Crazy Rich Asians - Movie Review

Share
Embed
  • Published on Aug 17, 2018
  • Patreon: www.patreon.com/ChrisStuckmann
    Chris Stuckmann reviews Crazy Rich Asians, starring Constance Wu, Gemma Chan, Awkwafina, Ken Jeong, Michelle Yeoh, Henry Golding, Sonoya Mizuno, Chris Pang, Jimmy O. Yang, Ronny Chieng. Directed by John M. Chu.
  • EntertainmentEntertainment

Comments • 2 321

  • Mahadragon
    Mahadragon 5 days ago

    Whoever cast Nick Young did a lousy job. I found his British accent annoying and I don't understand why Chris Stuckman didn't say one word about him in this "movie review". Pretty lousy review IMO. You should at least say something about him since he was a main character.

  • Don Vu
    Don Vu Month ago

    As an American born asian, it was nice to finally see asian people who look like me and talk English be portrayed as sexy, smart, powerful, beautiful and funny.

  • Mr.Tweezy007
    Mr.Tweezy007 2 months ago

    It was an average movie.

  • Sulaymaan Kingseed
    Sulaymaan Kingseed 2 months ago

    The first thing I wanna say is I know that some asians don't fuck with black people- they think black is bad luck ergo, black folks are bad luck. Thats the first thing I wanna say.
    I tried to watch this movie. I made it through the opening scene when the mother tried to get a room in a swank british hotel but she got refused service- they wouldn't even let her and her children use the phone so they had to stand in the rain in a pay phone to make a call. I don't really know why the bellhop dude at the front desk of the hotel was such a dick towards them but I won't focus on that because I'm sure it has really happened like that before (rich people of color being denied service), what I do wanna focus on with this scene is how overt is was- they really wanted to show us from the begin that white people don't like asians and that asians will force their way onto white people who don't like them.. So anyway, come to find out the rich white man who owned the place came down to tell the bellhope dude at the desk that these were good asians, so good that he was going to sale his hotel to them..
    "The enemy of my enemy is my friend." I forget who said this but I think about it often when I see people who love white people. Being here in america and being treated like shit for most of my life by white people or by the system and laws that white people made has left a sour taste in my mouth for SOME white folks but not all. I couldn't watch this movie because the underlying reality of this movie is these asians wanna be white or they want to be accepted by whites or they want approval from whites. You have here rich asians, people who have every resource to further their own culture and lifestyle but would rather be an asians verison of white people. Maybe thats why that dreadful Black Panter movie resonated with black americans so much: it was grounded in its own identity- africa, albeit fictional but shit, this movie had a better fictional background for blacks than what most of us know in reality. This movie however did not feel like Black Panter. Black Panter did not make wealth an issue of black worth whereas this Asian movie did because we all know when it comes to white people if you're not more wealthy than they are you really ain't shit and thats cool- I don't care how white people feel about me and I have no desire to be accepted by them but thats not the case with this movie. Black Panter had segments in the movie where the africans spoke an african language- I bet you any amount of money they never did that in this Asian movie- did they? They never embraced their own culture in this asian movie, and I don't like that. Take the Black Panter movie, look at the white men who were in the movie while they were under the care of the people of Wakanda, look at how they were dressed- the wore african (albeit fictional african clothes), did they ever do that in this asian movie? In Black Panter if you took all the people in the movies and switched them with white people but left them in the african wardrob that would be noticable but if you did that with this Asian movie you wouldn't notice a thing because all the asians in this movie wore european clothes and rejected their own culture and traditions.
    So I didn't watch it. They eneded that opening scene and started the title scene with an american song sung in chinease- that was it for me, I was outta there. If that don't make my point I don't know what will. Stop painting white shit red or black just make some shit that is red or black.

  • BattleModeBainbridge
    BattleModeBainbridge 3 months ago

    NO THANKS.

  • Cameron Sarmiento
    Cameron Sarmiento 3 months ago

    Hated it

  • Ashutosh Pathy
    Ashutosh Pathy 3 months ago

    Boring movie

  • Shauntee Thomason
    Shauntee Thomason 4 months ago

    I frikin love this movie! Can't wait to see more. It didn't have a boring min😀

  • Sketchy Fella
    Sketchy Fella 4 months ago

    I just watched this... I gotta say, it was not good. It was really generic, predictable, standard garbage. The great reviews it's getting seem gimmicky. It was a standard rich person poor person family wedding blah blah whatever.

  • WOLFQUEEN
    WOLFQUEEN 4 months ago

    I feel like korean actors are wayyyyy better than them. Lol I rather stick to watching korean dramas.

  • WOLFQUEEN
    WOLFQUEEN 4 months ago

    I would give the movie 5/10 one because it felt like it was lacking both in romance and comedy. I didn’t feel like the two leads had chemistry together, they just don’t feel like an actual couple. Overall it was lacking in feeling. The only part that still had me watching the film was the scenes with Astrid, it was the only thing that had me complete interested in the relationship between her and her husband. Nick’s mom and her story was a nice touch to the movie but the main female lead and the guy just did not do it for me. I don’t know if it’s because they are probably inexperienced actors or something like that but their “undying love” for one another was not convincing. Now Peik was a nice touch to the movie just to add comic relief but still a little lacking in character. Overall the movie had some weird pauses and scenes that just didn’t fit well. Therefore it deserved a 5/10

    • WOLFQUEEN
      WOLFQUEEN 4 months ago

      To sum it up for you, it felt like a Netflix movie that you’ll find scrolling all the way to the bottom.

  • fairy dust
    fairy dust 4 months ago

    I see no other race in this movie only Asians how racist is that? No whites no blacks none at all we al know asians are racist towards other cultures

  • ExMachina70
    ExMachina70 5 months ago

    15 minutes into the movie they had to play the racist white guy card. Nice.....

  • Choose_love_
    Choose_love_ 5 months ago

    I absolutely loved this movie and besides the cultural political point it was one of the best romantic comedies I have seen I really loved it

  • Dano1947
    Dano1947 5 months ago

    Over all I liked it.

  • Dano1947
    Dano1947 5 months ago

    Not use to seeing Michelle Yeoh playing a bitch. I would have thought the character would have melted a bit more and grandma was a shocker,.seemed so nice but turned out to be a real biggot.

  • FuNWithAChemicaLBomb
    FuNWithAChemicaLBomb 5 months ago

    I’m surprised Chris didn’t say something along the lines of “I grew up watching Asian films, I’m a big fan of Asians,” to somehow convey some form of credibility towards this review.

  • Erick Tavares
    Erick Tavares 6 months ago

    Bad movie

  • Dynamite TNT
    Dynamite TNT 6 months ago

    Real Crazy Rich Asians review:
    (Intro)
    - Crazy Rich Asians was directed by Akira Kurosawa
    - I grew up with Crazy Rich Asian friends
    *cue picture of Chris's Asian friends*
    - So Im gonna give this movie an A+
    (Cue Christian background choir)

  • Flying Summer
    Flying Summer 6 months ago

    Honestly, appreciate the effort,but this movie is as banana as it can get

  • Awesameer
    Awesameer 6 months ago

    Damn. Wish he said something like "I grew up with Asians"

  • Milie
    Milie 7 months ago +2

    I thought it was boring and generic af. I didn’t care for the main love story because the movie didn’t really give me a reason to. The main girl is literally every main character girl in YA and Romantic Comedies ever - quirky and “not like other girls”. The girl who was getting married (don’t remember her name) was crazy annoying! The first proposal was kind of ridiculous and the fact that she convinced the mother so easily with a short Gabe was just.... why? The whole weight of the mother’s approval felt like it could’ve been solved from the beginning is Rachel had just tried a bit harder to actually talk to her rather than hiding behind her boyfriend or trying to fight back by wearing a pretty dress like a teen going to prom in a Disney channel movie.... oh, and I laughed out loud several times at the dialog for being so incredibly cringe and unnatural. My impression of these actors is that only the funny bff was actually good, but then I guess that’s like judging Natalie Portman on only Star Wars.
    In short: the movie was fucking beautiful and I loved the concept, everything else was boring af.

  • Theazy Hunnit
    Theazy Hunnit 7 months ago

    So he laughed because of the food, architect, and culture ? Wtf lol @ 1:55
    Asians things are sooo funny to the white man (in Asian accent voice)

  • marco avila
    marco avila 7 months ago

    Part 2 crazy rich mexicans , part 3 crazy rich Africans. Part 4 crazy rich white Americans

  • Bruce T
    Bruce T 7 months ago

    ok, it still suck whoever act it.

  • William Perry
    William Perry 7 months ago

    Dumb movie.

  • Joey Bones
    Joey Bones 7 months ago +1

    I was appalled at how average this movie was. I really hopeful it was bringing something new to the genre given all the great reviews but no literally the only thing “new” is that everyone’s Asian what a joke

  • Yash Mathur
    Yash Mathur 7 months ago

    Searching 👏 is 👏a 👏better👏 movie👏 with👏 an👏 Asian👏 cast

  • The brotherhood of the wolf

    Is this reality across the board? Honestly I would not see this movie because I Can't relate with "crazy rich asians", just like they can't relate to anything outside of their world/Bubble. C- 😕

  • Elso
    Elso 8 months ago

    Am I the only person who thought that Constance Wu’s friend with the quirky hair and drives the Audi R8 was played by the same girl that played London Tipton on the suite life of zack and Cody?

  • Hogboy
    Hogboy 8 months ago +3

    I'm pissed people gave this movie such good reviews, I wasted $5.99 on this. Painfully mediocre, basic, unfunny and predictable. Can we go back to being HONEST with movie reviews please? Don't even get me started on Black Panther

    • Ryan Beltran
      Ryan Beltran Month ago

      It’s an okay film but Asians will make it seem like it ksbwttwr than it already is. It should’ve been a 70% on RT at best.

  • Stoyan Memtsov
    Stoyan Memtsov 8 months ago +1

    One question: would you have liked the movie as much if it wasn't an all Asian cast?

  • Nice2347
    Nice2347 8 months ago

    This movie was terrible. What was there to gain from it? What was the message? She breaks up with him because the mom doesn't agree with the relationship. He even says he chooses her. Then she gets on the plane, he says he still chooses her. The end. Really?

  • Wacha Al Pharoh
    Wacha Al Pharoh 8 months ago

    Watched Crazy Rich Asians, & despite the fun moments and sweet set pieces, I was a bit disappointed at the cookie cutter plot, especially since ppl seem to absolutely adore this film. Then again it was my own fault as I began to expect more from this film as it went on, there was a point where I thought that Nick's dad was Rachel's mom's lover & they'd find out they were siblings & that's why his Gran liked her nose so much(since it reminded her of her boy). But nah, it was just happily ever after genericness, which again is fiiiine, but not worth the amount of hype imo. (This is coming from a half Chinese person, not that that should matter)

  • Troodon
    Troodon 8 months ago

    I'm not going to buy a ticket just to fund some cause, but if it looks good, I'll see it. This just... doesn't. It looks like every romantic comedy ever made, but in Singapore. Pass. If this was exactly this same kind of movie but with a white cast nobody would be praising it at all (or least far less people would be). You want to think I'm a racist for saying so, feel free, but I stand by that. I liked Black Panther because it was a legitimately good movie, not because of minority representation in the cast. Movies should be judged on their own merits, not on how diverse the cast is.

  • Elijah Cook
    Elijah Cook 9 months ago

    As just some normal white guy, the movie was great!

  • Marat Bakiev
    Marat Bakiev 9 months ago +1

    I completely disagree with Chris on this one, I think this movie was so cringy. Everything felt fake, the reactions were not genuine, there was no chemistry between the lead characters either which i think is vital in a romantic comedy. I give this movie a D

    • Jack James
      Jack James 8 months ago

      Most people disagree with you. Fuck off

  • Diane Kim
    Diane Kim 9 months ago

    I personally love the film. Being an American myself, it’s so darn refreshing to see a film that doesn’t contain that raunchiness that American films are so good at. We’re so conditioned to see and hear ghetto on the screen and in music because we’re exposed to it everyday in our lives. So when a film like this comes along, I embrace it because it makes me believe that decency still exists - even if it’s in Rachel and Nick’s world...

  • Zrayel
    Zrayel 9 months ago +1

    I'm surprised Chris hasn't said anything about the novels which this movie is based on.

  • H S
    H S 9 months ago

    Thought this was going to be a review, not a political push. Says the movie is meh, but go throw money their way just because they're Asian. Come on man, how can anyone trust the reviews. There are plenty of Asian films that are amazing, but to push this movie just because of some agenda is BS.

  • Juwar1974
    Juwar1974 9 months ago

    WTF?? Did this guy see what I saw? Man, this movie was boring as fuck. And it wasn't all that funny. I didn't laugh once. When I was in the theater, the audience laughed exactly one time. My wife was bored as well. We expected the mother to be a lot more vicious or shady, but she wasn't. I guess Asians are not that great at throwing shade. My critique is strictly of the movie. Now, the book was actually good. I read it after the movie because as an English major, I know how much Hollywood can butcher a book. I tell people to keep their movie money. I too saw this film with a lot of Asians and their response before watching was quite different than after. Lastly, I don't understand why Asians are happy Hollywood had an all-Asian film. Hong Kong cranks out all-Asian films all the time. Why does something have to come out of Hollywood for a group to feel validated? FOH. That's a fuckin' racial inferiority complex. Ridiculous.

  • DarthHater100
    DarthHater100 9 months ago

    I cannot believe all of the hate and racism in the comments section. Just ONE movie and people are up in arms that the cast isn't all white. Just ONE movie that doesn't support the white supremacist agenda, and if you support it, racists go crazy. If you don't support this all Asian cast, you hate diversity and are therefore a fascist who deserves to be shot for your views. I cannot believe what is happening to America. It's being taken over by Nazis.

  • Phil
    Phil 9 months ago

    I should've known you were an NPC

    • Liam Patrick
      Liam Patrick 4 months ago

      Does that mean what I think it does?

  • Onion Boy
    Onion Boy 9 months ago

    the movie is freaking suck....so many kissing scene just for kissing without any purposes....
    Asian doesn't simply hug and kiss when meet at first time...
    watch for 30mins and can't continue so checking for review how other say about the movie....

  • Father AxeKeeper
    Father AxeKeeper 9 months ago +1

    Crazy Rich Asians was an average movie at best. The reason it did so well is because all these non-Asian film critics and movie goers want to pat themselves on the back for supporting an all Asian Hollywood movie cast. But why do Hollywood movies have to be the standard? The market in Hong Kong or Bollywood are absolutely massive and they make tons of all Asian cast films which do extremely well. Why are we discrediting those film studios and acting like Crazy Rich Asians is the first ever all Asian cast film?

  • Adamsmoviechannel Movie reviewer

    Omg change your opening clip

  • URCHIN SAM
    URCHIN SAM 9 months ago

    i am hong kong asian, and this movie does not represent me

  • steve dareson
    steve dareson 9 months ago

    Asians got B??you are a bad joke dude..asians are all A's
    . And that movie is legitimately amazing. Oh i see , you probably give fifty shits an A ryt?

  • Stewie Griffin
    Stewie Griffin 9 months ago

    Crazy Rich Asians: A film without Adam Sandler or Drew Barrymore , thank god 🙏

  • Abinchex Intel
    Abinchex Intel 9 months ago

    btw, asian not chinesse, we got viet,myanmar,thai,malays..we are not rich. that my punchline

  • Abinchex Intel
    Abinchex Intel 9 months ago

    billionaire status potrayed totally wrong in this movie

  • Jetsumo70
    Jetsumo70 9 months ago

    "this is something monumental" he says in reference to the all asian cast. what a load of nonsense there's nothing monumental about an all asian cast because there's nothing stopping asians from being in movies. why is it monumental? is it monumental if the cast is all white?

  • Jordan Harrington
    Jordan Harrington 9 months ago

    This is bad but I too often couldn't distinguish the younger ladies apart....

  • Mad Cat Sphere
    Mad Cat Sphere 9 months ago

    I'm not going to see this movie. Looks cliche and easy to predict. Looks stupid. Just because it has Asian's in it doesn't make it anything special... It's supposed to be special...?

  • Horror Fan 4 Life
    Horror Fan 4 Life 9 months ago

    this movie blew me away.the characters, cinematography and score were great.the actors I've never seen most of them in any other films but after this one I can't wait to see what they do next.I love romantic dramedys and this by far is up high on my list. I can't wait to watch it again so with that I gave it A-.

  • musique1o1
    musique1o1 10 months ago

    Aquafina is the highlight of the movie. I know I didn't spell that right. Love the vibrant colors and how they show Singapore. To me it makes sense to have an all Asian cast, but did not make me like the movie more or less. It's a good popcorn flick. B- for me. It's a good romcom.

  • Silent Dawn
    Silent Dawn 10 months ago

    Heh. Says the guy that was totally cool with the Ghost in the Shell whitewashing.

  • NinjaWalrus
    NinjaWalrus 10 months ago +1

    There are like three characters in this movie that aren’t annoying. Main character, main guy, perfect girl (that’s kinda just her character). That’s it. And the comedy... never lands? To me at least? Idk it definitely isn’t a funny movie. And I found a lot of the performances were good, however the dialogue didn’t feel natural. I feel as if maybe this movie is getting more credit than it deserves but that might just be me

    • NinjaWalrus
      NinjaWalrus 10 months ago

      Oh and I realize I’m incredibly late to say anything about it but whatever

  • Anti-SJW
    Anti-SJW 10 months ago +1

    I hate how they culturally appropriated Material Girl..You hate it when whites use another culture's music or styles but it is okay when THEY do it to THEIR stuff? Double standard racist bullshit.

  • Eddie Reis
    Eddie Reis 10 months ago

    Wish I could have a beer with u Chris...your cool af