Razer Blade Pro 17 (2019) Hands-on Review: Gaming Power To-Go

Share
Embed
  • Published on Apr 23, 2019
  • The Razer Blade 15 is on a tear. The newest models have advanced features like a 240Hz refresh rate and even an OLED display.
    But 15-inch screens aren’t a one-size fits all. Some people want that extra screen real estate while gaming. Razer has always had an answer to that, though you may have forgotten it exists. Razer’s Blade Pro, the company’s larger 17-inch model, hasn’t been updated in almost two years.
    Razer has finally come around to spread the love. We had hands-on time with the laptop in advance to see if the 2019 Razer Blade Pro is still worthy of the “Pro” label.
    Click here to purchase the Razer Blade Pro 17 (2019): bit.ly/2XwWMGj
    Thank you for supporting our channel!
    SUBSCRIBE FOR THE LATEST VIDEOS
    bit.ly/DTRUclipSub
    VISIT DIGITAL TRENDS
    www.digitaltrends.com/
    In our studio:
    BDI Corridor Media Console: bit.ly/2u1IMrs amzn.to/2JtnA8v
    Video gear we use:
    Panasonic GH5 amzn.to/2IWEyfc
    Lumix 12-60mm Camera Lens amzn.to/2IWEJHo
    Sony A7iii amzn.to/2SNeUJn
    Sony E 50mm F1.8 OSS amzn.to/2NMDBVj
    Konova K3 Camera Slider amzn.to/2EEeLCV
    Godox SL-60W amzn.to/2EEeLCV
    Neewer 660 LED Video Light amzn.to/2ERDjtw
    Benro S6 Video Tripod amzn.to/2SOLRVD
    DT Deals: www.digitaltrends.com/deals/
    Digital Trends may earn a commission when you buy through links on our channels.
    FOLLOW US!
    digitaltrends
    digitaltrends
    digitaltrends
    plus.google.com/+digitaltrends/posts
  • Science & TechnologyScience & Technology

Comments • 116

  • Digital Trends
    Digital Trends  9 months ago +10

    What do you like most about the new Razer Blade Pro 17?

    • Horst Borsch
      Horst Borsch 8 months ago

      Is there a chance to do a size comparison to the 15?

    • peanut milk
      peanut milk 8 months ago

      Terreos I can't agree more.But it doesn't support g-sync,i think g-sync is useful for a fps player

    • Terreos
      Terreos 8 months ago +1

      @Digital Trends You didn't review the laptop. You previewed it. WIthout benchmarks, heat monitoring, and objective use it's not a review. ;)
      I'm glad they brought the price down from the last model and added another m.2 slot. But, I'll need to see a REVIEW before I make my mind up.

    • MaZEEZaM
      MaZEEZaM 9 months ago

      It’s refreshing to see a great selection of ports as the trend seem to be fewer and fewer ports offered such as Apple... Lenovo being the exception till now. A 4K monitor with best image/colour would have been preferred. Otherwise looks great though likely well above my budget sadly.

    • RaozSkillz
      RaozSkillz 9 months ago

      Can you ask Razer why they gave it a 70whr battery? Pls or at least give us some hint why you can't talk about that?

  • wi fifi
    wi fifi 2 months ago

    great

  • Tân Phan
    Tân Phan 2 months ago

    What a pity no 1440p. Alienware m17 got it right

  • Justin Land
    Justin Land 3 months ago

    But the real question is does it overheat and will it actually run the games for extended times without overheating?

  • ImDino
    ImDino 8 months ago

    ”It should have better thermals” goddamn just find it out, that’s what reviewers do -_-

  • Marius Nilsen
    Marius Nilsen 8 months ago

    Can the panel makers please make a 1440p 17" IPS 144hz panel???

  • Tom Provido
    Tom Provido 8 months ago

    Does this have gsync?

  • Adil Rehman
    Adil Rehman 8 months ago +2

    so 15 has OLED 4K but not for 17, Why Razer?

    • Jonathan Clay
      Jonathan Clay 8 months ago

      none of the OLED manufacturers have released a 17" panel

    • 平レン
      平レン 8 months ago

      Adil Rehman I don’t know.🙁🙁

  • ShuKai Zhang
    ShuKai Zhang 8 months ago +2

    Can you compare this to ROG Zephyrus s gx 701? Especially performance.

    • RaozSkillz
      RaozSkillz 8 months ago

      That asus shit has some dumbass design where the keyboard and trackpad are at the front of the laptop with a big chuck of the laptop's body empty on top, for what cooling? Razer's new thermal design keep temps really low (for such a thin compact laptop with so much power). Sure it's not immune to *minor* throttling (and in this 17" form factor it will have zero throttling and huge overclocking capabilities) but how can you comfortably use the Zephyrus on your lap? With your arms right up to your chest? It's a dumb design. Plus even if you don't care about that rubbish it's battery will be tiny, leaving it with trash battery life. Once Razer redesign a higher end Blade Pro with a 80+ whr battery, a 4k screen with g-sync or 120hz or something like that. Then it will be the best 17" laptop you can buy.

  • Cullen Delmore
    Cullen Delmore 9 months ago +1

    Decent preliminary info, but not a "Review".

    • RaozSkillz
      RaozSkillz 8 months ago

      I'm going mad a need to see a proper Review of this Laptop and razer need to give it a bigger battery and a 4k g-sync screen. This was the best first impressions kinda video on RUclip though, everyone else is gay, stupid or annoying in someway at some point. This guy knows how to present though no homo.

  • Jonathan Hatton
    Jonathan Hatton 9 months ago +1

    the one thing i dont understand is the battery being smaller than the razer blade 15 70.5 whr compared to the 80

    • RaozSkillz
      RaozSkillz 8 months ago

      Must be because of the addition of a second m.2 slot, this new design that started with the blade 15 must limit the laptop to one m.2 slot unless you put it in a different place where part of the battery used to be and make the battery physically smaller. That's why Razer don't show an image of the thermal design on the Blade pro 17 page because people will see and complain about how they could have designed it better. Hopefully they can redesign it by the end of the year so that it still has two m.2 slots, and a 80+whr battery, 4k g-sync screen and maybe ever so slightly thicker if that's the only way.

  • BlinkXIII
    BlinkXIII 9 months ago

    Did you manage to game on it for at least 15 to 20 mins? I had the blade 15 and it was very uncomfortable playing on that due to the hot keyboard and hot wrist area.

  • B.N.R multitec
    B.N.R multitec 9 months ago +1

    Finally razer had given a sd card slot...

  • Mat Dzh
    Mat Dzh 9 months ago

    What's the battery life of 2019 razer blade's outside of the stealth?

  • Edwin Kam
    Edwin Kam 9 months ago +1

    Dude nice hair! Would like to know which hair product did you use?

  • Hantzley Audate
    Hantzley Audate 9 months ago +9

    When will 1440p become standard in these high performance laptops :/

    • RaozSkillz
      RaozSkillz 8 months ago

      1440p 120hz+ or 4k g-sync with a bigger battery is what this laptop need to be perfect in this world.

    • Ruffyistderhammer
      Ruffyistderhammer 8 months ago

      when these displays are actually manufactured all of them will use it

  • EVYCxMD
    EVYCxMD 9 months ago

    No 4k No deal

  • MrGhost370
    MrGhost370 9 months ago +2

    @ 2:40 "we might actually be able to push the higher framerates on a 4k screen in a device this powerful"
    That's why people should definitely check out competent channels rather than this when it comes to PC gaming hardware. The 2070 max-q and 2080 max-q cannot push high framerates at 4k. SMH. Stick to TV's and the like. Leave PC gaming to channels like HardwareUnboxed, Gamer's Nexus, Linus Tech Tips and Jarrod's Tech for mobile laptops.

    • RaozSkillz
      RaozSkillz 9 months ago

      Linus is a squeaky faggot, plus wtf are you talking about sure the 2070 max-q can't realistically play modern AAA games in 4k but the 2080 max-q can easily play most games at 4k high settings with an average framerate above 60. A 4k 60hz G-sync screen would be ideal and needs to be an update for the pro with a bigger battery also. But a 4k 120hz screen would be more power efficient than a g-sync display and make more sense for Razer's most powerful laptop. Sure with the 2080 you wouldn't be able to get above or very close to 120fps very high or max settings 4k but especially with overclocking you could get well above 60 with high settings, and max settings in less demanding games. This laptop needs a 4k screen.

  • lucas bucci
    lucas bucci 9 months ago

    why no i9 available?

    • RaozSkillz
      RaozSkillz 9 months ago

      Wouldn't be able to keep it cool, it would throttle a bit and get pretty hot but it would definitely do better than apple's attempt at cooling an i9 in a thin laptop.

  • Tony Pugliese
    Tony Pugliese 9 months ago +17

    What a pity no 1440p. Alienware m17 got it right

    • Justin Land
      Justin Land 3 months ago

      Speak for yourself I would never game on anything that wasn't 4K if you can't push the frames go fly a kite!

    • Tony Pugliese
      Tony Pugliese 9 months ago +2

      @RaozSkillz You still live in 2016? Razer Pro 2019 is 2.75 kg (6.06 lbs) / Alienware m17 2019 is 2.63 kg (5.79 lbs)

    • RaozSkillz
      RaozSkillz 9 months ago

      Yeah but Alienware's are fat, fat and bulky only makes sense in sli laptops so Alienware got it wrong actually. Plus hopefully razer will at least update the new pro sometime this year with a bigger battery for a new 1440p 120hz option and a 4k 60hz g-sync. Or even 4k 120hz which would be epic and insane, might not be useful all the time but the 2080 can get most games at least close to 120fps in 4k at high settings and ultra/max in less demanding games. And a 120hz display would be more power saving than a g-sync display.

  • Nintendo Sega PlayStation Fan Boy 124

    Also this model is already on Amazon

  • Nintendo Sega PlayStation Fan Boy 124

    Should I get the pro or 15 240hz

    • RaozSkillz
      RaozSkillz 9 months ago

      If you really like the new design with all these blades and need a 17 inch screen wait for razer to update the new pro with a 1440p 120hz display from there phones or hopefully a 4k 60 g-sync display. But if you can't wait and 15" is enough for you then as soon as you can buy the 240hz 15" get it lol it's epic.

    • Admiral V
      Admiral V 9 months ago

      whatever your gut feels

  • Truth 7
    Truth 7 9 months ago

    What no 4K in this age .... that’s like having jelly but no peanut butter.. Very sad , so sad . Or we’ll ....I’ll keep waiting for the latest and greatest ..

    • RaozSkillz
      RaozSkillz 9 months ago +1

      Yeah we need a 4k 60 g-sync display at least, with this beautiful beast.

  • kc kazm
    kc kazm 9 months ago

    Its has been bestod upon me with the highest of honors that i am to be highest ranker meme monitor on this comment section. Its with great respect i accept these upmost of responsibility.

  • Michael Kosher
    Michael Kosher 9 months ago +1

    So disappointed Razer moved the trackpad from the right side. Unless you are left handed, it feels so natural and ergonomically superior to be located there on a 17 inch laptop. Comfy like a desktop setup. Hopefully some other company will pick up on this layout before I have the need to replace mine.

    • Digital Trends
      Digital Trends  9 months ago

      This might still be a good alternative to what else is out on the market. We also have a new review going live on Razer's other laptop. We'll send you the link!

  • alex marques
    alex marques 9 months ago +1

    No 1440p ? Sad

  • Fuga Mante
    Fuga Mante 9 months ago

    Huge trackpads.... hmm... Apple always on the fucking forefront.

  • Voltedge
    Voltedge 9 months ago +2

    I am itching to buy one but there is no dealer in my area where it would be very costly to send it back for repairs.

    • Voltedge
      Voltedge 9 months ago

      @Digital Trends well I am very far away in Kuwait shipping it here is easy shipping it back might cost me 300 usd, asking around if I can get less than 100 usd shipping back cost I can eat the risk

    • Digital Trends
      Digital Trends  9 months ago

      Where are you looking? Maybe we can help you find one!

  • Bartek Kay
    Bartek Kay 9 months ago

    A pro laptop with no 4k display. What a joke. Pro users require higher resolution. If you're going to market to pro users and content creators, don't offer them garbage with a pro moniker.

    • RaozSkillz
      RaozSkillz 9 months ago

      Their 4k 60hz g-sync model or higher better be in the works right now and be coming out soon this year.

  • Quyrew
    Quyrew 9 months ago +4

    of course this guy will like the razer blade 17, its like a macbook gaming laptop. Disappointed about how he trashed talked about the gx701 and missed out half of the features. oh yeah and the cpu isn't overclockable, its the gpu on the gx701...

  • Shuolang Liu
    Shuolang Liu 9 months ago +1

    i like this laptop but am concerned of razer's quality and customer service. anyone can shine some lights on that for me? its either this laptop or macbook pro

    • John P
      John P 9 months ago

      I bought mine from the Microsoft Store with a 2 year warranty so I can take it in and have it fixed without having to mail it in for RMA. If you don't have the option of doing that, I would buy a MacBook Pro. Razer's customer support is ok, but it takes a long time to get anything fixed through them due to not having many physical stores.

    • Digital Trends
      Digital Trends  9 months ago +1

      Great question! We're going to be doing a comparison video on this next! Stay tuned!

  • Luccas D.Strapasson
    Luccas D.Strapasson 9 months ago +14

    Why 70Wh battery on a bigger laptop though?

    • Kninez Banky
      Kninez Banky 8 months ago

      @ImDino Most Adult gamers buy a Laptop that they use for day to day tasks/work/travel.....etc....When I judge a gaming laptop....8/10 points goes to how good of a laptop it is...WHEN NOT GAMING.......I need at least 7 hours battery life and a numpad.....for spreadsheet work...my aero 15 with it's 94whr battery lasts 8 to 9 hours.
      My aero 15 when undervolted and tweaked has the CPU and GPU both at 80 to 85C.... that's good enough thermals for me. For the 2 to 3 hours I game every other day.
      Dave lee just reviewed this. It has a 3 hour battery life....not only does it have a small battery...but razer failed to optimize it properly.
      Also 1080p is too low of a resolution past 15 inches.
      If this had a 2560x1440p 144hz G-sync with optimus, Touch screen HDR
      Windows hello webcam and fingerprint reader
      Numpad, 99whr battery with at least 7 hours of battery life.
      I would consider it....so far, it will be a flop.

    • RaozSkillz
      RaozSkillz 8 months ago

      @ImDino Listen retard if all you care about is thermals then get a fat ugly alienware, or a cheaply designed and built MSI. If Razer fix this laptop by giving it a bigger battery and a 4k g-sync screen then it will be the best laptop on the market. It won't need more cooling, the RTX blade 15 can already keep temperatures decent so a 17 inch version with the same cooling design will have absolutely no throttling.

    • ImDino
      ImDino 8 months ago

      Kninez Banky you’d rather have a laptop with worse thermals? Smh

    • Kninez Banky
      Kninez Banky 8 months ago

      @neon cz larger vapor chamber and bigger main cooling fans....it also has two more intake fans too keep the insides cool.....for 4 fans total...2 big, 2 small.......i would have preferred a 99wh battery and two larger cooling fans though. Smh

  • pumps0333
    pumps0333 9 months ago

    Can it handle pornhub???

    • RaozSkillz
      RaozSkillz 9 months ago +1

      17 inches are always welcome there.

  • Gary Nguyen
    Gary Nguyen 9 months ago

    THAT'S A FREAKING RAZER BLADE 15!!!! SCAAAAAAAAAAAM!!!!!!!!

  • Samurai9159
    Samurai9159 9 months ago +1

    Can you do a Razor blade 15 240 hz review ?

    • Digital Trends
      Digital Trends  9 months ago

      That's going live today! We will send you the link as soon as it's live!

  • X1X 4Life
    X1X 4Life 9 months ago +1

    Been waiting for this refresh. So torn. 17 inch pro, 1080p 144 or 15 inch advanced 4K oled touchscreen?!?!?!?

    • Jesson Yeh
      Jesson Yeh 9 months ago +1

      I am in the same dilemma. The price is similar. I would likely go with the oled. oled looks amazing compared to ips panel

  • Abdul Jalil
    Abdul Jalil 9 months ago +1

    Can you edit photos and video?

  • Lizard King
    Lizard King 9 months ago

    Can it keep the cpu and gpu cool enough to avoid throttling?

    • RaozSkillz
      RaozSkillz 9 months ago

      Easily, with Razer's new thermal design that has been proved to keep the blade 15 cool even with the new RTX cards. Thermals will definitely be even better in the new pro, if you want a beautiful laptop that has a lot of gpu and ram overclocking capabilities then this is perfect. But razer didn't put the overclockable 9th gen i9 mobile cpu (i9 9980hk) in this new blade though because I don't think it can keep a 45w cpu cool. Basically it will have the same average temps as the new blade 15 rtx except 5 or 10 degrees cooler.

  • W C K
    W C K 9 months ago

    PWM ?

  • Terreos
    Terreos 9 months ago

    Hands On Review? Uuuuuum. . .No this is a preview. No benchmarks, stress tests, heat monitoring, or anything technical. Don't lie to people in the title.

  • Michael T
    Michael T 9 months ago +3

    This needs a 4K display

  • Ren G
    Ren G 9 months ago +15

    This is what the Macbook wished it was.

    • Terreos
      Terreos 9 months ago +3

      Seriously. Would've been nice if they atleast had a 1440p display with the blade pro though. Other than that though it seems to be a solid package.

    • Business Momo
      Business Momo 9 months ago +1

      Ren G motherfuckin Apple. I am hating that company for not giving us Pro laptop. Fuck Tim Apple.

  • GhaV jGRite (jeaHAvee)
    GhaV jGRite (jeaHAvee) 9 months ago +1

    I hate when the function key is on the far left bottom or right bottom of a keyboard layout. It does have a full size SD card slot too.

  • maans le roux
    maans le roux 9 months ago +1

    No 4k is a deal breaker for me. Would love that laptop with a color accurate 4k screen

  • Sh4unify
    Sh4unify 9 months ago +2

    Just wish these had touchscreens.

    • Vernwalker
      Vernwalker 9 months ago +1

      U need to choose 4K OLED version I think

  • eman5677
    eman5677 9 months ago +1

    Expected it to cost more than that

    • Digital Trends
      Digital Trends  9 months ago +1

      It's a good price for what you're getting out of it.

  • Komi Imperial Guard
    Komi Imperial Guard 9 months ago +6

    Does anyone have any recommendations for shaving creams to go with this?

  • Charles Yeo
    Charles Yeo 9 months ago +1

    You can't push 144hz on 4k on AAA titles with current laptop gpus anyway. 1080p with 144 is better than 4k while barely hitting 60h

    • RaozSkillz
      RaozSkillz 9 months ago

      144hz 4k is overkill for a laptop. 4k 120hz or 4k 60hz g-sync should be an update for the new pro, the 2080 can get most games above 60fps in 4k with high settings plus with razer's new vapour design and a massive area for heat dissipation you could easily overclock the 2080 pretty far in the pro.

    • Michael T
      Michael T 9 months ago

      Charles Yeo I’d prefer 4K for regular work then downgrade to 1080p 144fps for gaming

  • Shishy7
    Shishy7 9 months ago

    You( the reviewer) got to mention for whoever wants 4k there is HDMI output...with 17 inch display 4k or even 1080p is overkill anyway

    • RaozSkillz
      RaozSkillz 9 months ago

      For a 2080 max q?? Overkill?? Do you live in a fucking cave? Watch some benchmarks, please.

  • Kaleb Sings
    Kaleb Sings 9 months ago

    It's USB 3.1, not USB 3.2 gen 2. Please don't play into the new confusing naming scheme and just call it what it's been named the last 7 years.

    • RaozSkillz
      RaozSkillz 9 months ago

      Why are you here? Which universe has USB 3.1 been out in for the last 7 years and did you even look at the specs for the new pro 17?

  • Endorion
    Endorion 9 months ago +2

    Great! Saved money and looking forward to getting one.

    • Endorion
      Endorion 9 months ago

      Currently have the Acer Predator Helios 300, I really need to upgrade.

    • Digital Trends
      Digital Trends  9 months ago

      Which laptop are you using now?

  • Lord Vader
    Lord Vader 9 months ago +4

    Black is boring
    Need Laptops in Full White 🤞🏻

    • Michael T
      Michael T 9 months ago

      Lord Vader racist white supremacist!!!!

  • Murtaza Nazham
    Murtaza Nazham 9 months ago +1

    Good. Look forward to the 17" model review. Thank you.