Sapphire RX 5600 XT GPU Review & VBIOS Benchmarks: DOA Avoidance

Share
Embed
  • It was a close call for AMD with its RX 5600 XT video card launch. AMD sent out different VBIOS for review cards than what will be on most early retail models, so we tested both in this review.
    Sponsor: Drop HE4XX Headphones (geni.us/9JJk6 | DROP)
    AMD shipped a last-minute VBIOS change that completely overhauled its RX 5600 XT - mostly for the better - we just want to make sure everyone is aware of this so that they can ensure their cards match review performance. Some cards will never get updates, from what we’ve been told, as their designs too closely ride the limit of the lower power budget. Others will get them immediately and before they get to buyers. Most will receive some form of VBIOS update, but only after the initial wave (as these were already shipped by the time the change happened). Just make sure you check your VBIOS version and options from the manufacturer if buying. Alternatively, wait another month and it should be clear. What’s weird is that AMD seemed to forget NVIDIA changes its prices pre-launch.
    In this benchmark, we’re testing the Sapphire Pulse AMD RX 5600 XT vs. EVGA RTX 2060 KO, the RX 5500 XT, RX 5700, and more.
    This month, we're donating 10% of all GN store revenue to wildlife rescue groups in Australia who are working to save animals from bushfires, including Wildlife Rescue South Coast and Adelaide Koala & Wildlife Hospital. If you're buying from us anyway, now's a good time to do so: store.gamersnexus.net/
    If you'd rather donate straight to them, check our HW News video for details and links: ruclip.com/video/BlHKyTg8cxA/video.html
    Buy Sapphire’s RX 5600 XT Pulse on Amazon here: geni.us/h3h0lSe
    Buy EVGA’s RTX 2060 KO on Amazon here: geni.us/LyajJc
    Or PowerColor’s RX 5700 Red Dragon on Amazon: geni.us/HijdU0Z
    The best way to support our work is through our store: store.gamersnexus.net/
    Like our content? Please consider becoming our Patron to support us: www.patreon.com/gamersnexus
    ** Please like, comment, and subscribe for more! **
    Links to Amazon and Newegg are typically monetized on our channel (affiliate links) and may return a commission of sales to us from the retailer. This is unrelated to the product manufacturer. Any advertisements or sponsorships are disclosed within the video ("this video is brought to you by") and above the fold in the description. We do not ever produce paid content or "sponsored content" (meaning that the content is our idea and is not funded externally aside from whatever ad placement is in the beginning) and we do not ever charge manufacturers for coverage.
    Follow us in these locations for more gaming and hardware updates:
    t: gamersnexus
    f: gamersnexus
    w: www.gamersnexus.net/
    Editorial, Testing: Steve Burke
    Video: Josh Svoboda

Comments • 80

  • Gamers Nexus
    Gamers Nexus  2 months ago +96

    Watch our VBIOS Flash Guide / Tutorial for AMD GPUs here: ruclip.com/video/VlGy_NWPFc4/video.html
    As a reminder, we have a special modmat charity auction going on now, too! Benefits wildlife rescue operations in Australia: www.ebay.com/itm/CHARITY-AUCTION-GamersNexus-LG-Modmat-Autographed-by-Linus-JayzTwoCents-More/303453365427

    • Power Play
      Power Play 2 months ago

      I am a victim of AMD's drivers too...
      I had the black screen problem,in the end i went NVIDIA.

    • jigsaw
      jigsaw 2 months ago

      AMD should really make a dedicated encoding chip.i hope they will in the future.

    • C Marz
      C Marz 2 months ago

      can a rtx 2070 be flashed to a rtx 2060 super ?

    • billy bob bob
      billy bob bob 2 months ago +1

      NVIDIA GOT DICKSMACKED ACCEPT IT...U CANT EVEN BUY A 2060 FOR 300 IT'S A PIPE DREAM FOR NVIDIA MARKETING GIMMICK NOTHING ELSE....NVIDIA CAN NEVER COMPETE WITH AMD PRICE TO PERFORMANCE.BTW ALL NEW CARDS HAVE DRIVER PROBLEMS GOOD THING AMD RELEASES NEW DRIVERS MORE OFTEN THAN NVIDIA...NVIDIA'S TOO LAZY TO EVEN CHANGE THE CONTROL PANEL THEY'VE BEEN USING FOR 20 FUCKING YEARS LMAO.

    • LB
      LB 2 months ago

      the 2060 KO used in this video is $320, a full $30 more than 5600XT. The 5600XT is 24% faster than 1660Super and $30 to $40 cheaper than the 2060. AMD wins big! Nvidia announced a price drop for an unavailable FE GPU. LOL. They purposely dont stock enough FE cards so they can get the marketing benifet of lying about fake prices no one will ever see due to high demand. Nvidia doesn't want to and probably can't afford to build and sell FE cards at those prices LOL.

  • Chay Warburton
    Chay Warburton 6 hours ago

    Just bought the 5600xt Sapphire Pulse for $218 once it gave the discounts for the game codes which I'll just sell and end up upgrading for $150 rounded cost which is NUTS.
    I have a 1060 3gb.

    I was saving for the 2060s but I can't agree to pay $425 which is a $270+ difference for me... with no games or anything. The difference on average for the 2060s to the 5600xt is about 13% from a Hardware boxed video which isn't justified since I play older games.

    Go 5600xt xD I'll update this once I see if i'll end up with Driver issues :/

  • LaserDisc
    LaserDisc 2 days ago

    Its such a good card, love it

  • Xan Ostler
    Xan Ostler 7 days ago

    I’m still gonna buy AMD because of how shitty nVidia has been to consumers.

  • Lovely Jubbly
    Lovely Jubbly 8 days ago +1

    i have 1060 6gb, want to upgrade but dont want to spend a fortune, was thinking of getting rx 5700 or equivalent but there are different versions, im not very tech savy, any help be appreciated.

  • James Moore
    James Moore 21 day ago

    considering i was stoked about the division 2 playing so smoothly when i first made my last build with this thing... this was good news. ive just been to lazy to deal with the whole bios bs. as usual. because no one gets paid to work for free right? lol

  • Max
    Max 23 days ago

    Can you fix other RX5600XT cards with the VBIOS fix, or does it only work for the Sapphire Pulse?

  • Balazs Zsiga
    Balazs Zsiga 26 days ago

    I have posted many unlisted games benchmarked on the 5600 XT on my channel.

  • Sammy Jenkis
    Sammy Jenkis 28 days ago

    Is this new vbios gonna take from the durability of the card ? I mean, is the 2060 more durable because it was built to run under those specs?

  • Rocky 2
    Rocky 2 Month ago

    Is 400 Watt from be quiet enough for this Card paired with an AMD 5 2600?

  • Rinku Multani
    Rinku Multani Month ago

    hi steve I want rift s benchmarks on rift s all reviwer shoud test vr to with game benchmarks:(

  • Mongrel Marcos
    Mongrel Marcos Month ago +2

    Just got my RX 5600 XT. new BIOS and driver 20.2.1 installed without issues, and it's a $400 brick(includes shipping and import tax to Chile).
    Crashes to desktop or restarts my PC during gameplay on every game I currently play. read every tip/trick to try get this working and I just can't. clearly out of my control. So disappointed, I should've bought the RTX 2060.

  • Smeqerainen
    Smeqerainen Month ago +2

    I have the same card model. For me its not playable. Im pairing the 5600xt with a ryzen 7 2700x,16gb or ram and a ultra gaming motherboard x470. The games are not playable,getting massive fps drops. Curently using the latest Sapphire vbios.

  • Jeffrey Bozko
    Jeffrey Bozko Month ago

    So now most 5600xt gpu's will be hot and noisy, because their coolers were designed to cool a lower watt gpu then what it is now.

  • Doctor Too-Much
    Doctor Too-Much 2 months ago

    i can't but stare at that cactus after i acknowledged him. but dont call him cactus, call him friend

  • Kristian Pettersen
    Kristian Pettersen 2 months ago

    Got my Sapphire pulse rx 5600 XT and bios was not flashed. The instructions and the files on the Sapphire web page made the flashing easy.

  • dony prasetyo
    dony prasetyo 2 months ago

    daily use review in the end is actually helping

  • FrosTy theNoob
    FrosTy theNoob 2 months ago

    Isn't the 5600xt still cheaper than the 2060? I mean in my country it is... so I wouldn't call it dead on arrival? at best, it succeeded in forcing Nvidia to drop their bloated crap prices.

  • thatwasonce
    thatwasonce 2 months ago

    would like to see 5600xt full overclock vs 2060 overclock

  • Master-of-Disaster
    Master-of-Disaster 2 months ago +1

    Bought the 5600xt and its abit crap. All my games stutter and even my mouse int he browser it's just not as it should be. Wonder if I can return it

  • Adrian Miller
    Adrian Miller 2 months ago

    Where is that video review of other 5600 xt cards you said you were going to make?

  • IBUILTTHAT
    IBUILTTHAT 2 months ago

    No teardown? :I

  • Muhammad Asif
    Muhammad Asif 2 months ago

    First turn 5600XT into 5700 then turn 5700 to 5700XT. Easy peasy lemon squeezy😅😜

  • Huey Santiago
    Huey Santiago 2 months ago

    I have a Nitro+ and I bought it last December. I installed Adrenalin 2020 and it turned my screen green. Luckily a restart fixed it. My main issue now is my tweaks (undervolt and fan curve) seems to get reset every now and again. I can't seem to get those settings to stick consistently.

  • FalseInformation
    FalseInformation 2 months ago

    Thank you for a very informative video.

  • The_Blazer
    The_Blazer 2 months ago

    Normal brain: release GPU with regular clocks

    Big Brain: release GPU with regular clocks and good silicon for overclocking potential

    Galaxy brain: PRE-OVERCLOCK THROUGH BIOS UPDATE

  • Cons29
    Cons29 2 months ago

    My old 980ti (son’s rig) bought the farm, might replace it with this one.
    I heard some (5700 xt) had thermal issues, and seeing that some 5600 xt seem to be using a similar cooler. Anyone know which ones to avoid?

    • tree fiddy
      tree fiddy 2 months ago

      @Cons29 Oh yes. It's what kept me from purchasing the Sapphire Nitro+ and picking up the 2070 Super instead. Gamer's Nexus even did a video on them, you ought to read the comments. ruclip.com/video/pboDbxogSw4/video.html

      Then Google 5700xt broken drivers, 5700xt driver problems, etc. see how many hits you come up with in the past month alone. There's huge threads on Reddit and AMD forums about the driver problems. That doesn't even go over the 5600XT BIOS problems either. Seriously, avoid this gen of AMD cards

    • Cons29
      Cons29 2 months ago

      @tree fiddy do they have issues? I saw a few 5700xt reviews, but those focus more on performance and thermals. I have not heard (nor did I try) of any issues aside from a few models that have subpar memory cooling

    • tree fiddy
      tree fiddy 2 months ago

      @Cons29 There is little value in buying an unreliable GPU with driver issues. It's like paying slightly more for a Toyota then a similar model Chevy. It's your money though, do what you want, I'm just giving you a heads up

    • Cons29
      Cons29 2 months ago

      @tree fiddy I just go with what I think offers value for money, 9/10 of my gpu was Nvidia though, been years since I got an amd. But yeah, those 2 are my top choices actually. Esp sapphire as it's the brand I used before. And been hearing good things about power color

    • tree fiddy
      tree fiddy 2 months ago

      Avoid AMD and get another Nvidia GPU. If you're hell bent on going the AMD route get a Sapphire or PowerColor

  • Artas1984
    Artas1984 2 months ago

    Undervolted Vega 56 is the real champ here.

  • Marcel Krebs
    Marcel Krebs 2 months ago

    This feels like a 1060 3 gig.

    Not really worth it compared to the 5700 non XT imo, not at current prices for sure, would have to drop to 250 or less.

  • Logan Wildermuth
    Logan Wildermuth 2 months ago

    I'm having that problem the the volume popup dropping fps on a 2080 super in a alienware core egpu connected to an xps 13 2in1 7390. Also if I have a hardware monitor up, seems to be something with overlays interfering with fullscreen mode in games

  • Jätski.fi
    Jätski.fi 2 months ago

    Crossfire double test?

  • ZIHE Chen
    ZIHE Chen 2 months ago

    When AMD advertise FX 4core cpu as 8 core. When AMD stated Zen as 4.7ghz cpu but it is actually 4.3ghz cpu..
    As a manufacturer, on marketing it can be cruel, can be cold blood, can be misleading.
    But there is only one thing a manufacturer should never do. Being dishonest.
    AMD did it.
    Intel might be cold blood might be misleading. But Intel is different from AMD because Intel never lie.
    That is why AMD is garbage and should never deserve any respect.

  • Canadi-ent
    Canadi-ent 2 months ago

    Thank you Steve for investigating the radeon drivers. There's more problems then those you list and I would love to see a video that really details this and forces AMD's hand a bit. Did you know that the vega cards cant play HDR netflix? I wanted to use my radeon vii to double as an htpc but cant send a 4k hdr blueray to a television. Playready 3.0 was talked about in 2018 for the vega cards. Blackscreens caused from desktop programs that use gpu acceleration (I refuse to believe a fix for that is to disable the feature you buy a gpu for) Run a 20 minute benchmark no problem, quit that and open firefox and blackscreen, reboot, reset wattman settings. Inconsistant random screen flickers while on a static webpage or the desktop, sometimes twice a day, sometimes every 20 seconds. I'd be perfectly happy with my card if it could just be stable.

  • Jesus Lopez
    Jesus Lopez 2 months ago

    Hey guys, what is the difference between Bios and new drivers?

  • Zolocke L-D
    Zolocke L-D 2 months ago

    I'm always curious about the vbios. Don't they collect data for "virtual machine learning"

  • Robert Dunlop
    Robert Dunlop 2 months ago

    Do not buy this card!

  • dcikaruga
    dcikaruga 2 months ago

    A 5400 or 5300 XT should force Nvidia to drop the price of their 1650, yah!!!!!!

  • Shawn Jackson
    Shawn Jackson 2 months ago

    so launches are turning into days of our lives ... really ... grow up tech companies . Just so you know our kids are not the ones watching these reviews its us the grown ups with the bank accounts that are watching so we know where to spend our hard earned money and kid games well that for our kids and they don't have control of the money ... I have a gr8 idea why don't you contract GN for your PR on the launches of new chips & cards ;)

  • David L
    David L 2 months ago

    I wonder which partner is throwing a “thick” complaint about your reviews

  • HeftyJo
    HeftyJo 2 months ago

    I just got my PowerColor RedDragon 5600XT and discovered that the BIOS was already up-to-date. I bought it off Amazon. I've got my Ryzen 2600 running at 3.85 GHz all core and actually just edged out an 3600 at stock timings on the firestrike 3dMark.

  • alex hernadez
    alex hernadez 2 months ago

    thanks god i bought the xt version over the normal 5700

  • Dont FollowME
    Dont FollowME 2 months ago

    It's being killed by the 5700 too lol. They're like 30 bucks more.

  • David Robinson
    David Robinson 2 months ago

    I’m considering pairing this GPU with an Asus TUF X570 and a Ryzen 5 3600. Is that a good fit? Or should I go with the Ryzen 7 3700?

  • thesinaclwon
    thesinaclwon 2 months ago

    Lol don't talk about another company not knowing how to do something when you guys don't know how to do certain things.....like make a watchable video 🤣. Love you guys and trust your advice but for fucks sake I don't care about all the shit and graphs man. And 20-30 minute videos and sometimes longer? I wanna know if a graphics card or some tech is worth a shot and don't want to sit through a fucking lecture to find out. Make short 5 minute vids and get your facts across quickly lol.

  • Patrik Miskovic
    Patrik Miskovic 2 months ago

    Only here 5600xt is slower than 2060 😂😂😂😂 1660ti will be faster than 5600xt. 😂😂😂

  • QUASE HACK
    QUASE HACK 2 months ago

    Brasil

  • Brandan Gaspar
    Brandan Gaspar 2 months ago

    If you buy hardware and the first thing you do ISN'T check for drivers/bios updates, you don't have a right to complain.
    An end user that's just going to pop this in and boot up isn't the end user that's going to be running multiple benchmarks to see what their TDP is.

  • Hall James
    Hall James 2 months ago

    Thats a pretty unfair accusation. AMD had bar charts with 5600 xt vs both the 1660 ti and the 1660 super. There is an official AMD slide for 1660 super OC vs 5600xt.

  • Nick Christensen
    Nick Christensen 2 months ago

    Any frame time graphs?

  • Black Ryan
    Black Ryan 2 months ago

    With Nvidia being a giant company that focuses almost entirely on GPU's and has plenty of experience and plenty of employees to devote to driver development then I would assume that AMD doesn't have as big of an army to devote to driver development. I'm not defending the drivers. That's just my assumption. However...AMD has been doing pretty good recently. With the extra revenue they are getting now I am hopeful that they will have more resources and staff to devote to driver and GPU development. That's what I hope anyway. The only problem I have ever had with AMD drivers is fan issues that were easy for me to fix. But that's just me. Within the last few years AMDs Kung-Fu has gotten stronger. But the Gamers Nexus community are very knowledgeable and more experienced than I. So I am interested in hearing what you guys think

  • Jenda Machovec
    Jenda Machovec 2 months ago

    Undervolting the core @1820 would raise the performance I guess. It helped a lot (about 4% in 3DMark) with my RX 5700.

  • AZI3623
    AZI3623 2 months ago

    I thought Nvidia would launch Gtx 1660ti Super as a counter-tactics

  • FellTheSky
    FellTheSky 2 months ago

    LMAO 2060 KO? Proper name to the result it produced

  • Megabobster
    Megabobster 2 months ago

    What I'm taking away from the noise and thermal testing is that the card was overbuilt for the original spec, so it benefits from the spec bump. Cards built to a more strict price point will probably suffer more.

  • NeonWarLord
    NeonWarLord 2 months ago +1

    Should i buy 5700 with xt bios??????

  • Niels Bekkers
    Niels Bekkers 2 months ago

    Strangely enough, those problems you mention at the end, I only have with nVidia products......

  • TechGuy
    TechGuy 2 months ago

    You did a much better review of this than LTT in spite of their 30 employees. Well done. Your Nvidia tko review was excellent as well.

  • KeppyKep
    KeppyKep 2 months ago

    You're only allowed to review certain partner models today and have to wait until tomorrow to do the rest? That's utterly absurd
    Edit: I guess this is partly a result of there not being a Founders Edition. Although those cards are usually not as good as OEM cards, at least they give a 'standard' point for reviewers to work off.

  • xinzhaooo
    xinzhaooo 2 months ago

    Glad I'm not the only one with stutter/black screen, especially for StarWarsBattlefront2 (thought it was a Dice problem). Running 144hz monitor w/ 5700 XT. Notice problems only come up with FreeSync as well. Amd's latest drivers seemed to stop the crashes and PC restarts. Still occasional black screen unless I turn FreeSync OFF then ON for monitor thru OSD.

  • Faisal Sulemana
    Faisal Sulemana 2 months ago

    Will AMD reciprocate by dropping the price further against the rtx2060?

  • Won Tr!be
    Won Tr!be 2 months ago

    Or amd could have just dropped the price and saved a whole lot of drama....

  • lencycler1
    lencycler1 2 months ago

    omg it's day 1 of the launch everyone calm down...I recall a few Nvidia launches that didn't go so well.....

  • VIgrimir
    VIgrimir 2 months ago

    That intro wasn't bad

  • Azenturi
    Azenturi 2 months ago +2

    If nothing else, AMD is making NVIDIA admit one of two things: Either they're worried about what Navi could do, or they were ripping people off from the start.

  • Des FTW
    Des FTW 2 months ago

    Just looked on pc part picker and the cheapest 5700 is $310 and it isn't a blower card, so why buy the 5600 xt (in NA at least)

  • ZepG
    ZepG 2 months ago

    As long as I can remember all AMD gpu's have been DOA.

    • ZepG
      ZepG 2 months ago

      @Tomie I watch most of his videos even when he trashes Nvidia and Intel, why do you care?

    • Tomie
      Tomie 2 months ago

      xD why watch then

    • ZepG
      ZepG 2 months ago

      @Tomie Yes a fan of good performance and great driver support for my money. AMD is doing well with their CPU lineup they still suck on the GPU side.

    • Tomie
      Tomie 2 months ago

      fan boy detected xD

  • Glen Horta
    Glen Horta 2 months ago

    The because of Windows update

  • Jugo Slav
    Jugo Slav 2 months ago

    steve please get us an updated v bios for the 5700xt this is insane bullshit !!!! help us

  • Burgo361
    Burgo361 2 months ago

    I have had almost all of these driver issues on my 5700xt.

  • tvonharten
    tvonharten 2 months ago

    Why doesn’t evga release AMD cards.. they owned by Nvidia or something?

  • trag dar
    trag dar 2 months ago +2

    I like to listen to these videos while driving but damn it was difficult then you kept saying 5700xt instead of 5600xt and I couldn't see the graph to check haha

  • prod. onfroze
    prod. onfroze 2 months ago

    cant wait for someone to return it at microcenter in brand new condition and then theyre gonna have to sell for 60$ less than retail. ez 5600xt for 230$

  • V G
    V G 2 months ago

    Radeon Group still Radeoning... They haven’t AMD’d themselves yet.

  • halistine jenkins
    halistine jenkins 2 months ago

    poop launch

  • James Vaccarella
    James Vaccarella 2 months ago +2

    AMD makes great CPU's! Nvidia makes great Drivers and Video Cards.

  • H B
    H B 2 months ago +2

    Had 3 generations of AMD videocards the drivers always been shit, never again. I know, I know finewine, but not waiting for 3 or more months before they get the drivers right. I do like AMD cpus, I have a Ryzen 3700x and a msi rx2080 they work good together.

  • cellan j
    cellan j 2 months ago

    history repeated itself, the rx 560 had 2 varients

  • JCS
    JCS 2 months ago +1

    AMD needs to look at the drivers for the gpu's (5700 for me especially), they are absolute trash. Please Steve help them, force them to act.

    • JCS
      JCS 24 days ago

      @CHENGIS and what about freesync?

    • CHENGIS
      CHENGIS 24 days ago

      The latest drivers seem to be more stable, but I installed them through windows instead of AMD and I've had less issues

  • Jordan Brett
    Jordan Brett 2 months ago

    Competition sure is great for the end user isn't it?

  • David
    David 2 months ago

    The 2060 may not be ideal for ray tracing, but at least it can do it. For similar price points I’d go for 2060 every time. Especially since AMDs drivers have never been as good as Nvidia’s. I’ve been representing AMD/ATI since 05 X800 256 MB woo! Represent Nvidia too though, I don’t discriminate when it comes to PC hardware.