look of that thing. Woodgrain designs need to make a comeback.

  • Pieter Rossouw
    Pieter Rossouw 23 days ago

    Linux gaming is the future, mostly because game streaming services will run Linux. If a game developer/house wants their game on Stadia (or any inevitable competitor except Microsoft's), it needs to work with Linux. If they're going to the effort to do this, they'll also most probably release it on Linux via Steam. I couldn't care less about Stadia, but Linux gaming is about to really take off.

  • Cody Schleiger
    Cody Schleiger 23 days ago

    Flat hair! Holy Crap!

  • Jasper
    Jasper 23 days ago

    Linux tech tips

  • Rakesh Malik
    Rakesh Malik 23 days ago

    This is for people who want to use Linux, but would prefer to spend their time getting work done rather than tinkering with their computers -- the same people who would be shopping for HP Z
    series workstations instead of building their own systems.

    • Bean Bean
      Bean Bean 22 days ago

      Rakesh Malik how are you verified with only 60 subs?

  • horizonbrave
    horizonbrave 23 days ago

    Happy to pay the premium, not happy to pay for Nvidia. This is not a step in the right direction, the keep stepping in the proprietary direction. Not a product for me.

  • AJ Thompson
    AJ Thompson 23 days ago

    (Notes picture of dog on System 76 website) With that Lead Dog you know that product will be done right!

  • billrclarity
    billrclarity 23 days ago

    I already have the Sys76 Gazelle laptop, and love it. There was a small problem when I started, but their support staff helped me clear it up. I would like to upgrade my current desktop, and have a version of the Theilo intro model pimped out to what I want for about $800 more. What is holding me back is that there is no front panel I/O. I want to be able to plug in USB sticks an portable drives without climbing behind the case or taking up additional desk space with a USB port hub. Second problem, I don't particularly like the Ubuntu system and prefer KDE as my GUI. I have installed openSUSE with KDE on my Gazelle, and am quite happy with the system.

  • Taha Zubair
    Taha Zubair 23 days ago

    wait... 2 cpu's
    edit: xeon even

  • Bob Zenbits
    Bob Zenbits 23 days ago

    I wish this guy would actually learn more about Linux before he hits record on the next Linux video. It's a little bit like watching a Catholic trying to explain Buddhism after just reading a Wikipedia article five minutes earlier.

  • Charlike Mike Reagent
    Charlike Mike Reagent 23 days ago

    It's already "accessible" for the fucking "normies", for a loooooooooooong long time.
    I hate such talking. Throw some fucking Ubuntu or one of its millions of variants and you are ready, if you are "normy".
    The only hard stuff is when you choose Gentoo or FreeBSD(-based). Even ArchLinux isn't hard or "compiling" or whatever.
    Stop this fucking mantra that Linux is hard or I don't know what other shit. If it wasn't linux this world would not be in the current state. It won't be exaggeration if we say that the whole world is depending on Linux, or even the "normies" with their shit (smart) phones.