A REALLY Weird PC… - System76 Thelio Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Jun 16, 2019
  • Join the Club for only $5 at www.dollarshaveclub.com/linus
    Thanks to our sponsor Dollar Shave Club, new members get their 1st month of the Daily Essentials Starter Set including trial-sized versions of their Body Cleanser, One Wipe Charlies’ Butt Wipes, and Shave Butter along with their Executive Razor for ONLY $5 with FREE shipping
    Use offer code LINUS to get 20% off everything on lmg.gg/mospack4
    There’s more than one company that makes its own operating system and hardware, and today, we’re taking a look at System76’s Thelio, an open source design you can build yourself.
    Buy Thelio from System76: lmg.gg/8KVR5
    Discuss on the forum: linustechtips.com/main/topic/1073407-a-really-weird-pc%E2%80%A6-system76-thelio-review/
    Our Affiliates, Referral Programs, and Sponsors: linustechtips.com/main/topic/75969-linus-tech-tips-affiliates-referral-programs-and-sponsors
    Get Private Internet Access today at geni.us/7lLuafK
    Displate metal posters: lmg.gg/displateltt
    Linus Tech Tips merchandise at www.LTTStore.com/
    Linus Tech Tips posters at crowdmade.com/linustechtips
    Our Test Benches on Amazon: www.amazon.com/shop/linustechtips
    Our production gear: geni.us/cvOS
    Twitter - linustech
    Facebook - LinusTech
    Instagram - linustech
    Twitch - www.twitch.tv/linustech
    Intro Screen Music Credit:
    Title: Laszlo - Supernova
    Video Link: ruclip.com/video/PKfxmFU3lWY/video.html
    iTunes Download Link: itunes.apple.com/us/album/supernova/id936805712
    Artist Link: soundcloud.com/laszlomusic
    Outro Screen Music Credit: Approaching Nirvana - Sugar High ruclip.com/user/approachingnirvana
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 4 425

  • Linus Tech Tips
    Linus Tech Tips  4 months ago +341

    Use offer code LINUS to get 20% off everything on lmg.gg/mospack4

    • C P
      C P 3 months ago

      HEY LINUS PLIS MAKE VIDEO THAT COMBINE BOOMBOXSPEAKER AND PC IN 1 BOX,,

    • Kian Moore
      Kian Moore 3 months ago

      Do a review on SuperTuxKart. Just so you can be confused

    • midnightwolf
      midnightwolf 4 months ago

      Still not big enough to replace my old Targus built for 2 very thick laptops, and tons of accessories.

    • alysdexia
      alysdexia 4 months ago

      @lazypizzaguy gibberish

  • coleslaw
    coleslaw Day ago

    This is gonna inspire me to keep tinkering with the shit laptop I installed Linux on again :) thanks Linus

  • rimil murmu
    rimil murmu Day ago

    just moved to pop-os

  • maybe real
    maybe real Day ago

    The games fell behind, hah, ha, hahahaha

  • Christian Golden

    9:41 linus says woof. UWU

  • Not Needed
    Not Needed Day ago

    Its all about that wood

  • Chris Warren-Smith
    Chris Warren-Smith 4 days ago

    What the hell are you talking about dude, as a linux user i haven't bothered compiling a kernel since the 90s

  • JMiskovsky
    JMiskovsky 4 days ago

    They should offer ARM, Risc V or Power processors doe to Backdoors on x86-64.

  • Hasan Iqbal
    Hasan Iqbal 7 days ago

    yo I really want to switch to Linux cuz I'm dun with windows but Linux doesn't have everything like windows and it takes a bit more effort to make it work and you lose some performance

  • Tim Seguine
    Tim Seguine 7 days ago

    I know it isn't a typical use case for most, but when it comes to developer tools, you actually normally have to compile more things yourself on windows than on linux. The package managers on most distributions are dead simple: you type the name of the software you want and boom it is installed and ready to use. TBH the biggest problem I have with linux desktops nowadays is that they try too hard to take the "apple" route of "we know what's best for you". I use windows at home but linux at work, because in my opinion that's what they're both best for(With the exception that LibreOffice is kind of junk).

  • Kelly Masuda
    Kelly Masuda 8 days ago

    BTW, i have z270 and x399 e gaming mobo. You can patch the kernel and OpenAuraSDK to get the RGB and and OpenAura (a python program) to get addressable RGBs working. I believe the openaura RGB python program had support for thermaltake USB and corsair devices.

  • Kelly Masuda
    Kelly Masuda 8 days ago

    POP OS is what ive been using for my professional environment. I love it.

  • J.B Locke
    J.B Locke 9 days ago

    Woodgrain LGR would be proud

  • Leadius USA
    Leadius USA 9 days ago

    It is OK. Not great or bad... I would build from teh ground up myself.

  • dpcdpc11
    dpcdpc11 9 days ago

    Sweet hardware deserves nice looking software as well. So why not customize it properly using an awesome Windows Theme and a matching wallpaper? If you feel inspired check out deviantart.com for such great resources like www.deviantart.com/dpcdpc11
    Enjoy your new hardware in great style!

  • impact0r
    impact0r 10 days ago +1

    "... bring Linux to folks who can't be bothered to compile their kernel and hunt down repos"?
    Check your calendar - it's no longer 1995.

  • Rob Ch.
    Rob Ch. 11 days ago

    As a Linux enthusiast I will buy this pc, not because I can’t build one for my own but Linux is a philosophy, helping a new company of entrepreneurs that care for our community is really awesome and you requiere a lot of guts to do it, so I’m in with this project, tho I use Manjaro

  • Ditao
    Ditao 13 days ago

    How did you fix the hi dpi scaling? I've been having it bad on Manjaro on my laptop for 4k

    • gilkesisking
      gilkesisking 11 days ago

      because he's using PopOS not Manjaro.

  • J B
    J B 14 days ago +1

    Linux doesn't require you to compile anything, add obscure repos (repos are what the App store and Play store are, you generally don't need more, like how most people don't use F-Droid), and a common use of it is to repurpose a computer for a grandma or kid. My nephew loves his Linux laptop.
    Now try and get a "normie" to install Windows, hunt down drivers, etc.
    A reason Linux is so liked, one of many, is that if there's a problem, you CAN get down and dirty and fix it, usually very easily. Windows and Mac might not let you do something easily, and it's at least as complex and requires looking around on websites to learn the difficult, obscure commands and tools. Things break or don't work out of the box all the time, but when things work on Linux they kinda stay working. We can't even talk about out of the box customisation, Linux blows Windows out of the water, and even if you add third party tools (and disable the telemetry) it stays blown away.
    Linux is good. I use it as my daily driver, Windows is mostly only ever needed when work specifically chooses to use a sh*tty Microsoft application they don't need to. Or for gaming sometimes, and not everyone is an avid gamer. Don't be a victim of the baby duck syndrome. :D

  • quarkie
    quarkie 15 days ago

    I think the subliminal background might be a seizure hazard for some folks.

  • Robert Tanksley
    Robert Tanksley 15 days ago

    This is is just Lindows all over again.

  • arcticblue2
    arcticblue2 15 days ago

    The biggest problem is Gnome. The Gnome devs start working on a longstanding issue, such as application names being cut short in the app grid, but never finish and move on to a new shiny thing. The dev that was last working on the app grid issue stopped and is not working on GTK 4 stuff. The Gnome devs also keep trying to re-invent things under the hood and strip out features in the process like transparent terminal windows or sorting options in Nautilus. The constant refactoring of under-the-hood things in Gnome holds them back from improving the user experience and addressing very, very old bugs. Gnome 4 will be out before issues that have existed since the early days of Gnome 3 will be fixed.

  • Shelby Shum
    Shelby Shum 15 days ago

    A lot of laptops used to have a bunch of driver compatibility issues with linux back then. System76 just guarantees compatibility. It's not so much of an issue anymore.

  • Shantanu Sharma
    Shantanu Sharma 16 days ago

    I want to buy their laptop. I am very confused between Oryx Pro and Adder Ws. Please review these.

  • Chuckles
    Chuckles 17 days ago

    Hearing Linus casually say °normies° was oddly cursed for me lmao

  • The Void Consumes
    The Void Consumes 18 days ago

    System 76?
    does it play Fallout 76?

  • LSD Pepe
    LSD Pepe 18 days ago

    Pop os master race

  • Lawrence D’Oliveiro
    Lawrence D’Oliveiro 18 days ago

    9:09 Also worth mentioning that they’ve disabled the Intel Management Engine.

  • Lawrence D’Oliveiro
    Lawrence D’Oliveiro 18 days ago

    7:19 Linux idle is more idle than Windows idle. No big surprise there ...

  • jbfeelings Drinumist
    jbfeelings Drinumist 18 days ago

    SOUNDS GREAT AS LONG AS ITS VALUES STAY THE SAME AS IT GROWS!

  • Lawrence D’Oliveiro
    Lawrence D’Oliveiro 18 days ago

    5:37 ... or maybe the Greek word for “nipple” ...

    • Lazy Ox
      Lazy Ox 11 days ago

      Not really, there's not such a Greek word thelio the closed one is thilia which means hoop

  • Lawrence D’Oliveiro
    Lawrence D’Oliveiro 18 days ago

    4:46 Tools used by a lot of RUcliprs *are* available on Linux, and usually run better there.

    What do they say about “disruptive technologies” ... ?

  • Berserkasaurus Rex
    Berserkasaurus Rex 18 days ago

    Who the hell thought "flickering tv" was a good backdrop idea? I've got a damn migraine now.

  • Gage Stewart
    Gage Stewart 20 days ago

    My favorite part is when he says the pc could be made 1000 dollars cheaper woof...

  • loqk loqkson
    loqk loqkson 22 days ago

    I was just recommending this video to my friends when I realised the flashing screen behind the product from about 5:30 would take out my friend with epilepsy. I do see that it appears to be from the original product advertising, it's just that they can't watch this.

  • Scammer Smackdown
    Scammer Smackdown 24 days ago

    KDE does good at the shopping store as well

  • Prime Royal
    Prime Royal 26 days ago

    I think it is more workstation than a gaming rig.Similar to iMac Pro.

  • Chris CSS
    Chris CSS 27 days ago

    Install Windows 10 on System76 Thelio, Please

  • Blue Square
    Blue Square 29 days ago

    Real men run gentoo on a ti83 calculator.

  • SDSW TV
    SDSW TV Month ago

    Linu(x)s Tech Tips

  • Alexander Misch
    Alexander Misch Month ago

    I have one with a Ryzen 9 12 core AMD processor. I dislike the default Pop OS desktop environment immensely. It's too much like a tablet, which does not make sense when you have a desktop. This is also my major complaint of Ubuntu though.
    I have had no problems with sound though. I regularly build OS's on it and have 100% load on all threads with no sound at all.

  • who8myfish
    who8myfish Month ago +1

    Gaming.
    Gaming is THE ONLY THING keeping Microsoft alive. Nobody likes windows but everyone likes at least one video game they CANT play on the objectively superior Linux.

  • HappyTrix
    HappyTrix Month ago

    My mans said Normies

  • Byron Joel
    Byron Joel Month ago

    What is 'UBANTU'?

  • Lincoln Sand
    Lincoln Sand Month ago

    Linus is still pretty clueless about linux

  • Tigran Tovmasyan
    Tigran Tovmasyan Month ago

    Tbh, I've used Pop!_OS to revive my laptop and it's just awesome and easy!

  • Robert S.
    Robert S. Month ago

    It’s solid. I use it for my vfio host. Some distros I have tried sometimes slowly crumble. Not PopO!

  • Emmett Boudreau
    Emmett Boudreau Month ago

    Pop! user here, not on a system76 rig. Really considering buying one of their laptops that switch between RTX and integrated graphics.
    I like their " No exceptions" approach, giving a real keyboard, rgb backlights, system integration, build quality, etc. I often find laptops have one thing I want, but not all of it, and it right about checks every box.
    I will say I don't LUKS encrypt my drives though, mostly because of the pain in the butt workaround when it goes wrong;
    And how possible it is to go wrong.
    You'll only do that once to save your 1 byte encrypted drive to never do it again. Additionally, gparted used to not be able to mount luks partitions, neither could disks, in ubuntu or gnome disks, but the problem has since resolved itself with an update at some point.
    Overall, very satisfied.

  • jj cogburn
    jj cogburn Month ago

    At about 9:40 what is the website being used?

  • Garka Bana
    Garka Bana Month ago

    1000$ for a linux inux pc!!! madness, i prefer the mac stand.

  • Wot Wot
    Wot Wot Month ago

    "Free and Open-Source" NOT "Open-Source". There is a world of difference!

  • Wot Wot
    Wot Wot Month ago

    Wait, Linus is a non-linux user?

  • Anonym Unsichtbar
    Anonym Unsichtbar Month ago

    Fridays for Linux!

  • DJ Soru
    DJ Soru Month ago

    The Linux is interesting but I think in my household only my dad would make use of this pc, and even then... he'd install windows because as Linus said... the industry standards don't have Linux versions, and he outright REFUSES to work with nonstandard software (but makes an exception for Cakewalk Sonar as he HATES Pro Tools, preferring to use Adobe Audition instead). Still, the woodgrain with matte black metal and bezled corners of the case are something that appeals to his "newfound" hipster lifestyle.

  • GeneralGuts1
    GeneralGuts1 Month ago

    If only pop os came with 'minimise tabs' by default in browser...tough for new users to accept

  • HchQue
    HchQue Month ago

    Do they disable intel management engine?

  • Andrzej Waśko
    Andrzej Waśko Month ago

    santa please bring me one of theese this year!

  • Gordon Chin
    Gordon Chin Month ago

    Has the company gone belly up yet?

    • gilkesisking
      gilkesisking Month ago +1

      No, they've recently got new warehouse and production space and taken on new staff. Doing quite well actually. Since Hawaii announced they'll no longer be shipping laptops with Windows in the east many OEMS have started putting out more Linux machines, seems they're on the up.

  • Suvasish Adhikary
    Suvasish Adhikary Month ago

    i am using linux from 2015 August

  • ユーネ / Yuune
    ユーネ / Yuune Month ago

    Cool case