Stroll Through the Playlist (a Biology Review)

Share
Embed
  • Published on Apr 15, 2019
  • Join the Amoeba Sisters as they take a brisk "stroll" through their biology playlist! This review video can refresh your memory of major concepts, help you identify what you need to re-study, and reinforce vocab. Expand these details for table of contents, info about the optional video companion handout, and more!
    VIDEO COMPANION:
    -We have an optional video companion handout linked on our website www.amoebasisters.com/handouts
    -To find it, scroll down to the topic "review" (alphabetically listed)
    TIME-STAMPED TABLE OF CONTENTS
    *Click on the time stamps to access that part of the video. Also, the numbers on the left of the topics correspond to the grid box on our video companion.
    1. Characteristics of Life 1:56
    2. Levels of Organization 2:36
    3. Biomolecules 3:47
    4. Enzymes 4:36
    5. Prokaryotic Cells & Eukaryotic Cells AND Intro to Cells 5:27
    6. Inside the Cell Membrane AND Cell Transport 6:31
    7. Osmosis 7:43
    8. Cellular Respiration, Photosynthesis, AND Fermentation 8:57
    9. DNA (Intro to Heredity) 10:03
    10. DNA Replication 11:41
    11. Cell Cycle 12:34
    12. Mitosis 13:55
    13. Meiosis 14:41
    14. Alleles and Genes 16:10
    15. Genetics (including Monohybrid, Dihybrid, Sex-Linked Traits, Multiple Alleles, Incomplete Dominance & Codominance, AND Pedigrees) 17:57
    16. Protein Synthesis 19:30
    17. Mutations 20:58
    18. Natural Selection AND Genetic Drift 22:00
    19. Bacteria 24:12
    20. Viruses 25:17
    21. Classification AND Protists & Fungi 26:21
    22. Plant Structure 27:58
    23. Plant Reproduction in Angiosperms 29:15
    24. Food Chains & Food Webs 31:22
    25. Ecological Succession 33:00
    26. Carbon & Nitrogen Cycle 34:40
    27. Ecological Relationships 36:56
    28. Human Body System Functions Overview 38:30
    Full Biology Playlist Link: ruclip.com/p/PLwL0Myd7Dk1F0iQPGrjehze3eDpco1eVz
    Important Note: Unlike our concept videos, which are all under 10 minutes, this is a very long review video! Even after all of the proofing, it's possible a typo will escape us or we will determine a clarification is needed. Check the pinned comment for any clarifications or typo corrections.
    Support us on Patreon! www.patreon.com/amoebasisters
    More ways to Support Us? www.amoebasisters.com/support-us.html
    Our Resources:
    Biology Playlist: ruclip.com/p/PLwL0Myd7Dk1F0iQPGrjehze3eDpco1eVz
    GIFs: www.amoebasisters.com/gifs.html
    Handouts: www.amoebasisters.com/handouts.html
    Comics: www.amoebasisters.com/parameciumparlorcomics
    Unlectured Series: www.amoebasisters.com/unlectured
    Connect with us!
    Website: www.AmoebaSisters.com
    Twitter: AmoebaSisters
    Facebook: AmoebaSisters
    Tumblr: www.amoebasisters.tumblr.com
    Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/AmoebaSister­s
    Instagram: amoebasistersofficial
    Visit our Redbubble store at www.amoebasisters.com/store
    The Amoeba Sisters videos demystify science with humor and relevance. The videos center on Pinky's certification and experience in teaching biology at the high school level. For more information about The Amoeba Sisters, visit:
    www.amoebasisters.com/about-us.html
    Our textbook reference is OpenStax- a FREE, peer reviewed, open source biology textbook:
    OpenStax, Biology. OpenStax CNX. Nov 7, 2018 cnx.org/contents/185cbf87-c72e-48f5-b51e-f14f21b5eabd@11.6.
    Our intro music designed and performed by Jeremiah Cheshire.
    End music is this video is listed free to use/no attribution required from the RUclip audio library ruclip.com/user/audiolibrarymusic?feature=blog

Comments • 415

  • Amoeba Sisters
    Amoeba Sisters  9 months ago +240

    Thank you so much to those that were able to join us on this video's premiere!! Please expand the video details- or this comment- to see a helpful table of contents and information about a video companion handout to further help with studying. Also, this is the longest video we will likely ever make. :D Even after all the proofing, we may find a typo or a needed clarification. We'll put it in this pinned comment if so :)
    TIME-STAMPED TABLE OF CONTENTS
    Click on the time stamps to access that part of the video. Also, the numbers on the left of the topics correspond to the grid box on our *video companion* which is linked on our website. To find the video companion, scroll down to the topic "review" (alphabetically listed) on www.amoebasisters.com/handouts

    1. Characteristics of Life 1:56
    2. Levels of Organization 2:36
    3. Biomolecules 3:47
    4. Enzymes 4:36
    5. Prokaryotic Cells & Eukaryotic Cells AND Intro to Cells 5:27
    6. Inside the Cell Membrane AND Cell Transport 6:31
    7. Osmosis 7:43
    8. Cellular Respiration, Photosynthesis, AND Fermentation 8:57
    9. DNA (Intro to Heredity) 10:03
    10. DNA Replication 11:41
    11. Cell Cycle 12:34
    12. Mitosis 13:55
    13. Meiosis 14:41
    14. Alleles and Genes 16:10
    15. Genetics (including Monohybrid, Dihybrid, Sex-Linked Traits, Multiple Alleles, Incomplete Dominance & Codominance, AND Pedigrees) 17:57
    16. Protein Synthesis 19:30
    17. Mutations 20:58
    18. Natural Selection AND Genetic Drift 22:00
    19. Bacteria 24:12
    20. Viruses 25:17
    21. Classification AND Protists & Fungi 26:21
    22. Plant Structure 27:58
    23. Plant Reproduction in Angiosperms 29:15
    24. Food Chains & Food Webs 31:22
    25. Ecological Succession 33:00
    26. Carbon & Nitrogen Cycle 34:40
    27. Ecological Relationships 36:56
    28. Human Body System Functions Overview 38:30

    • Anh Quach
      Anh Quach 29 days ago

      Amoeba Sisters and I have been with you for many months I love you and I hope you have a great time with your friends

    • Joseph & Grace Adedokun
      Joseph & Grace Adedokun 8 months ago

      I have a biology EOC today and your videos have really helped me a lot, I love you guys so much!

    • Yesenia Santos
      Yesenia Santos 8 months ago +1

      Thank you, Amoeba Sisters! I really appreciate your channel. You help me understand this very difficult subject (only class I have a 'D' in) I will definitely watch all of your videos again to help me improve even more in high school nxt yr

    • Lilli Chase
      Lilli Chase 8 months ago +4

      Omg, I literally have a honors biology eoc tommorow. Thank God for you guys

    • isa
      isa 9 months ago +1

      @Amoeba Sisters You're welcome, I'm glad I could be of help!

  • WOKESQUIDS
    WOKESQUIDS Day ago

    QUEENS

  • sour G
    sour G 3 days ago

    just going to watch this until my bio midterm today

  • MegaNUT721
    MegaNUT721 3 days ago

    Y’all slackin’

  • Jordan Rebecca
    Jordan Rebecca 3 days ago

    let’s be honest i’m not actually studying for my biology final exam i’m jsut watching this video

  • Sam Gold
    Sam Gold 3 days ago

    Bio midterm tomorrow uh oh lol

  • ak Dr asma m arif
    ak Dr asma m arif 3 days ago +1

    Amazing 😍😍😍😍😍

  • selina vara
    selina vara 5 days ago

    Im for sure gonna study with your guys help next time
    I would post results after my test next week, wish best for me):

  • Yulypandalover ii
    Yulypandalover ii 5 days ago

    I love your videos

  • Noah Kon
    Noah Kon 5 days ago +1

    Thank's so much this is just what I needed for my bio final tomorrow!

  • sincere tunes
    sincere tunes 6 days ago

    20:50 - stop time

  • Raana Golz
    Raana Golz 7 days ago

    Exams tomorrow this helped a lot THANK YOU

  • LuckTubeGaming! mnm
    LuckTubeGaming! mnm 9 days ago +1

    I hope you do not get demonetized or copyright strikes because you put in the triforce pyramid in 26:56. Best of luck

  • Alex Lemelin
    Alex Lemelin 10 days ago

    this video is the hail mary play right now for studying..

  • Coral Blake
    Coral Blake 10 days ago +1

    I can’t focus on reading my notes so I knew that there had to be something and RUclip and thank the lord I was right. Bio final tomorrow

  • LuckTubeGaming! mnm
    LuckTubeGaming! mnm 12 days ago +1

    Using this for my semester exam. THANKS!!!

  • K_ongT
    K_ongT 13 days ago

    8:45 the labels "Hypotonic cell" and "Hypertonic cell" are swapped

    • Amoeba Sisters
      Amoeba Sisters  13 days ago +1

      The labels for the cells are correct, but let us explain why. Many textbooks, in our experience, focus on only the *solution* the cell is placed in. Our diagram at 8:45 labels *both* the cell (as either hypertonic or hypotonic) AND the solution (as either hypertonic or hypotonic). The hypertonic area (assuming no pressure) is where the net movement of water will travel. So for example, in the example in the image: at the far left, you will see a hypertonic solution (ex: salt water). The net movement of water will leave the cell to enter that hypertonic solution. The cell, therefore, is *hypotonic* in comparison to the solution, and the cell will shrink as it loses water. We try to include addressing the cell as well as its surrounding solution, because Pinky noticed her students otherwise tended to memorize terms corresponding to swelling or shrinking, which turned out to hurt understanding. Hope that helps! :)

  • Rebekah Waldron
    Rebekah Waldron 20 days ago

    Wow. Thank you Very Much! This was very helpful my final is tomorrow and I'm even more confident now. Thank you!

  • Srimadhav Malavathu

    you guys are the best!
    These vids help a lot, thanks so much!

  • Ciera Cristal
    Ciera Cristal Month ago

    💀💀watching this 30 minutes before the test -

  • Fancy Taco
    Fancy Taco Month ago +2

    Stop reading the comments you have a final to study for

  • Alisa Hall
    Alisa Hall Month ago +1

    Listening to this to sleep the night before biology exam ✌🏻😗

  • mermaid diana
    mermaid diana Month ago +1

    we got a bio final tomorrow bros 😎

  • childbre
    childbre Month ago +5

    im literally watching this for my final exam tomorrow

  • mel
    mel Month ago +1

    when ur exam is in an hour but the video is 41 minutes :D

  • TuftyDoubloon10
    TuftyDoubloon10 Month ago

    Bro I was use this just for a review for my finals tomorrow

  • João Martins
    João Martins Month ago

    11:38

  • ItsAle
    ItsAle Month ago

    Thanks

  • Atlantic Ningyo
    Atlantic Ningyo Month ago

    you: oh its a brisk stroll okie i will watch it the whole way!
    you see the time: o-o its 41 minutes how is this a "brisk" stroll.... ;-;

  • RosedoesSports \/
    RosedoesSports \/ Month ago

    Tomorrow is my eoc hoping to get a 5! Any advice!?

  • Ari Glosser
    Ari Glosser Month ago

    literally about to save me for this bio midterm. tysm for this video

  • maddie shelton
    maddie shelton Month ago +8

    if ur cramming for winter exams, stop at around 26 :) good luck 👍

  • period pooh.
    period pooh. Month ago +1

    ap biology..

  • SyrupTurnup
    SyrupTurnup Month ago +8

    finals on tuesday :(

    • SyrupTurnup
      SyrupTurnup Month ago

      @Kryzia Sanchez bro my teacher is so bad lmao we have to calculate concentratoin dilution etc

    • Kryzia Sanchez
      Kryzia Sanchez Month ago +1

      Mine are tmr

    • Metro Ray
      Metro Ray Month ago +1

      WavyAndre same

  • gothic eggo
    gothic eggo Month ago +2

    am i the only one struggling rn, my exams in three days help

  • chloeakf
    chloeakf Month ago +3

    thank you my bio final is this week

  • ComoPp
    ComoPp Month ago

    CP

  • Allen Lin
    Allen Lin Month ago

    Midterm tomorrow!! Wish me Luck :D

  • Flaming Dragon
    Flaming Dragon Month ago

    Anyone else studying for staar tmw?

  • Cynthia Khan
    Cynthia Khan Month ago

    ok im in college and I watched this XD

  • Yuiken Zaxmat
    Yuiken Zaxmat Month ago +1

    I've been cramming for my biology final for the past 3 days. I hope I pass tomorrow. Thank you in advance

  • animegirl17
    animegirl17 Month ago +1

    Took me two days, TWO DAYS...BUT I FINALLY FINISHED THE VID!!!!
    Awesome overview guys!!

  • Help Humanity
    Help Humanity Month ago

    This is for my college final exam!!!!!! :)

  • Misu Kookie
    Misu Kookie Month ago

    This is amazing-

  • GUMMY BEAR
    GUMMY BEAR Month ago +1

    Great video!!!!! Extremely helpful 👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻

  • kiesha
    kiesha 2 months ago

    I have an exam in an hour and a half, its a functional biology exam from 6 months ago that got deferred, honestly these videos have helped me revise a lot of the content, I really appreciate this channel!

  • Keema’s World
    Keema’s World 2 months ago

    Thanks so much guys we only made it to enzymes so far and I am learning more then I need to know 🤣

  • Bruce Wayne
    Bruce Wayne 2 months ago

    What a cool way to use youtube!

  • Robert bernardo
    Robert bernardo 3 months ago

    Using this for my DOST exam tomorrow huhuhu

  • Grumpy Cat
    Grumpy Cat 4 months ago +1

    I'm in 8th grade and I have Biology...
    We only do FLVS

  • angel brown
    angel brown 4 months ago

    yeahhh buttt interrupts again lolololol thank you this is helpful.

  • t h e l i t t l e o d d o n e :P

    I need a bigger brain...

  • maria ruz
    maria ruz 4 months ago

    this video is the reason why I got a level 5 on the EOC :v THANK YOUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU !!!!!!!!!

  • AlexandraxMarie
    AlexandraxMarie 6 months ago

    Why am I just now coming across this channel?😭 my bio final is tomorrow! This channel would’ve been so helpful for my class this summer. At least I’ll get a good review in before the final tomorrow☺️

  • jade ng
    jade ng 6 months ago

    love this

  • allaine diapana
    allaine diapana 6 months ago

    I like your videos! It's very interactive. Thanks

  • Wolfesia a
    Wolfesia a 7 months ago

    Do anyone know a video like amoeba sisters which actually teaches physics and chemistry?
    I really want something like this in physics and chemistry too
    Also mathetmatics (。ŏ_ŏ).
    Thanks amoeba sisters for making these video and making my life in high school easier

  • Deacon Postle
    Deacon Postle 7 months ago

    God bless you 🙏🏼 I got a bio final tmrw and my teacher can’t teach

  • kolaida
    kolaida 7 months ago

    Just want to send a shout out. THANK YOU!! I passed my biology test!

  • Ben Balodis
    Ben Balodis 7 months ago

    Thank you so much for making this. I'm taking the Biology New York State Regents tomorrow and this was a life saver. Your videos are so great, I learn more in one of your 10 minute videos than in multiple periods of class.